We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but a bit cramped for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North
Ranked #45 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but a bit cramped for families”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express while visiting the Christmas markets. The hotel is not located in the center, but is easily reachable by either the S-Bahn or the tram network. The staff was very friendly: check-in was easy, as was check-out, and we didn't have any problems leaving our luggage at the hotel for a few hours on the day we checked out. Wireless is free in the public areas, and seemed to work reasonably well, and the hotel has a small bar which is convenient for getting drinks if you want to spend time in the lobby while online.

Breakfast was good, but can get very crowded. Regardless, they seemed to do a good job keeping everything stocked, even at the busiest times. They do not have hot food options for breakfast (bacon, sausages, etc), but have a good selection of breads, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, and cereals. In our case, breakfast came with the room -- if you have to pay separately, it's good, but don't expect anything grand.

The rooms are comfortable, but a bit small if you come as a family (in our case, two adults and two kids). There is one bed and one sleeper sofa, but when the sofa is out there is very little space left in the room. The shower worked well, and the hotel provided both soft and firmer pillows, which was a nice touch.

For us, overall, we enjoyed staying, and would be happy to return. Our only complaint would be that the room could be a bit more spacious, but that's a minor complaint in what is otherwise a friendly, conveniently located, good-value hotel.

Room Tip: I'm not sure how much the room choice matters -- the hotel is not located in a busy area, so I d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    260
    96
    17
    16
See reviews for
114
120
37
162
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Good, clean hotel with super friendly staff. Very reasonably priced. The room we had was a bit on the small side for four people but not a problem for us as we only wanted a place to rest our heads at night. Breakfast includes (plenty of) various breads and rolls, yoghurt, cereals, cheeses, sliced meat, juices and hot drinks. We never had to wait - everything was replenished quickly by smiling workers. No dinner is served at the hotel but from what i understand, there is an Italian restaurant nearby. We ate at the market so it was not an issue for us.

There is covered, underground parking available at small cost but there is plenty of free parking directly outside of hotel. We could always find a spot even on the weekend where the hotel had been booked solid.

In the past, we have stayed in downtown hotels to visit the Christmas market. This year, we chose this hotel even though it seemed to be a little out of the way. In the end, we found it to be more convenient than our previous hotel choices. It is only a few minutes walk to the tram stop. From there you can hop onboard the 701 which takes you directly into the city. (You can buy a ticket onboard with Euro coins.) In approx 10 comfortable minutes you are already at the skating rink and Shadowstrasse area of the market. A 5 to 10 minute walk takes you to the famous Konigsallee shopping street and the Altstadt area of the market.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reena_111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlausJakob, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us a statement on TripAdVisor to tell us about your positive experiences at our Hotel Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Düsseldorf the next time.
Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUSSELDORF
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

very nice hotel - good location - just 5 minutes walk from the tram to "everywhere in the city".
lots of free parking outdoor
Staff very professional.
Breakfast with a lot of options -
I'll repeat if i return to Dusseldorf


  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank RUI C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlausJakob, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your statement on TripAdVisor to tell us about your positive experiences at our Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Düsseldorf the next time.
Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We normally stay in the city centre at the Holiday Inn but I am annoyed at their increasing cost and tired accommodation! I booked two rooms here at about 70€ each, per night, including breakfast. It would have cost double that at the Holiday Inn without breakfast for the same period. Even a taxi to the old town only costs about 10€ each way so I reckon I saved around120€ per night. The location is closer to the airport and the Messe where we was a working each day so that was a bonus too.

True, the area close by is nothing special but there is a McDonalds 100m away which I found handy for late night Icecream cravings.

The hotel is of the newer style HIE which is well designed.

We will stay here again I am sure.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMarsBars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlausJakob, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us a positive statement on TripAdVisor to tell us about your experiences at our Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just returned from visiting Dusseldorf. We stayed at the Holiday Inn express Dusseldorf. First impressions were, that it was in an industrial estate, which it is. However it is also very close to the tram system used in the city. The hotel itself is very nice, clean with very pleasant and helpfull staff. Their local knowledge first rate. Breakfast well worth getting out of bed for. Willl use this hotel again if we return to Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlausJakob, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us a statement on TripAdVisor to tell us about your positive experiences at our Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Düsseldorf the next time.

Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 6 Contributor
649 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I chose this hotel due to its relative proximity to the airport of Düsseldorf, where I had a stopover. Located in Derendorf district, near the train station, halfway between the airport and the city center, so for me it was very easy to get to / from the airport. While booking online in advance, this hotel offered a bargain price, which, together with included breakfast seemed to me a very attractive proposition.The hotel itself was clean and comfortable and breakfast quite tasty and nutritious. I think that this hotel might be suitable both for business and for leisure travelers. To get to the city center or to the main attractions, you can use the train which in 10 minutes bring to the central train station, or alternatively take the tram or bus. What I did not like was the smell of smoke in the room, but that was our own fault because we reserved by mistake a room for smokers.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azad690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlausJakob, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to give us a statement on TripAdVisor to tell us about your experiences at our Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Düsseldorf the next time.
Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North

Klaus Jakob Comes
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

pleasant stay at the hotel, except an issue at early check out where I've been told I have used internet using cable in my room and charges were made for 24 hours internet service. When explained at the reception, that I have never even opened my laptop the guy became very arrogant and angry screaming its not his problem and I have to pay for it. Whatever, I paid expenses, but whole experience was ruined and no idea where internet bill came from and customer service was very poor at that point.

Room Tip: If you are not smoker, ask non-smoking rooms when booking, otherwise it could be a problem to get on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton_Gee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KlausJakob, Leiter Front Office at Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time filling in to TripAdVisor to tell us about your experiences at our Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North.

With regret, I recognized that you have not been satisfied with our service.

We rate critical guest comments as a very positive opportunity to make things change for the better. Once again thank you for your comments.
I would be happy, if you could give us another chance to deliver excellent quality and service which is our goal at all times for all our guests and we are looking forward to welcoming you again when you visit Düsseldorf the next time.

Kind regards
Holiday Inn Express Düsseldorf – City North
Klaus Jakob Comes
Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Dusseldorf - City
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#11 of 237 in Dusseldorf
885 reviews
Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel
#50 of 237 in Dusseldorf
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North
Address: Mercedesstr. 14, 40470 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Express by Holiday Inn Duesseldorf North is a modern business hotel located within easy reach of the congress centre Messe Duesseldorf, the Duesseldorf Airport (DUS), the main railway station and the sport centres LTU Arena and ISS Dome.Both by car via the A 52 motorway and public transport, the hotel is perfectly connected to all business and leisure attractions like Jazz Rally in Duesseldorf. The Hotel Express by Holiday Inn offers accommodation for visitors to exhibitions like Gifa, CPD or IAM, for concert visitors like Pink Floyd or Depeche Mode as well as shoppers headed for the old town and Koenigsallee, art and design lovers enjoying the Media Harbour and sport fans cheering at football or ice hockey matches.The Express by Holiday Inn offers 150 comfortably furnished rooms with chargeable High Speed Internet Access, air condition, satellite and Pay TV, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, en suite shower, hair dryer, high quality beds and sound proof windows.We invite our guests to enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast buffet to get the day off to a good start, while in the evening our Lobby Bar is worth a visit to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf - City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Duesseldorf North Hotel
Holiday Inn Express düsseldorf
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing