We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky Hotel with amazing staff!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Friends Hotel Duesseldorf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Friends Hotel Duesseldorf
Ranked #45 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Funky Hotel with amazing staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013

We booked into Hotel Friends as a stop-over in Duesseldorf. We checked in quite late and found very friendly reception staff and a real funky room. Not your average boring hotel room. It was spotlessly clean and had everything you need, including good wifi for as many devices as we liked. The breakfast the next morning was great, a proper German Fruehstueck with everything one can possibly eat. The breakfast lady was also super friendly and helpful. As our flight got cancelled we stayed an extra night and in the end were really happy about being delayed. The staff went out of their way to help us sort things out. The hotel is close to all the sights in town as well as to the main train station, which has a connection to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank surfcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    76
    20
    10
    3
See reviews for
15
58
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Hotel Friends is a boutique hotel near Düsseldorf train station. The immediate surroundings are nothing special, but the hotel is ideally situated to reach the station and Düsseldorf's old city either by public transport or by foot. The hotel's rooms each have a quirky theme - that makes them fun and different from the normal kind of hotel rooms you will find in every city. Staff is very, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was plenty (very nice fresh rolls) and prices very competitive. A perfect place to stay during a trip to Düsseldorf.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PMK2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

The location was great the lobby was nice the room and hospitality was fine. Free wifi if quite important web you come for business matter but so expensive at Medica fare - just not fair
Don't look for non smoking rooms there is not such thing there

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
209 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

I searched for a inexpensive Hotel near the railway station for one night in september 2013. The Friends Hotel was good value. Inexpensive, but lovely maintained with friendly staff. I had a room to the backyard, so it was quite. Don't know, how it is if the room is facing the street. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laendersammler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mikkeli, Eastern Finland, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Having arrived to Dusseldorf, I found hotel friends to be excellent for my purpose: clean rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast and a central location near Hauptbahnhof.

I had no air condition in my room so I imagine the temperature in rooms during warm season may be an issue. Don't be scared by the rugged exterior, inside it's all good (Btw: Buses to the fair centre (722) leave in front of the hotel).

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank VisitMikkeli F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

we recently spent 3 nights at the friends hotel (bank holiday weekend) and really enjoyed our stay.

the hotel is 2 mins from the main train station and easy to find.

We arrived at 9pm and check in was smooth. We were allocated the miss marple room which I think the receptionists thought was suitable as we were English? .. the room was lovely.. lots of little touches that made the room. There wasn't really a wardrobe but lots of drawer space.

Our bed was comfy but the duvet etc was not needed as the room was warm. We opened the window a few times and as we were on the 1st floor it was loud but to be honest I can sleep anywhere and the noise was preferred to the heat.

Reception were great and pointed out places to eat and asked after our day. There is a little bar but we preferred to go to the coffee shop underneath which served beer and wine along with snacks.

We did have to ask for new towels and the hotel is a good 20 min walk from the old town. We ended up walking there and getting trams back.

Dusseldorf itself is a little limited compared to other city breaks we have done. The main old town is so busy and full of people getting very drunk which wasn't our thing. If I was here with a group of mates then you could party to the early hours.

We went to kasierwerth on the boat for a afternoon which was nice.. and went to wildpark to free the deer ( take food with you for them as there is no feeding place or café). Dusseldorf is not cheap and we found ourselves spending more than we would like as their wasn't loads to do.

Overall all the hotel was nice, we had a great meal at sannin over the road one nice and got to see all that dusseldorf could offer. For a 1 hour flight it was worth the visit.

I wouldn't return as we saw everything we needed too and like to try others places.

This hotel is a great choice if you want a comfortable friendly place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunloverkel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

We spent one night in the hotel and would not have stayed longer. We were on the fifth floor of the hotel facing the road. The decoration of the room was not stylish at all (other rooms might be better), there was a very strong smell in the room and the flush of the toilet had not been cleaned in a very long time (it was sticky and full of stains). It was a warm day so we had to keep the windows open (also for the smell) but without earplugs it is not possible to sleep as the road in front is very busy and especially the tram stopping makes you wake up every 10 minutes. Good things are the free wifi, it is in walking distance to the city centre and the staff is relatively friendly.

Room Tip: Dont choose a room on the fifth floor and not facing the road (especially not during summer)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 921Miriam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Sir & Lady Astor Hotel
#19 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#20 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Residenz Duesseldorf Hotel
#124 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Max Hotel Garni
Max Hotel Garni
#22 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Motel One Dusseldorf Hbf
Motel One Dusseldorf Hbf
#10 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friends Hotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friends Hotel Duesseldorf

Property: Friends Hotel Duesseldorf
Address: Worringer Str. 94 - 96, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friends Hotel Duesseldorf 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On entering this charming hotel friends in Dusseldorf downtown, you will immediately sense its special intimate atmosphere that takes you back to the 70s through its extraordinary and exciting design. The place to be for daydreamer, travel blogger, fashion blogger...There you will feel like being in the past. Each detail and furniture has been passionately chosen. Each 40 rooms deserves a visit, since they all tells their own story. You will meet very famous faces, like Sherlock Holmes, James Bond, Harry Potter, Coco Chanel and co. hotel friends style mixes valuable antiques from the 70s, as well as a very modern and cozy furniture. The highlight of hotel friends is the huge lobby in old school style, including a hip bar or as we call it #klassentreffen, schoolyard (smoking lounge) #pausenhof and the assembly hall #aula. The special charm, the cosy mood, the casual and unique surrounding makes hotel friends to the city hotspot. Curious? Then go ahead and make your first reservation at #hotel friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Booking.com so you can book your Friends Hotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friends Hotel Dusseldorf Hotel
Friends Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing