We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Room with a bit noisy env't”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown
Ranked #35 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Walking distance from Dusseldorf Main Hbf. Staff is very helpful & nice. Room is spacious with enough sunlight, bathroom is neat and tidy. Yet, a bit noisy with trains and people outside the hotel at night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeeeeWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 201 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Booked into the friends hotel for a one night business trip. First impression was not great. Although in walking distance from the station it is not on the nicest of streets. However the welcome was very warm from a particularly helpful gentleman on reception who offered a map, advice on places to visit and a password for free internet. This continued throughout my short stay with all staff. Single room was very basic but fine for the money. Lounge very nicely appointed with games and books. Breakfast very good and a change from normal small hotel fare.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quatermass72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I are regular visitors to Düsseldorf, and usually stay at one of the Ibis hotels, but I am always on the lookout for an alternative. I found a good rate for the Friends Hotel, and decided to give it a go.

The hotel is about 5 minutes walk from the hauptbahnoff. It is on a very busy road, but you can't hear that once you are inside the hotel.

The reception is on the first floor, so there's not much to see when you walk in at street level. The receptionist checked me in quickly, and was happy to offer assistance.

The room was a good size. There was plenty of room to move around. There was a flat screen TV in the room, and free wi-fi (you will need to contact the front desk for a code). There was also a little terrace area at the front (albeit enclosed) which looked out onto the busy street below. And who doesn't love a packet of Haribo on the pillow?

The bathroom was not very big, but the shower was good enough. My only gripe was that there was no shelf to put toiletries.

I would be happy to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loulabelle44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

My first impression of the hotel wasnt that good, looking at the exterior and the surroundings, you wouldn't expect to find such amazing hotel.
After being buzzed in (you have to ring the doorbell first before you can enter the hotel) you'll find a staircase that leads to the first floor thus the reception. It looks really cozy and gave me kind of a relieved feeling to know that this hotel is actually really nice. plus, the staffs are super friendly and helpful.
My amazement continues when I entered the room 403, with a name "neo baroc". It was such a stylish room, adequate in size, with all necessary facilities. I really did not feel like staying in a 3 star property despite the fact that the building is kinda small.
I had such a pleasant stay at Friends and I highly recommend all tourist who visit Düsseldorf to stay here!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohmyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This clean and cosy hotel near trailway station was excellent choice for our trip to Dusseldorf. We stayed here for 5 nights and this hotel was worth value. The staff was very friendly and humoresque. Only the noise outside the street was little bit annoying. we had to keep windows open because of the heat outside (and inside). Breakfast was really superior and tasty, I would rank it maybe the best I have ever got for breakfast. There were many oriental restaurants aside/nearby, butunfortunately they were closed in the evenings we tried to get in. Of course, there were pasta/pizza places and döner places just around the corner and the prices were really reasonable. The shop downstairs really helped us to pick up things during the days.

This was a business trip, so we did not have really time to search around places - unfortunately.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pau1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

I stayed here in January 2011. The hotel does not have main ground floor frontage and is located above several shops. From the exterior it appears as a non descript 1960’s office block, and could be easily missed. The reception is on the first floor and is decorated in a modern contemporary style. The hotel is located a few minutes away from the main train station is a good central location. The room was modern with plush fixtures and furnishings. The rooms appeared to be themed, with ours covered in Vogue pictures. Only complaint / downside of the hotel that there is no main bar area/ public areas. It very much felt like a room only establishment although breakfast is on offer at a cost. The price we paid was ok, and value for money I think for Düsseldorf? If I was staying in Düsseldorf again I probably would try another hotel, not to say I had a bad experience here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a 3 nights.
My room was huge with a balcony, very comfortable and clean.
Breakfast very good.
Location also very good.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AgnesK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
me and all hotel duesseldorf
me and all hotel duesseldorf
#19 of 241 in Dusseldorf
164 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
BURNS Art & Culture
BURNS Art & Culture
#83 of 241 in Dusseldorf
119 reviews
Max Brown Hotel Midtown
#75 of 241 in Dusseldorf
300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Sir & Lady Astor Hotel
#18 of 241 in Dusseldorf
298 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown

Address: Worringer Str. 94 - 96, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $93 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On entering this charming hotel friends in Dusseldorf downtown, you will immediately sense its special intimate atmosphere that takes you back to the 70s through its extraordinary and exciting design. The place to be for daydreamer, travel blogger, fashion blogger...There you will feel like being in the past. Each detail and furniture has been passionately chosen. Each 40 rooms deserves a visit, since they all tells their own story. You will meet very famous faces, like Sherlock Holmes, James Bond, Harry Potter, Coco Chanel and co. hotel friends style mixes valuable antiques from the 70s, as well as a very modern and cozy furniture. The highlight of hotel friends is the huge lobby in old school style, including a hip bar or as we call it #klassentreffen, schoolyard (smoking lounge) #pausenhof and the assembly hall #aula. The special charm, the cosy mood, the casual and unique surrounding makes hotel friends to the city hotspot. Curious? Then go ahead and make your first reservation at #hotel friends! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your hotel friends Dusseldorf Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friends Hotel Dusseldorf Hotel
Friends Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing