We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
Ranked #10 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I spent 3 nights in this hotel and would have stayed more! I booked very last minute and quite cheap (about £35/night), but would have happily paid more. The staff all spoke perfect English (obviously German too) and were all extremely courteous and polite, and no request seemed like too much hassle. I enquired about transport within Düsseldorf and they provided me with a map of the town highlighting tourist points of interest, and verbal instructions on how to use the trams. On the second of my 3 nights, the lady behind the bar recognised me and remembered what drink I like, which was a nice personal touch.
I arrived about 2pm, and my booking said check-in was from 3pm, but they didn't say anything about me being early. (As I was checking out at 11am, a group were checking in, and the receptionist said she knew at least one of the two rooms was ready, and made a quick phone call to make sure the other room she was allocating would be ready). Check-in was quick and easy.
The room was very comfortable, and most importantly, clean. They were very quiet, with the only sounds I was able to hear being the trams rumbling by outside.
The hotel also has a sauna, steam room (which was broken whilst I was there) and a small fitness room which again are very well kept, and clean.
There is free WiFi in the lobby and bar area, and free wired internet in the rooms, and a cable is available from reception free of charge.
The food available in the evenings was delicious, although there wasn't a huge selection, there was enough to please most people. The breakfast buffet is rather expensive at €20pp, but it is worth it. It had almost any breakfast type food you can imagine, and more!
There is a Lidl just across the road which meant I could buy bottles of juice and treats for my days sightseeing in Düsseldorf. A tram and bus stop is about 500m up the road, with a tram that takes you directly to the town centre. Underneath the tram stop is a mainline train station, which is two stops away on the S1 train from the airport, and 3 stops away from Düsseldorf Hauptbahnhof (the central train station).
The location the hotel is in (Derendorf) does not look to be the nicest of places in Düsseldorf, however I felt safe all the time.
I would use this hotel again without a doubt!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RyanBu25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    460
    102
    27
    16
See reviews for
58
203
61
467
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We got an incredible deal for one Friday night at the NH on trivago (€29 for the room!). The room was very spacious and clean and the bathroom had all the standard amenities that you'd expect. The bed was very comfortable with the only minus point being that the pillows could have perhaps been a bit harder. There's a tram line just outside the door that will get you to the city center in 10 mins. If you can get a similar deal, pounce on it !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenandaxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level 6 Contributor
327 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Very comfortable, pleasant room with all facilities, very quiet despite main road location (my room was not at front), had a great night's sleep.
Breakfast very good, bar pleasant, very handy for airport.
Overall smart, modern hotel, good place to stay I was very happy here.

Room Tip: ask for a room not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Feeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

This hotel mostly targets business travelers, especially when there is a trade fair in Düsseldorf. On weekends, however, this target group is not present, so you can get very good rates for a four star hotel. We paid 49 € per night for a double room, and both the room and the service were quite nice. Only point of complaint: The maid came into the room in the morning while we were still there - I would think that in a hotel like this, they have some overview over who has already checked out, and who has not.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kaley_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hotel does a very good job of providing a high standard of accommodation in what wouldn't be the most immediately obvious part of Dusseldorf to stay in. That said, Derendorf does have character although it's clearly a million miles from the ostentation of some parts of Konigsallee. Rooms here are good, breakfasts plentiful.Minor gripe is that although internet is free, there's no wi-fi and you have to trail back to reception to get the LAN cable. Also, they could make the huge reception area a bit less drab - a bit of art and greenery maybe? But all that said it's online rates make it real value for money. It's two stops (5 mins) from the airport on the S11 tram and about 12 minutes to the city centre on the 701. Local tip: about 6 mins walk to the right along Munsterstrasse is a local bar called Munster Eck: unpretentious and possibly even slightly daunting to enter, you won't get better value authentic German beer and grub, substantial main courses for under ten euros and a decent beer seection.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timabdelhadytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The NH Dusseldorf-City Nord is located three stops away from Dusseldorf Hauptbanhof on the S-Bahn at S-Derendorf. I believe the airport is just one or two stops further on the line. From Derendorf it's just a 5 minute walk to the entrance of the hotel. As noted by other reviewers, there is not much in the immediate area surrounding the hotel in terms of food or shopping, but there is an Esso gas station directly across the street should you need to grab a quick drink, snack, or pack of smokes, and a Lidl (read: discount) supermarket almost directly behind the Esso. I arrived around 9:30PM on a Friday, famished, and hunted around for food a little bit -- the previously suggested 'Goldmarie' Italian restaurant next door is more a cafe than full service option and apparently closes mid-afternoon (15:00) on most days. The hotel does have a restaurant, but I generally find hotel food to be overpriced and tastelessly boring. Alas, the next closest option by foot is a McDonald's on MercedesStrasse, about 15 minutes walking time, but possessive of Easy Order digital kiosks with English display options, so you can get your Big Mac done just right.

ANYWAYS, the hotel…

I have a love/hate relationship with NH properties, usually with more hate than love. Service is wholly inconsistent and the condition of the hotel/your room is always a gamble. I booked on Hotwire for two nights at a decent rate of $58 per night plus tax. Keep in mind that Dusseldorf is largely a business oriented city, with plenty of serviceable hotels, so shop around until you find an option that perfectly suits your needs both in terms of price and amenities.

Check-in was pleasant, although upon asking, I was told that no smoking rooms were available which didn't quite make sense to me given the fact that the hotel seemed relatively vacant the entirety of my stay. I was placed in a room on the second floor directly adjacent to the elevator bank and facing the street, which irked me initially but didn't prove to be bothersome in the slightest. The bedroom was well-insulated from street noise and there was a second door between the bedroom and bathroom/wardrobe in the entry way to the room which adequately kept out any noise from the hall.

The room was pretty spacious, bed decent (a little on the firm side) and pillows quite soft. An antiquated box TV with limited English language channels (CNN/CNBC/RT), well loaded mini-bar, and small desk made up the rest of the space, which featured a large wardrobe, but no safe. The bathroom was standard, with large squeezable bottles of hand soap and shampoo as well as standard toiletries. NH's inclusion of a loofah, while simple enough, is a nice touch. The bathroom was only stocked with one bath towel and one hand towel, which was a bit of a nuisance for a two night stay, but green is the way to go, right?

There is also NO IN-ROOM WIFI. It's 2012. Enough said. There supposedly is free in-room wired access, but you may want to read prior reviews about excess charges before taking that leap.

My chief complaint with the room would oddly enough be the door -- just a twist lock, no security latch, and no peephole. Further, I had to really pull on the dang thing to get it to close, and when I returned to the hotel on the second day my key wouldn't work to get back into the room so I had to go down to the lobby and have it remagnetized. I would complain about the receptionist not apologizing for the inconvenience but she was a cute one.

All in all, this hotel is good for a short business/pleasure trip to the Dusseldorf area. The location is exceptionally close to public transportation, not far from the center, and the rooms are comfortable and clean. Is this hotel four star quality? No. But that doesn't necessarily make it poor option.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neuroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

NH is a comfortable chain of hotels which provides clean and affordable accommodation. No fancy frills but it does the job well. My last stay was in Dusseldorf. Rooms are comfortable and spacious and the meals I had were tasty. It could be improved by providing WiFi throughout the hotel and in the rooms as it was only available in the conference area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
NH Duesseldorf City
#29 of 239 in Dusseldorf
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Duesseldorf
#12 of 239 in Dusseldorf
914 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#9 of 239 in Dusseldorf
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Duesseldorf City Nord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Duesseldorf City Nord

Property: NH Duesseldorf City Nord
Address: Muensterstr. 230-238 | Duesseltal, 40470 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#12 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
#16 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#19 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Duesseldorf City Nord 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star NH Dusseldorf City Nord hotel is ideally located in the northern part of Dusseldorf, the NRW state capital, also widely known as a metropolis for trade fairs and fashion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Duesseldorf City Nord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Duesseldorf City Nord Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing