We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, not to great surrounding area”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Ranked #20 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the look of the hotel when we entered, even though the parking garage is a real challenge (don;t bring a wide SUV or other wide car....near impossible to go around the narrow corners).

Staff is very friendly and efficient even though the cleaning of our room the first day was strange.After a busy day in the city we returned at the end of the afternoon finding that our room was only partly cleaned. Beds were cleaned and put in order but bins and towels were on the floor and not taken out. This was quickly resolved after a call to M1 (reception) and as efficient as the Germans are they returned after picking up the towels and bins after we left for dinner. Paying an additional 16 euro for breakfast might sound a lot (and it is) but what you get in return is worth it. One of the first hotels that understood you have to offer variety. Healthy food and the more.....artery clogging food like sausage, bacon, eggs and the sorts...all available in a great surrounding. We will surely return if we return. One point though, even though it is not something the hotel owners can do something about, the surrounding area offers very view restaurants. There are two Greek restaurants that you should ignore, don't even look through the windows. True nightmares..sorry to say. A little walk towards Konings allee and you will find many restaurants of many nationalities and it takes only 10-15 minutes. So an excellen hotel with clean and modern rooms, great staff and food but shabby surroundings and a challenging parking garage.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the big Church. Nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank daxc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, General Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. We are very happy that you enjoyed our breakfast that much and had a good start into the new day.

Sincerely,

Magnus Schwartze
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 356 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great front desk service
Very clean every where in corridors and reception
But laid in bed and found a cockroach!!!!
Place stinks of curry all the time
The gym is a closet
Must dine here the food is spectacular

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AschM_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I was in town for a family function in early August 2014 and booked a single room for EUR 75 per night w/o breakfast. Not cheap, but worth every cent. Why?
The hotel is very clean, up-to-date and offers excellent service. The location is so close to the city cente and the "old town" that you can reach every place of interest within minutes on foot or by public transport, but far enough away from busy streets to offer a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. When you're in town, buy a 7-day or 10-day tourist pass for the VRR (local public transport). Unfortunately I can't say anything about the breakfast or parking (the hotel offers parking for guests).

Some technical details: As usual in Germany, you'll need to insert your key card into what is essentially a hidden switch to be able to use lights, etc. in order to save energy while the room is not occupied. Normally this also kills the air con, but I my room, the unit continued to work while I was away. What a blessing with outside temperatures in the 90'ies... Plus, my room was equipped with outside shades that helped a lot to keep the heat out, too.

All in all, I enjoyed my stay, and I will stay at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JoRichter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, General Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your great review. I am very happy that you had such a great stay with us and that we served all the comfort for you needed. The team also was very happ of your review.

Thanks a lot again and we are more than happy to welcome ou again.

Best regards,

Magnus Schwartze
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I spent only ine night in this hotel when I vsited Düsseldorf for a fair. The hotel is nice and very functional, my single room was small but comfortable. The breakfast was really great, an unusually big variaty of warm and cold meals. The hotel could be easily reached by tram, the downtown is just a few stations away. At the time of the fair the hotel was totally overpriced, but this was the case for all Düsseldorf hotels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kandeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, General Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your great review. We are happy that you had a great stay at our hotel. Also the team of the restaurant is happy that you enjoyed your breakfast in the mornings.

We are happy to welcome you again in our hotel soon.

Warm regards,

Magnus Schwartze
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel right in the centre of Dusseldorf. Clean and large rooms with a great bathroom and all what you could want. Parking is also possible in the own car park for €15 for 24 hours. Breakfast is also great plenty to choose from. Will be back for sure.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Jason T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, General Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your fantastic review. I am more than happy, that you had such a pleasant stay at our hotel. My team gives its best every day, so that our guests have a great stay. I look forward to your next stay at our Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf.

With best regards,

Magnus Schwartze
Asst. General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed in an apartment for 2 nights with our baby. (Tip: it was not possible to book such a short stay at the apartment via the hotel website, but we asked for it by e-mail and got it OK like that.) The standard apartment was very spacious, clean and comfortable + quiet. The small kitchen had everything we needed. There was a travel type baby bed for our baby as requested. Location of the hotel was good as we were mostly waking around.

Positive surprises were the complimentary beers and waters in the fridge and also a small bath accesory/toy bag for our child. Air con was working well and was not too noisy.

The only thing that would make the room perfect would be a different kind of batroom door: the current one is made of glass, partly see through. I guess most people need some kind of privacy in bathroom/toilet... ;)

The apartment does not include a hotel breakfast but we had it on our departure day. Price 10 EUR / adult. It was well worth the price, much better than expected.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derag_Livinghotels, General Manager at Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2014

Dear guest,

thanks a lot for your fantastic review. I am more than happy that you and your familiy had a great stay in our hotel. Hope to welcome you again soon.

With kind regards,

Magnus Schwartze
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here with my family (two adults and one infant) for two nights. We had a apartment room with small kitchen facilities and a baby cot for our son. The room was very well equipped and modern.

We ate breakfast at the hotel on one morning. They had a French theme week going on which was nice twist. Breakfast was good and service ok.

The location was brilliant. The area was peacefull. Walking distance from the river Rhein and from the old town and also from the shopping district.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank issuJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 239 in Dusseldorf
999 reviews
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
#23 of 239 in Dusseldorf
784 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#12 of 239 in Dusseldorf
960 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#17 of 239 in Dusseldorf
633 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#6 of 239 in Dusseldorf
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf

Address: Kirchfeldstr. 59-61, 40217 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Unterbilk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $76 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing