We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, great breakfast”
Review of Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Garden Hotel
Ranked #88 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We spent 5 nights here whilst visitng family and friends. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. We has a bunglalow room out at the back, which was lovely and spacious with a great big bathroom, equipped with bath and shower. The best bit of all was the fabulous breakfast, a treat not to be missed. Overall a great value for money and a place we shall definately return to.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nixie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (52)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 52 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for only one night during the weekend. Our main activities in Dusseldorf were shopping and a little bit of sightseeing.

We parked at the hotel's own parking garage. Our rooms were spacious and clean. Each room had a (shared) balcony and large windows that could be opened. The bathroom had quite a long bath tub which was good to lie in. The rooms had a mini bar, plenty of storage space, a water boiler and free wifi (the code could be optained at the front desk).

The breakfast was very good, with plenty of options and even warm food like bacon/eggs. There was also awide variety of fruits, meats and cheese to pick from. The breakfast buffet had a proper coffee machine for great cappucinos.

You can get to the city centre by tram 712, which is a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The Arkaden Mall is quite near (20min walk) and is good for shopping (but doesn't beat the city centre). Also near the hotel is a nice Sushi restaurant called ManThei.

All in all the Garden Hotel offered good value for money and we would definitely book again for the next shopping trip.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KimV999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2008

We returned to Dusseldorf and the Garden Hotel for the fourth time. We were welcomed by Livio and each offered a glass of Sekt. Immediately we felt that we had returned to our home from home in Dusseldorf. The hotel, under the management of the friendly and energetic owners, improves in small but significant ways on every visit. The wonderful staff speak many languages (German, of course, English, Italian, Spanish and Farsi to name some) so I recommend phoning as we do to book a room.
[-----]
We stayed 2 weeks and had a large room whcih was more like a suite but there are smaller double rooms at lower rates.

The Garden Hotel is not in the centre of the city, but the Altstadt is easily reached on a 712 tram. The Rhine is 20 minutes walk away, and the garden overlooks the little Dussel river. The rooms are cosy in winter, and in summer, each room has a balcony . Please see our previous reviews for more details.

1  Thank Farsante2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

We made a return visit (See previous review) to the Top Garden Hotel in Bilk and stayed for 18 nights. Sometimes a return to a place you once liked can be a disappointment, but for us this was like returning to our home in Dusseldorf. Arriving exhausted from a long flight, we were greeted by the staff like we were family and were offered food and drinks, gratis! A large bottle of mineral water made us more than happy. We had a special rate because of our extended stay, and you too could probably negotiate a better price than the rack rate. Our room was very large even compared to a North American hotel and overlooked a lovely little garden and the Dussel River. This hotel was built in 1995 and was designed as an apartment hotel; hence the large rooms. The weather was hot and we were able to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the sunshine.
Suitbertusstrasse is in a safe, quiet district of Dusseldorf , but is within an easy walk or tram (712 ) ride to the bustle and noise of the often not very salubrious Altstadt. Our fellow guests were business people and Germans or other Europeans visiting family. Many also were return guests. A family with three young boys seemed very comfortable at the hotel. All the staff speak good English and also many other languages. The hard-working housekeeper, Betty does not speak English, but her German is so clear and her communication skills so good that she was easy to understand. Our room was very clean and the bed was so comfortable that I still miss it. I think that the rates are very reasonable for a three-star hotel. Local phone calls were only 20 cents. There is a small charge for items in the mini bar, but the hotel does not mind guests using the fridge for their own purchases. Single guests seem to enjoy a beer and a chat with the staff in the small bar in the lobby. The hotel's fax is FAX is 49 211 159 78 686.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank Farsante2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank GerwinF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Yves R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ramona G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
#24 of 239 in Dusseldorf
785 reviews
Haus Litzbruck
#145 of 239 in Dusseldorf
23 reviews
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unterbilk
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
#22 of 239 in Dusseldorf
356 reviews
Auszeit Hotel Dusseldorf
#20 of 239 in Dusseldorf
391 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Schumacher Dusseldorf
Hotel Schumacher Dusseldorf
#116 of 239 in Dusseldorf
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Hotel

Address: Suitbertusstrasse 22, 40223 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly TOP Garden Düsseldorf)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Bilk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $68 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Garden Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing