We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice building changing exhibitions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum Kunstpalast

Museum Kunstpalast
Book In Advance
More Info
$75.84*
and up
2.5 Hour Segway Tour in Dusseldorf
Ranked #27 of 172 things to do in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Redesigned by Oswald Mathias Ungers in 2001, the Museum Kunstpalast is situated in the centre of Dusseldorf, directly on the river Rhine. Since its re-opening, the museum has achieved international fame with numerous high-caliber exhibitions, including MIRO, DALI, WARHOL, CARAVAGGIO, EL GRECO AND MODERNISM and GURSKY. The Museum Kunstpalast collections are also highly regarded worldwide. These include the Gallery of Paintings with the acclaimed Rubens gallery, the Department of Prints and Drawings with more than 80,000 objects, the Sculpture Collection, Department of Modern Art and Glasmuseum Hentrich, which with over 10,000 works houses the most comprehensive glass collection in Europe. The Robert Schumann Saal is also part of the Museum Kunstpalast and has made a name for itself with its own ambitious program.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
132 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice building changing exhibitions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Have been there there for different occaions/ exhibtions. Always great. Its worth going there especially if they have a dedicated exhibition. It was enjoyable everytime we went there! Check it out and if you you are interested in the exhibition go in!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    64
    17
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madeira, Portugal
Level Contributor
111 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Highly recommended. not many people there and we were able to look at any display we wanted for as long as we wanted.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BJ M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Something to interest everyone.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

We had already had a long walk through town and had no idea that the museum/art gallery was so vast, so we started in the cafe on the top floor, overlooking the fantasy tree in the huge atrium, and then worked our way down and around via many interesting galleries. The fee was 5€ per person, which didn't include entry to the current special exhibition. there were Six in our party, and we all had different views about "best bits", for me it was the glass gallery, the truly wondrous forms and colours including a life sized, seated goat made from glass shards. It opened my eyes to the variety and technical brilliance within glass making. The gallery staff, many of whom spoke good English, were eager to assist with explanations and information. One visit was not enough!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
397 reviews
100 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
“Enjoyable complex with multiple buildings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We enjoyed the very large Dusseldorf museum (allow a full day here) --although we had a hell of a time trying to get information about the current and ongoing exhibits during a period where they had a roof leak and thus had removed much of the art we were traveling there to see. Multiple emails and phone calls, even by our hotel in Cologne did not get us the information we needed on select items. In the end it was OK, because there was so much to see here. We saw an Andreas Gursky photography exhibition that was packed and out of this world. We also saw a Klinger small print series on his "glove" paintings which was magnificent. The permanent collection halls were a bit disorganized and the personnel seemed unfamiliar with what was normally shown as part of the permanent, but we were happy to see a small part of it. The glass museum is also very extensive and well worth it. The place is huge and always has multiple ongoing exhibits - you are sure to find something to enjoy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matars_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
149 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Interesting Collection of German Romantics”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

The Kunspalast has a worthwhile collection ranging from Middle Age masterpieces to 20th century paintings. German romantic paintings are a key part of the collection. The associates Glass Museum is not to be missed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quadrato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Kunstpalast also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Museum Kunstpalast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing