We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais
Ranked #78 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed November 21, 2006

Great place for a short stay. Nice, clean rooms, friendly staff. Breakfast was good. A bit arty and minimal. Right beside Rhine - nice street.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank JMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (85)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 85 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2006

My husband I were visiting Dusseldorf for one night – a Saturday night. Unfortunately we arrived into the city too late to visit the shopping streets. Everything in Dusseldorf closes at 4pm on Saturday and all shopping is closed on Sundays.

We stayed at the Hotel Orangerie ------ - I’m citing the web address because it wasn’t easy for me to find this hotel on the internet).

We paid a rate of 100 EU per night inclusive of tax, service and full breakfast. We were in room 12. The hotel has an elevator so you can easily carry your own luggage. The room was small; there was a double bed, small table with chair and a small TV. There is an electronic safe in the closet. The room’s windows overlooked to the side street and literally 15 feet across from our window was the Kunsthalle Dusseldorf museum. We could see into the museum’s exhibits that’s how close we were.

Our room was a smoking room but it honestly did not smell of smoke; something I am very sensitive to. The bathroom was not large and only has a shower stall; it comes with a hair dryer. There are no bathroom amenities available other than soap so be sure to bring your own. Keep in mind that if you are going during warm seasons the room did not have any air conditioning. Be sure to inquire about this if it is important to you.

The hotel is located well for easy quick 2-3 minute walking to Alstadt and the Rhein is 1 block away. For dinner we asked the front desk clerk for a recommendation to an Italian restaurant and she simply motioned to the general direction to walk to and that we could find plenty “there”. She was not helpful at all. We did happen upon a very good Italian restaurant. It’s name I can’t recall now but it’s diagonally across from Fischhaus, a very popular seafood restaurant on Bergerstrasse 3-7. If you are facing Fischhaus the Italian restaurant is behind you and to the right. They have a great menu and it’s authentic. They also gave us Limoncello on the house.

The breakfast the next morning was very extensive and makes the 100 EU rate worth it. There was everything from cheeses and breads to yogurt and fruit; cereal, fresh juice and eggs with sausage. Note that breakfast is included in all rates. Although breakfast is offered there is no restaurant and no room service.

After breakfast we asked for a late check out to 1pm and were declined without any reason given and the click of the telephone. When we checked out we asked to leave our bags while we walked around before we had to catch our train. We were told to leave them in the room in the back. The room was a conference room; it was not locked and there were other bags there as well. We were not issued a tag or ticket for our bags. We were reluctant to leave the bags so obviously unattended (especially since we had a laptop) but we took the risk. Luckily everything was there when we returned. So just note that if you have to leave bags it is truly at your own risk.

I would recommend Hotel Orangerie for it’s location, breakfast and cheap rate. But it’s service and friendliness is seriously lacking; maybe that is what is reflected in the rate. You would think that it would be different at such a small establishment but in fact all the staff we encountered were not friendly at all as if they didn’t realize they worked in the service industry. I don't consider not honoring a late check-out request as a bad point since that is not something that is expected but I do think a simple reason (such as sorry we have 30 people checking in this morning) is something that can be expected. If service is not important to you and you just want a good location with a clean room then this may be a good bet.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tulipbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2006

Hotel Orangerie is a small Family run hotel, in a great location (2 mins walk to the Rhine, 4 mins to the Old Town). But for the €120 per night it charges there are far better hotels in Dusseldorf to stay at.

The room I stayed in (37) was pretty small with 2 single beds pushed together, and 2 separate single duvets (the room is advertised as a double). It was very minimalist, no mini bar, no alarm clock, no table to work from and no Wifi access in the room. It looked cheaply decorated, with cheap plastic bedside tables.

The bathroom, was a little bigger than a cupboard with no bath. Make sure you dont forget any toiletries as there are none in the room.

It was quicker to walk the 3 flights of stairs to my room that catch what must be the world slowest lift.

The landing lghts were on a timing mechanism, when I arrived about 10 in the evening I found myself fiddling around trying to find a light switch so I could find my room.

There is no resturant in the hotel (so be prepared to go out for dinner).
Breakfast was well ordered, with a number of selections to be had, but when busy felt a little cramped (also be prepared to share your table with strangers).

The staff were very friendly and accomodating, but for €120 (which is a discounted rate) I cant help feeling a little ripped off.

There are at least 5 hotels within a 5 minutes walk of the Orangerie most of which I have stayed in, as a comparison I much prefer the other 5.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rob Askew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Charlotte, NC
332
Reviewed December 4, 2005

Ideally situated on an old cobblestone street just one block from the Rhein and two blocks from the quaint old town. I can't imagine a better hotel in Dusseldorf. The rooms are very minimalist chic but offer plenty of storage space so that you can unpack and hide your luggage and make this a home-away-from-home. The breakfast buffet (included in the room price) included bread, croissants and pastries, a selection of meats and cheeses, fresh fruit, cereals and more. But, what really sets the Orangerie apart is the service. When I required a wake-up call at 5:30 a.m., the weekend concierge remarked on how early that was and said breakfast would not be ready. He volunteered to at least have coffee and a pastry for me. When I came down at 6:15, he had the entire breakfast ready for me. AND, he had found out my gate # for my departing flight. If all hotels were as comfortable and accommodating as this one, I'd be a perpetually happy traveler. I highly recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
italy
17
Reviewed December 6, 2002

Great, the rooms hava a bit 'cold styled" furniture but rooms are very quiet and clean. Breakfast rich and top quality. Very closed to the ancient centre of dusseldorf , with all thr pubs and restaurants. Very nice hotel positionig -price not to cheap but consider that's in the center

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mcbrandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
Thank 13laguepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#6 of 239 in Dusseldorf
403 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Favor
Hotel Favor
#21 of 239 in Dusseldorf
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unterbilk
Kastens Hotel
Kastens Hotel
#173 of 239 in Dusseldorf
171 reviews
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#5 of 239 in Dusseldorf
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais

Address: Backergasse 1 | Altstadt, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $126 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing