We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais
Ranked #73 of 238 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Thane, India
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quaint little hotel”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have stayed here thrice over a period of 4 years and it hasn't changed a bit over this time- which is a good thing. My last visit was on 1st of April 2014. Its a quaint little hotel nested in a quite lane in the old part of city of Dusseldorf (so discrete that you will have to search for the lane leading to the hotel if you are here for the first time). Behind the hotel is the picturesque promenade running parallel to river Rhine next to it.
The building is built in art-deco style like many other buildings on the promenade. Its a budget hotel so do not expect any extravagance. You will find the reception desk just when you enter, and mostly during the day you will find the really helpful manager Ms. Beckers who has been the manager there for quite some time- at least since four years, since the first time I checked-in in 2010. It has a small place on the ground floor for breakfast and thats it. No room service or anything special in the room apart from the basic amenities like a LCD TV (most of them German channels), comfortable bed, and a basic bathroom Note: no kettle/coffee/tea in the room so most Indians who need a tea/coffee right when the wake up in the morning will find it a little inconvenient. Very comfortable and clean for just sleeping over night if you are on a business visit.
Its walkable distance from Alstadt- the old city market place and a couple of minutes drive/tram ride from the prime shopping district of Dusseldorf - Koenigsallee.
All in all this place is highly recommended if you are looking at a budget place, a quiet atmosphere and nothing exotic.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRShastri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    36
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
6
21
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We recently spent three nights at this lovely hotel in Dusseldorf's Alstadt. It's tucked away on a very quiet side street, but still in the heart of everything. Our room faced onto a small courtyard, and was tastefully decorated. It's ideal for a short stay as you're within walking distance of Dusseldorf's numerous shops and bars.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inner courtyard would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
225 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

This hotel is so charming. What a great change from those large chain hotels. I walked to the hotel from the train station (about 20 minutes). The hotel is off to the side of a cobble stone street. The receptionist was extremely helpful and I was able to get into my room at 11 am even though check-in tome is 3 pm. My room was on the second floor and there was a nice view of the front cobblestone courtyard.

The hotel is located just a minute from the Rhein River and the Altstadt (Old Town). Everything you need is right there.

Wifi was included and worked very well. There was a traditional breakfast in the morning with bread, meats, croissants, yogart, fruit and cereal.

I would stay here again anytime.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 23. It overlooked the front courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rr177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The entire staff is very courteous, helpful and friendly.
The area is well kept, clean and very safe. Food and drinks are very tasty
Walking distance to the fresh produce market,Dusseldorf strip of different bars and cuisines.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had two overnight stays at the Hotel Orangerie--one at the start of our trip and one at the end. The rooms were comfortable and quiet. Breakfast which is included was excellent. Also the hotel's location couldn't be more perfect for the Alt Stadt. It's our choice when in Dusseldorf

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here twice and would gladly stay again I love the location in Old Town and being near the Rhine and Central Market, and virtually everything is within walking distance. Hotel very clean and rooms very modern, perhaps small by American standards but warmly comfortable

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Merle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Our friends in Dusseldorf made the arrangement score us at this hotel. The location was convenient to Kings Avenue, the Rhine Tower and Old Town and the water edge. The hotel was clean and comfortable. I usually judge hotel rooms by cleanliness and beds first, reception and food second. Cleanliness - I give 5 stars. Bed - I give 3 stars. Reception (staff) - I give 2.5 stars. Breakfast - I give 5 stars. this is how I determined 4. I would recommend for short stay due to bed only being of mediocre quality. But certainly a nice place. My husband and son thought I was a bit harsh and that beds werent bad but I'm the one reviewing... and I really like a comfy bed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SashaO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Altstadt
Carathotel Duesseldorf
Carathotel Duesseldorf
#38 of 238 in Dusseldorf
283 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Villa Casa
Hotel Villa Casa
#182 of 238 in Dusseldorf
31 reviews
Altstadt
Abode-Hotel
Abode-Hotel
#126 of 238 in Dusseldorf
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
#125 of 238 in Dusseldorf
101 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#6 of 238 in Dusseldorf
363 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Favor
Hotel Favor
#19 of 238 in Dusseldorf
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais

Property: Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais
Address: Backergasse 1 | Altstadt, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Carlstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 238 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Orangerie am Speeschen Palais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing