We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good altstadt location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carathotel Duesseldorf
Ranked #38 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good altstadt location”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

The Carat hotel is on the edge of the old town (altstadt) where it is only a short walk away to lots of good bars and restaurants.It is easy to get to from Dusseldorf railway station - just take the U bahn to Konig/Steinstrasse and walk 10 mins down Benrath St and you are there.The staff were friendly and helpful - the room was nice and clean, a little small but comfortable enough.Breakfast was very good,good selection of cereals,fruit juices ham,cheese etc for a good start to the day.
Alternatively if you decide not to have breakfast at the hotel - in the Carlsplatz square where the hotel is located nearby there are Bastians and also Otto Bentners which are both nice places to have a coffee and cake.Hotel also has free wifi in the rooms.
Would stay in the Carat again if I visited Dusseldorf in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    135
    62
    10
    3
See reviews for
27
75
22
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We found the staff very friendly, the room was on the small side and the we room had was in the roof and so hot we had to open the window as the air con is switched off in Winter. With the window open the room was extremely noisy with traffic and street noise, we did not sleep well. breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room if there are any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We chose the Carat based on Tripadvisor´s reviews, as we wanted a hotel in the old town, near the Christmas Market.
Location is really practical for leisure purposes, just steps away from the bustle and buzz of the old town, with lots of restaurants nearby. A ten-minute walk takes you to the Heinrich-Heine Allee subway station where there is a huge Kaufhof Department Store.
On the hotel website there was the option of a "superior room with Caratbed superior", so we took it. We got a first-floor room, really very quiet, with a small courtyard view; the bed though was a normal queen.
There was a flat screen TV with international channels, minibar, Nespresso machine, free Internet, slippers, reasonable temperature control, magnifying mirror in bathroom. The room itself is small and disposes of minimal storing space. As we were on an intercontinental trip, we had to leave some of the clothes packed inside the suitcases.
Breakfast is good and not expensive and reception staff is helpful and attentive.
The Carat is a nice hotel in the old town, suitable for a 3-night stay in Düsseldorf. After that, you start to feel claustrophobic.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabriel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We booked Carat Hotel primarily due to its location in the Altstadt. The hotel itself is quite dated and in serious need of a refurbishment, but the location is good, the rooms are comfortable and the service is excellent. On the flip side, we found our room a little draughty (from the window seals); noisy in the mornings, as we were beside the housekeeping closet where doors were frequently opened and closed; and the shower-over-bath was very slippery and a little dangerous (which we mentioned to a staff member upon check out, who took this information very seriously). Overall a decent hotel choice in Düsseldorf.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EducatedShopaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I am a regular visitor to Dusseldorf, usually during Advent, and previously stayed in various standard of hotels ranging from the InterContinental to the Holiday Inn.
I chose The Carathotel this year as I have often wondered how easy it would be to walk back to Karlsplatz rather than 'miles' up the Ko..I checked on Tripadvisor and it certainly received positive reviews.
I was not disappointed at all. The staff were excellent on an early check-in and the room was more basic than usual but it had everything you needed for the stay. My only observation would be that the televisions be updated and perhaps at least one English language channel?
Breakfast was more than you would expect and was never overwhelmed which can be a problem at this time of year.
Overall I would return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExecD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corowa, NSW
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Location is excellent, very handy to the Alt Stadt. The room was compact, comfortable and well appointed. The staff were simply great; friendly, courteous and knowledgable. Breakfast had a good variety. It was great to see staff who take pride in their work and the service they provide.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Germanaussie67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Carat hotel is excellently located for the old town of Dusseldorf and it's many drinking and eating establishments. Rooms are small and decor could do with being updated but it is clean and warm and the staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is usual European but plentiful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Favor
Hotel Favor
#19 of 239 in Dusseldorf
250 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 239 in Dusseldorf
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Hotel Villa Casa
Hotel Villa Casa
#183 of 239 in Dusseldorf
31 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
#125 of 239 in Dusseldorf
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carathotel Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carathotel Duesseldorf

Property: Carathotel Duesseldorf
Address: Benrather Str. 7a, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#43 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Carathotel Duesseldorf 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Carathotel Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carat Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing