We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I will choose this hotel again... I think”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf
Ranked #207 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I could rate this hotel better but I can't even if I will probably return to it if I must visit Düsseldorf again.
I saw 5 rooms and all of them are different ... one can be rated 1 star, 2 can be rated 2 stars and 2 can be rated 3 stars.
I booked a single room and I was offered one. The room was very small (Room 311), the light in the bathroom was partly not working, the curtain of the bath tub was old and ugly and the sink wasn't working properly. That's why I asked for another room. The receptionist was very polite and offered me the room 301 which was lacking the toilet and the TV. I refused it and then I was offered a double room for the same money. This was the room 308 which was big and OK.
Anyhow... one of the heaters was not working (even with one heater the room was hot enough) and one bath tub door was almost broken but worked like it should.
Room cleaning happens everyday which is OK. Towels are changed daily.
The good thing about this hotel is the breakfast (a lot of choices of meat, cheese, cereals and good juice ... everything you want is there ... also smoked salmon fish) and the location is great. Right across the corner is the old town with the bars and clubs and a lot of places to eat.
The metro station is 50m away so you can get to the airport/main train station very easy.
There's no refrigerator/mini bar in the room so I left my beers outside the window because it is January :))
I will probably book this hotel again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bupitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 128 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

I found this Hotel good value and the breakfast was very nice. Also being right next to a u-bahn station was very useful if carrying heavy bags. But most of all this is just around the corner from the Altstadt with its lively bars and restaurants. It' not the Ritz but i wound like to stay here again and the staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: We were at the front of the hotel on a very busy night and did get woken up a couple of times in the...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank percySouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Hotel an der Oper with friends who regularly go away with. In this respect hotel ideal as relatively cheap ( 152€) for three nights and all single rooms. Central location and very near the main area ( longest bar in the world apparently), so ideal for travel from the airport and return ( 2.40€ ticket). Hotel is old school and somewhat dated but rooms are clean and more than satisfactory. To be totally objective some of my friends had an issue with a leak in their bathroom and another badly smelling room from some undisclosed issue, staff very accommodating and willing to move you etc. For the money and location would definately recommend. As for Dudseldorf itself, especially on a football match night, would probably not recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nos6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at this Hotel from 4th Sept to 9th Sept. It was a sudden decision. Being centrally located had opted for this which was a very wise choice. Very well located near Aldstat & the Underground.
Rooms are clean & well maintained. Breakfast was very good. Since we booked in very late so got the Room on the 6th floor which has 3 Rooms sharing the same Balcony. This is a disaster as on weekends some rowdy guys checked in around our Room & created ruckus from after mid night till morning. The Hotel Reception was all apologetic & for next night gave one of us to sleep in another Room as only a Single Room was free.

But all in all a good Hotel & Stay

Room Tip: Higher Floor Rooms via the smaller Lift should be taken only if Balcony is not shared,
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank QCINT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed at this hotel last summer. The location was very good, near metro station and all the atractions. The breaksfast was so good! Better than various 4 stars i stayed. The rooms are not new, but it's confortable. The staff was good. Overall was very good for the price we payed. I recomend this hotel for a short stay,

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filipa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is located in downtown Duesseldorf (Altstadt), where Restaurants and bars are open until late. The Hotel itself is old and not in the best condition, but the location and the price levels this. All in all a good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdeijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Do not stay in this hotel!!!!!! Went there on business trip.As soon as i arrived with my colleague in two separate rooms, we went out for dinner and returned one hour after. We were shocked to notice that both our rooms were robbed and all our belongings were missing!!! The key lock was not violated! We reported the incident to the local police who made investigations. The hotel manager was hiding, never spoke to us , not a word about being sorry! It seams this hotel has no manager only the receptionist who is usually working part time. Nobody knows nothing there!!! Not even recommended for animals as they treat their guests worst than animals! Even rooms have the standards of cages! Don't be tricked by low prices as this hotel worths nothing!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georges502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Altstadt
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
Hotel Alt Duesseldorf
#139 of 240 in Dusseldorf
103 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Sankt Andreas
Hotel Sankt Andreas
#156 of 240 in Dusseldorf
64 reviews
Altstadt
Hotel Villa Casa
Hotel Villa Casa
#182 of 240 in Dusseldorf
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Abode-Hotel
Abode-Hotel
#145 of 240 in Dusseldorf
38 reviews
Hotel Haus Rheinblick
#199 of 240 in Dusseldorf
19 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#6 of 240 in Dusseldorf
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf

Address: Heinrich-Heine-Allee 15 | Altstadt, 40213 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Neues Hotel an der Oper)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Altstadt
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $32 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home to the Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf. The central location allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Dusseldorf can be reached quickly and easily. The Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf can be found directly opposite the Deutsche Oper am Rhein. It is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a spacious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel an der Oper Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing