We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, helpful staff”
Review of Kastens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kastens Hotel
Ranked #182 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Overall we really liked this hotel. It is a bit of a walk to the city centre (maybe 15 minutes) which is fine normally but may be something to bear in mind if you have mobility issues or weather is particularly bad. Otherwise, there are trams within fairly easy walking distance.

We stayed to visit the Christmas markets and loved the friendly atmosphere in this quirky no frills hotel. We were greeted with a welcoming drink of orange juice and during our stay also were treated to a gluhwein and ginger biscuit as well as some stollen.

Our room (for 3 adults) 226 was large and comfortable. The bathroom was smallish in comparison but perfectly adequate with good shower, hairdryer and basic toiletries. The hotel is very quiet - we were surprised at how many people were at breakfast as we really heard no noise from our room.

The hotel is probably a good 3* rather than 4* being clean rather than spotless and modestly but quirkily furnished. What stood out for us were the little personal touches - the lovely female receptionist on duty during our stay in the daytime who was friendly and helpful and the excellent male receptionist on duty on Sunday evening who made sure we went the quickest way into town (we had got lost the previous night when the wind meant walking by the river wasn't an option), even running after us to keep us right. Unfortunately on our first night, there was a mix up with housekeeping so two beds weren't made up and we had to wait quite a while to get pillows. As a small hotel, there is minimal staff on in the evenings. The only other downside was an unmarked dip outside the room which we stumbled on quite a few times!

Another excellent touch was the complimentary tea, coffee (pods) and hot chocolate available at Reception as well as basic tea and coffee in the room.

Breakfast was very good given the small size of the hotel with a good selection of juices, fruit, yoghurts, cereals, cheeses, hams, breads, sausage, bacon, eggs and baked beans.

Overall a very good stay with excellent friendly staff who give this hotel a personal touch.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ponaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (169)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 169 reviews

Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stayed here for one night on a short week-end break to Dusseldorf. Hotel was great value with clean modern rooms. Bathroom is somewhat 'bijou' but very clean and functional with a shower.
Breakfast was very good with a wide buffet selection of food and self service.
Good location with the tram station opposite. Free drinks in the foyer was a nice touch as was the excellent customer care which provided us with a tablet and access to the hotel printer to produce our boarding passes for the journey home. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A large group of us stayed here a few weeks ago and had a very enjoyable stay.

The location is a short walk from the river and thereafter a pleasant stroll into the centre, in any event there is a tram stop nearby which will get you to most places with ease, providing of course that you get on the right tram and go in the right direction (thats another story !)

The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and make an effort to help when asked for advice.

We occupied 3 rooms between the group and all the rooms were spacious, clean and very well equipped. Decor in the room was a bit funky with loud contrasting colours, its something you have to see to appreciate .. but we all liked it.

Breakfast in the morning was superb with all that you want and plenty of it, the waitress was very helpful and clearly needed some support as the poor girl was forever running around. What was also good was the fact that last orders for breakfast was 11:00am, which was pretty useful after eleventeen pints of beer the night before.

In summary, Kastens gives you everything you would want from a hotel without all the pretentious nonsense that some boutique hotels provide and what they do, they do very well.
Overall a great hotel that I would have no hesitation in booking again if I return to Dusseldorf and I would also have no reservations about recommending to anyone.

Room Tip: Go and enjoy ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a really nice, small hotel within easy walking distance to old town Dusseldorf (which is an absolute blast!). The room was great, as was the included breakfast. The tram to the train station is right outside the front door. I will definitely return to this hotel every time I end up in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

my flight from the uk was late and I arrived at the Kastens hotel very late, the night porter was very helpful and made me feel welcomed.
it was not long before I had relaxed and could unwind.
the rooms were very clean and the hotel provide fans because of the hot weather.
the restaurant was located in the basement area and very well presented, the food was a good variety of English and continental

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lordy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in June 13 and would certainly stay again. Some reviews are complaining, ignore them, rooms and bathroom are big enough and cleaned daily, staff very helpful, breakfast from 7 til 11 and all you could want and as much as you want, free tea and coffee all day.
The river and town can be reached by walking but trams stop directly opposite hotel.
From the airport we took S11 train to main station and then taxi to hotel, about 8euros, but you can use tram if you know where you are going.
If you like running ensure you take your kit coz people are running at all times of day and you run along by the river, traffic free. We had a great time and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had ground floor non smoking room (101) by reception. Little noise, didnt keep me awake for long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRAHAM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a 2 night business stay - last minute booking. I wasn't expecting too much from the hotel but despite its insane decor (my room had an Australian theme and a palette of colours including terracotta, yellow, dark grey and Bordeaux red) the staff were very helpful and charming, the bed was very comfortable, there was free wifi and free soft drinks in the technicolour lobby. The breakfast was pretty good too. Really good value for money and a good location, only 10 mins stroll from the Altstadt and a short walk to the Medien-Hafen.

Only fly in the ointment was the checkout procedure; it seemed to last forever and it turned out someone had been putting lots of additional drinks on my room bill - however, the guy on checkout removed the additional 10 glasses of Chardonnay without argument, so I was happy in the end!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
#22 of 241 in Dusseldorf
768 reviews
Carlstadt
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
#68 of 241 in Dusseldorf
113 reviews
Unterbilk
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
#25 of 241 in Dusseldorf
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#56 of 241 in Dusseldorf
208 reviews
Hotel Residenz
#143 of 241 in Dusseldorf
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastens Hotel

Address: Juergensplatz 52 | Unterbilk, 40219 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Unterbilk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $69 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kastens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern furnished rooms are equipped with flatscreen TV, W-lan(free of charge), telephone, minibar, private bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kastens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastens Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing