We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Good”
Review of Kastens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kastens Hotel
Ranked #141 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Stockport, England.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Really Good”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

A large group of us stayed here a few weeks ago and had a very enjoyable stay.

The location is a short walk from the river and thereafter a pleasant stroll into the centre, in any event there is a tram stop nearby which will get you to most places with ease, providing of course that you get on the right tram and go in the right direction (thats another story !)

The hotel is very clean and the staff are friendly and make an effort to help when asked for advice.

We occupied 3 rooms between the group and all the rooms were spacious, clean and very well equipped. Decor in the room was a bit funky with loud contrasting colours, its something you have to see to appreciate .. but we all liked it.

Breakfast in the morning was superb with all that you want and plenty of it, the waitress was very helpful and clearly needed some support as the poor girl was forever running around. What was also good was the fact that last orders for breakfast was 11:00am, which was pretty useful after eleventeen pints of beer the night before.

In summary, Kastens gives you everything you would want from a hotel without all the pretentious nonsense that some boutique hotels provide and what they do, they do very well.
Overall a great hotel that I would have no hesitation in booking again if I return to Dusseldorf and I would also have no reservations about recommending to anyone.

Room Tip: Go and enjoy ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    63
    43
    18
    8
See reviews for
22
39
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a really nice, small hotel within easy walking distance to old town Dusseldorf (which is an absolute blast!). The room was great, as was the included breakfast. The tram to the train station is right outside the front door. I will definitely return to this hotel every time I end up in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank larkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

my flight from the uk was late and I arrived at the Kastens hotel very late, the night porter was very helpful and made me feel welcomed.
it was not long before I had relaxed and could unwind.
the rooms were very clean and the hotel provide fans because of the hot weather.
the restaurant was located in the basement area and very well presented, the food was a good variety of English and continental

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lordy69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in June 13 and would certainly stay again. Some reviews are complaining, ignore them, rooms and bathroom are big enough and cleaned daily, staff very helpful, breakfast from 7 til 11 and all you could want and as much as you want, free tea and coffee all day.
The river and town can be reached by walking but trams stop directly opposite hotel.
From the airport we took S11 train to main station and then taxi to hotel, about 8euros, but you can use tram if you know where you are going.
If you like running ensure you take your kit coz people are running at all times of day and you run along by the river, traffic free. We had a great time and would stay again.

Room Tip: We had ground floor non smoking room (101) by reception. Little noise, didnt keep me awake for long...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was a 2 night business stay - last minute booking. I wasn't expecting too much from the hotel but despite its insane decor (my room had an Australian theme and a palette of colours including terracotta, yellow, dark grey and Bordeaux red) the staff were very helpful and charming, the bed was very comfortable, there was free wifi and free soft drinks in the technicolour lobby. The breakfast was pretty good too. Really good value for money and a good location, only 10 mins stroll from the Altstadt and a short walk to the Medien-Hafen.

Only fly in the ointment was the checkout procedure; it seemed to last forever and it turned out someone had been putting lots of additional drinks on my room bill - however, the guy on checkout removed the additional 10 glasses of Chardonnay without argument, so I was happy in the end!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dirgegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkirkara, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Not what we expected .. Very misleading from web site Photos , Room too small & smell of cigarette . Shower small & W.C. stands too low, almost to the ground! Breakfast good but lacks sweets & fruit. Bar is always closed in lounge & Lift so slow & stop between two floors . A bit far from City center by walk . Staff very helpful , but not all spoke English ! Hotel front entrance not have access ramp for wheelchair . Surely not a 4 star , a 3 maybe .

Room Tip: Best Choice , Second or top Floor , with Front Views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe7078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

It is a simple, small, but very well situated, clean and with very friendly staff. It is the first hotel I try to reserve in Düsseldorf if I need one. It is a stone's through away from the Rhine and the Altstadt, and also very close to one of the main exit/entry points from/to the city, as well as public transport. The breakfast buffet has everything you might need and there is nothing better that I know of in the town in terms of value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexander M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#59 of 237 in Dusseldorf
473 reviews
Carlstadt
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
Hotel Haus Hillesheim
#71 of 237 in Dusseldorf
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Unterbilk
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
Derag Livinghotel Dusseldorf
#24 of 237 in Dusseldorf
326 reviews
Altstadt
Carathotel Duesseldorf
Carathotel Duesseldorf
#35 of 237 in Dusseldorf
280 reviews
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
#17 of 237 in Dusseldorf
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kastens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kastens Hotel

Property: Kastens Hotel
Address: Juergensplatz 52 | Unterbilk, 40219 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Unterbilk
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kastens Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern furnished rooms are equipped with flatscreen TV, W-lan(free of charge), telephone, minibar, private bathroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kastens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kastens Hotel Bonn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing