We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Got a non-smoking room that had been totally smoked in” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of NH Duesseldorf City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
NH Duesseldorf City
Ranked #27 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Got a non-smoking room that had been totally smoked in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is a close walk from the central train station but otherwise there isn't much going on near here. The staff at this hotel were very helpful, especially with the residual smoke in the non-smoking room situation. But I had a nice big room and the only option was a much smaller one so I chose to stay in the bigger room and deal with the extraordinary way that smoke clung to absolutely everything. Keeping the windows open just let the smog of the city in and the air-conditioning didn't help either. If you're a non-smoker or allergic you will struggle in Dusseldorf. The air indoors and outdoors is not great and people seem used to it. The food in Dusseldorf was pretty bad too, unless you go for Japanese (there are many restaurants in the city and worth the walk) or the NH breakfast which is a great, diverse selection of hot and cold food, fruit smoothies, breads, cereals, fresh fruit, etc. I recommend you stick to sausage and bread anywhere else as these are always good. I did use the small gym- 2 treadmills, cross-trainer that totally wobbled and a couple of bikes. They really need a water cooler in here and some air circulating, as well as a bit of space on the floor to stretch. I didn't use the sauna or steam room but that would probably have helped with breathing! This was one of my most uncomfortable hotel stays because of the air, though the layout of the corner room was very spacious and the glass elevator pretty cool. Dusseldorf is an artsy city of sorts so if you must visit then check this scene out.

Room Tip: Corner suites for sure but be careful if you're allergic to smoke!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiamaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    389
    222
    45
    21
See reviews for
56
198
58
454
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nice, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is a 10min walk from central station. Its rooms would be happy to have a renovation soon, especially the dirty walls. Most annoying was the shower that was either boiling hot or cold and the air condition that blows the smell of food into the rooms. The breakfast is absolutely stunning but in the morning there is not enough seats for everyone to have breakfast so you might have to enjoy it standing at the buffet.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cheftrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Very handy location, only 1 stop to Duesseldorf main station. Ubahn station located right under the hotel. Very clean and big rooms with floor to ceiling windows. Bathrooms with a bath tub. I would recommend hotel breakfast. Huge selection of cold, warm food. Salads, juices, fruits and sweets. The reception stuff (in particular the female stuff member a little unfriendly and not very helpful)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SReam0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
112 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights on a business trip. It's an ok hotel but no more than that. The exterior and the lobby are quite nice so you'd expect a better class of rooms.

The room I stayed in was, again, ok. I did not like the bathroom, it also did not make a thoroughly clean impression. I found the shower and sink sub standard for a 4* hotel.

WiFi is free, if you can live with "speed" slower than a 90's 14.4k dial up connection. I got so tired of waiting 4 minutes for an average web site to load that I bought a 24 hour fast connection for € 9.90 which still only includes 250 MB of data volume per session. Poor.

The bed was ok, I slept fine.

I had a caesar salad in the lobby bar. Not very good. The dressing was very watery so the croutons all softened in a minute. I asked for a beer and got it at least 10 minutes later. Just one guy serving the entire area wasn't enough.

Breakfast was included in my rate and I found it reasonably good. Sufficient choice of items. The service personnel didn't keep up with the crowd. No cups at the coffee machine, no cleaning of tables. It all took a really long time. Also, there weren't overly friendly.

The location is ok. Not a pretty area of the city, but quite convenient to the center of town.

Overall: ok, but not exciting.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank capecoraljay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here for three nights with a friend. My friend had stayed previously and said it was really good value for money. It is a pretty standard hotel to be honest,the rooms are a good size, the beds are comfy, everything is clean and tidy. The bathroom was pretty small but it had everything you needed.

My only issue was that you did pick up quite a lot of noise from the corridors and outside but it is in a fairly quiet part of town so that wasn't really much of an issue overnight. The room was also quite hot and the cooling system really didn't seem to make much difference.

Breakfast is really good and served until a very civilised hour! Location wise, it is right next to the underground which takes you into the Aldstadt (Old Town) in about 5 minutes and it is about a 7 minute walk to the main rail station in Dusseldorf.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and there is a good bar in the lobby which makes an excellent whiskey sour!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pundle66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Styed there during my intial visits to Dusseldorf; its nice neat and clean hotel. 7-8 mins walking distance from main station (not comfortable to walk in case if you have heavy baggage).

Oberbilker Markt/Warschauer Strasse is near to hotel.

Room Tip: if you are walking take the rear entrance from main station
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vilas_shahare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

stayed 1 night for 55 Euros without breakfast. The hotel is very clean and modern. The fitness room had only limited workout facilities and was on the small size. A very good location, right next door to the underground and a single trip is 1euro 50 cents into the Aldstadt. I would recommend this Hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SpanishPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#12 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
#40 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#20 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Melia Duesseldorf
#14 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Duesseldorf City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Duesseldorf City

Property: NH Duesseldorf City
Address: Koelner Str. 186-188 | Oberbilk, D-40227 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#13 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Duesseldorf City 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee, a hotel with bold and exciting architecture and conveniently located in the center of Germany's fashion metropolis. This hotel is a practical place to stay both for business travelers and tourists visiting Dusseldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your NH Duesseldorf City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Duesseldorf City Hotel
Nh Hotels düsseldorf
Nh Dusseldorf City düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing