We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
Ranked #52 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I only ended up in this hotel as the normal corporate chains were booked up or charging exorbitant rates due to my stay overlapping with one of the business fairs.
It's actually a rather lovely hotel with a little bit more personality than I normally get to see. It's in town (a bit of a pain for me, but a benefit for most people not having to travel out the business parks to work).
I got a spotless and large room on the top floor with a balcony running down the edge of the roof. Friendly staff who were genuinely pleasant and helpful. Great breakfast thrown in. Free Wifi - no forms, no codes - it was just there.
Oh - and vending machine on each floor selling beer at a very reasonable €1.5 (if memory serves).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear goldcd,

many thanks for the detailed and fantastic feedback.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the time at Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf.
We are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.

Sunny greetings from Düsseldorf,

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    153
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
50
94
14
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We wanted a hotel within walking distance of the Christmas markets and the Excelsior was just that. We had problems with our flights on both the outbound and homewards journeys and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

We travelled with our two daughters so had a 2 room suite - it was typically European - comfortable but slightly stark on soft furnishings, however it was very quiet (we had a courtyard facing room) and we slept very well.

The restaurant was only open for breakfast which suited us as there were some good restaurants within a short walk. The selection at breakfast was excellent - both cold and hot. There was a hotel bar which again was very comfortable.

Would definately recommend.

Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank FlosFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear FlosFamily,

thank you for the positive feedback.
It was a pleasure to had you staying with us and we are looking forward to welcome you and your family again.

Sunny greetings from Düsseldorf

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Wakering, Essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Our second stay at The Excelsior, Cannot fault anything about it, Special mention for excellent staff and great Breakfast.

Ideal for Museums, shopping and Altstadt.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank petiteetoile47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear petiteetoile47,

thank you for the fantastic feedback.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards

The Hotel Excelsior Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarmouth, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

My wife, daughter and I stayed for 4 nights last week and really enjoyed the hotel. As noted on other reviews, the staff is excellent. They provided many great recommendations and were very helpful with my flight check-in when there was a problem with the airline. Wireless LAN is now free and worked perfectly. We had a suite-style room with 4 beds (although we just reserved a triple). The room was spacious and viewed the courtyard behind the building, so it was quiet. The only noise occurred 3 out of the 4 mornings at about 8:30 - 9:00 in a room above us that was having construction done. We considered it our wake up call and figured it was time to get our jet-lagged a$$es out of bed. Location is good - just a 5-10 minute walk to the Aldstat. The Italian restaurant across the street was very good and there is a subway stop just 2 minutes away. The included breakfast was very good, if not excellent. scrambled eggs, a variety of bacon and sausage, as well as cold breads, cereals, cheeses, cold-cuts, coffee, tea and juice. There didn't seem to be that many guests staying there when we were there, so it was possibly misleadingly quiet, but we enjoyed it very much and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTXMatt22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Dear VTXMatt22,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.
It was great to had you staying with us at Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf.

We are looking forward to welcome you and your family again!

Best regards

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We were in Dusseldorf for a wedding in August. The weather was very hot and the room did not have air conditioning but they did provide a fan. The room was comforable and clean. The breakfasts were included in the price of the room and had a lot of variety. There was cereal, meats, breads fruit and scrambled eggs with bacon or sausage. You can find anything you wanted. Of course there was coffee and tea. The receptionist/desk clerk was very helpful and friendly. There are a lot of stores and resturants within walking distance. There even an ATM.
Our flight out was very early and the staff provided us breakfast even though service for breakfast didn't start until 6am. We would definitely recommend this hotel because of the staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nativecagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear nativcagal,

thank you for the fantastic feedback.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

I had a four-night stay at the Excelsior while attending a conference in Dusseldorf and am happy to give it a good review. I arrived mid-morning after an overnight flight and my room wasn't ready yet, but the front desk clerk asked housekeeping to expedite its cleaning and then invited me to have breakfast while I waited. And in half an hour my room was ready! All of the hotel staff I interacted with during my stay were similarly friendly and professional.

My room was fine -- not plush and luxurious, but certainly very comfortable. High ceilings gave it a spacious feeling and there was also a desk and a large closet. The bathroom was good with plenty of flat surface space for my make-up and toiletries. There were plenty of cable channels on TV including a few English-language channels. The only thing the room didn't have that I really wanted was a full-length mirror.

The breakfast buffet was really nice and included in the room rate. Offerings included cereals, meats, cheeses, breads, fruits, scrambled eggs, and even crepes filled with cream cheese or apples. The servers were very efficient at providing coffee and keeping things restocked.

The location is on a busy street, but the windows are quite soundproof. Luckily the weather was not too warm so I was able to keep the windows closed and get a good night sleep. The underground is only a block away and the city center and main train station are only a couple of stops away. The hotel's immediate neighborhood does have several stores and restaurants within a few blocks as well.

I didn't have the problems with the WiFi that others have mentioned. I did notice that my laptop had a harder time acquiring the signal from the bed than from on the desk, but once it had acquired the signal, it worked from the bed as well.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay at the Excelsior and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollholl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2009

This hotel was our last of our 15-day tour of Germany. The room we had slept 4 of us, with two separate rooms with two beds in each. This is a rarity in Europe. There was also a nice long hallway to the left of the door where we could store our luggage out of the way, which was very nice, and another hallway to the right going to the bathroom. The bathroom had a nice sized tub and shower, towel warmer and toiletry essentials.

There is internet for 4 euros for 24 hours, but it was spotty during our time there. I told this to the man at the front desk at checkout and he took it off our bill, which I appreciated.

The hotel is old and is showing signs of its age but it is very clean. There is no AC, which meant that we had to leave the windows open and it was noisy during the night, which kept my husband awake. The room did have a fan though, which helped.

The breakfast was okay, not the best nor the worst we had.

The ladies working the front desk when we checked in were extremely helpful, but the man working the overnight shift was less than friendly. I told the nice man who took over in the morning about him, and he told me that wasn't the first negative comment about that employee. I guess it's hard to get good help overnight.

In all, this was an okay establishment.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalGirl64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#14 of 237 in Dusseldorf
572 reviews
Melia Duesseldorf
#13 of 237 in Dusseldorf
884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Boutiquehotel Berial
Boutiquehotel Berial
#47 of 237 in Dusseldorf
148 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Dusseldorf - City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Property: Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
Address: Kaiserstr. 20, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home in Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf. The central location allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Dusseldorf can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a spacious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing