We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
Ranked #48 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Waterford, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely hotel”
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I stayed in Excelsior hotel for christmas markets.The hotel was conveninent to centre of city with uban nearby.The staff were very helpful and friendly.We had room with balcony which was perfect as I dont smoke and my friend does.Had a really nice stay here,siobhan ireland

Room Tip: Balcony nice especially if with smoker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siobhan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear siobhan57,

thank you so much for your kind review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and cannot wait to have you back with us. You have been lovely guests! We hope you have a wonderful Christmas time. See you soon!

Warm regards

Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    153
    36
    12
    3
See reviews for
50
94
14
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Our first trip to Dusseldorf, and the Excelsior, but definately not our last. The Hotel was excellent. Immaculate, quiet, comfortable and spacious room with excellent bathroom. The breakfast was amazing, both the choice and the standards of the food. The staff were very professional and friendly and the Hotel was a lovely walk through the nearby parkland to the centre of Dusseldorf and a walk along the riverside to the centre of the old town. Lovely holiday - must be repeated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Dear John O,

your review made our day - thank you very much !!

Become a fan on our facebook page and be informed about our actual and future projects and news.

We hope to see you back soon.

Warm regards

Your Hotel Excelsior Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2011

We have stayed two nights in Excelsior after visiting Messe on 18.10.2011.Super friendly staff with no problems to explain in details what We asked them.Big choices for breakfast hot or cold.Walking distance to Altstadt, Ko, Rheinepromenade, good connections with airport,Messe, etc.Taxi from Hotel Excelsior to Dusseldorf approx 17euros.Clean rooms, good sound isolation, heating working perfectly, hot water always, very nice bar.For sure for my next visit to Dusseldorf I will stay in Hotel Excelsior and will recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 324AlexandarD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear 324AlexandarD,

thank you very much for your lovely feedback. It is a great motivation for me and my colleagues to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Sunny greetings from Düsseldorf

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Perfect location. Within 2 minutes walk of the hotel is the tram station which takes you directly to the exhibition centre and many other city locations. All the staff in the hotel were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was very clean and excellent value for money. Would definately stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Manager at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, October 22, 2011
Dear Hazel C,

thank you so much spending your time to share your experience with us! Such great feedback is definitely a motivation for us to always give our best!

Be sure that you have a “home away from home” when in Düsseldorf!

Warm regards

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

Great value place. There were cheaper places available but this one is literally a walk from the Altstadt area. They didn't mind that we turned up at all hours in the morning and the breakfast being served till 11 was a result!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barryman2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, September 14, 2011
Dear barryman2001,

thank you for the positive feedback. It was a pleasure to had you staying with us!

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind regards

The Hotel Excelsior Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Loved staying here. Large bedrooms were a welcome change to some of the shoe boxes we have stayed in over the last couple of weeks! Staff couldn't do enough for you and always offered a warm welcome. Breakfast was very good. Location is excellent. Only one small block from the nearest metro station and a 5 minute stroll through neighboring gardens and your in the heart of the old city. Quiet room with double glazed windows made for some good sleep ins. Old school motel, with old fashioned 1st class service and all the modern amenities. Don't know if we'll ever be back in Düsseldorf but if we do come back this is the only place we'll stay!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samuelj28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre_Vestert, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Dear Samuelj28,

thank you for the fantastic feedback.
It was great to had you staying with us at Hotel Excelsior Düsseldorf.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards

The Hotel Excelsior Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-0n-Sea
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Have stayed at the Excelsior in Dusseldorf two years running in late Nov/early Dec, Hotel is well located for City Centre and the Altstadt. Travel around Town very easy with more than enough options.

Hotel itself is excellent, bit dated in some rooms but Great Service and defy anybody to critise Staff and Breakfast, both First Class. Nice Bar and good service.

Very clean, plenty Hot water etc

Always be our first choice in a lovely city.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisw48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre2377, Leiter Front Office at Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf, responded to this review, July 13, 2011
Thank you for giving us your feedback.
We are looking forward to welcome you and again.

Best regards

Andre Vestert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#13 of 237 in Dusseldorf
570 reviews
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#11 of 237 in Dusseldorf
885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Melia Duesseldorf
#12 of 237 in Dusseldorf
883 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Boutiquehotel Berial
Boutiquehotel Berial
#47 of 237 in Dusseldorf
148 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Holiday Inn Express Dusseldorf - City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf

Property: Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf
Address: Kaiserstr. 20, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#17 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome home in Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf. The central location allows both the business and the leisure travelers all the targets in Dusseldorf can be reached quickly and easily. The Novum Hotel Excelsior Dusseldorf is comfortable and contemporary in design. Functional rooms in different categories, free Wi-Fi and an extensive breakfast buffet await every visitor in a spacious hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Excelsior Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing