We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What we needed” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center
Ranked #37 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What we needed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Great hotel and so close to everything. We did not eat at the hotel therefore can not give it a 5 star rating. Room was spacious and clean. All staff we encountered were very helpful and I would return here if I went back to dusseldorf.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cristiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alarik W, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Leonardo Hotel Düsseldorf City Center guest,
thank you for sharing your experience in our property with us.
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Duesseldorf.
Hopefully we will welcome you soon again!

Best regards

Natalie E. Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    170
    76
    17
    13
See reviews for
24
64
39
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two night, reading through other reviews was bit scared but contrary it was to me totally other way round.
For 59€/Night this is a steal.
Though the building from outside looks a little run run down but interiors are comfy and oK
Pluses
- Fully functional Whirlpool and Sauna
- Free Wi Fi and Welcome drink (upon joining Advantage club)
- Rooms with a automatic iron machine
- Ensure with Bath tub( similarly prices hotels just have shiwer enclosure)
- Vending machine in hotel premises ( ground floor near reception)
Minuses
- location is on back side of HBF (though just 5mins walk; for everything one has to go to HBF
I will definitely recommend this hotel to one and all for superb value for money and very decent Sauna/Whirlpool

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sid G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alarik W, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Leonardo Hotel Düsseldorf City Center guest,
thank you for sharing your experience in our property with us.
We are very glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in Duesseldorf.
Hopefully we will welcome you soon again!

Best regards

Natalie E. Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I'll start with the most egregious thing about this "business hotel": they charge for internet. Not only that but they charge exorbitant rates - a full 14euro for 24 hours.

This may have been defensible in the 80s, but any hotel that claims to be a "business hotel" and doesn't understand internet is as essential as an indoor toilet nowadays is ridiculously out of touch with the times.

To be fair, the hotels website does not claim that internet is free of charge, but a hotel representative responded to our email inquiry saying that internet was free provided you sign up for the loyalty program. What she failed to mention was that this is only valid on your second stay.

With this level of competence on the part of the back office team and lack of basic amenities, the gym, sauna or restaurant would have to be pretty stellar to compensate. Alas everything is blandly regular.

Basically, the total cost of your stay here will be so much higher than the sticker price (not even the water is free), that it amounts to deceptive advertising. That the hotel proudly claims to be remodelling and modernising while failing to provide broadband is either sad or funny.

There are a bunch of much better and much better priced alternatives within walking distance. I strongly encourage you to go somewhere else. There are better stays for a third of what the Leonardo charges- and that's just the upfront charge!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank voyageurimprudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alarik W, Leiter Front Office at Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
thank's a lot for your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We have noticed your comments concerning our Internet connection and we will handle it with care.
Kind regards
Leonardo Hotel Düsseldorf City Center
Natalie E. Williams
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

I was here for one night because of a client booking. Its not the sort of hotel I'd have chosen, but it was inexpensive, clean and I had a good nights sleep. Its a little tired in appearance, but the visit was for one night, so I cannot complain.

The breakfast was not very good, everything felt really mass produced, instant scrambled eggs, coffee in a pot on the tables that sat there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 8338y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alarik W, Manager at Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Hotel Guest,
thank's a lot for your comments about your stay in our hotel.
We have noticed your comments concerning our breakfast and we will handle it with care.
Kind regards
Leonardo Hotel Düsseldorf City Center
Marianne Pirkhammer
Assist.General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I was here on a business trip recently and was *forced* to stay in this hotel for 1 week due to lack of availability in other hotel.

The reception staff were unfriendly, the room was very small and run down, the cost for the room was ridiculous, over €200 for a night, the price for internet was extortionate.

For an hotel to claim to be four star and not provide free WIFI is unacceptable.

The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful.
The breakfast was ok, with limited choice although the food was nicely cooked.

The best thing I can say about this hotel is there is an Ibis across the road. I would advise checking out of the Leonardo and going over there for a decent hotel.

At least the hotel is within easy walking distance of the train station so moving to other hotels is easy.

Room Tip: Try to chose a room in another hotel. I would suggest the Ibis directly across the road from it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kakaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel for business. Rooms are clean and enjoyable and you are going to sleep well. Breakfast is under average, very poor organization, no juices after 7.00 (since 6.30), no teaspoons except the one at your table, no brioches, not enough milk on the table (half cup for 2 people), the waitress takes your plates after 5 seconds you finished, kind of stressful. Checkout was hilarious. I gave my room number and also spelled it, the guy repeated it. After having paid I look at the receipt and it's for someone else, clearly not me (arabic), the room is 3 numbers from mine, he clearly clicked on the wrong line but states there was "a misunderstanding"... ok. My colleague had his receipt printed 3 times before the address was correct.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctrlbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014

I have been stolen at lobby when checking in. The thief took my backpack with notebook, passport and other values inside while sorrounded by people and many employees without any of them to take care or realize. After they checked the fact on their camera records they just washed their hands with a simple we are not responsible for. They didn't help me with the Police to make the Statement and address me to some Police Station where nobody speak English. Is that true the Hotel is not responsible in this type of augly events?...at least some compensation should be offer. Thanks!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dusseldorf
Savoy Hotel
#17 of 262 in Cologne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
Altstadt-Süd
Mauritius Hotel & Therme
Mauritius Hotel & Therme
#123 of 262 in Cologne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 250 reviews
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center

Property: Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center
Address: Ludwig Erhard Allee 3, 40227 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Dusseldorf City Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Duesseldorf Hotel
Holiday Inn düsseldorf
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing