We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Restaurant , poor room,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Dusseldorf City West
Ranked #41 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed February 4, 2010

Stayed here with colleagues. Post check in ,we ate in the restaurant which provided excellent steaks, with pleasant service. Bar was a relaxed atmosphere.
Regrettablly 2 of us were given, ( not asked !) smoking rooms.
I attempted to take a shower to find that there were no towles in the room. ! Reception staff rectified this.
Hi speed internet was provided at a cost in my room.
The whole stay was ruined by the fact that the smell of cigarettes was strong. At 1 am I saw why...the carpet was covered in ash from a previos guests stay !
Needless to say very disappointed and spoke about this when I checked out. It was noted but that was all !
Ruined my stay in what looked to be a nice hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank extracover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 635 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2009

Highly recommend this hotel. Stayed for a long weekend recently. The hotel is located out of town in a business area which was quiet, but close to trams taking you into the city. There is a supermarket and cafe's about a 5-10 minute walk from the hotel.

The reception staff were extremely professional, spoke perfect English and helped with a wide range of requests. The room was large, clean, quiet and at a good temperature. The whole hotel is very quiet and I slept like a log.

We ate in the hotel restaurant on the first day and the food was absolutely fantastic. Their menu is interesting in that you can mix and match. Again, service was excellent.

We walked into Dusseldorf, which took about 50 minutes and is very easy. The town itself is lovely (much better in my opinion than the more touristy Cologne), albeit small, but dozens of eating places, great market and lots of shops.

Overall highly recommended, Apparently the hotel won an award from Expedia as being in top 1% of hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meanioni999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Friendly staff , close to city center .
best buffet breakfasts .
the rooms very clean and wide .

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AboMohammeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2009

Stayed here at the Novotel at the end of July 2009, and it was one of the best hotels I had stayed in. The service from the staff was excellent, all could speak English. The rooms were extremely spacious, I had a single room which came with a double bed and a sofa / sofa bed. The bed was comfy with two pillows however there was a spare pillow in the cupboard aswell as an extra duvet.
Facilities in the room include an HD ready Philips Ambilight TV which had BBC News on, tea / coffee making facilities, safe, minibar / fridge, writing space / desk, shower, bath, WC etc...
One little touch which I stumbled upon was when you have the TV on, it connects to a speaker in the toilet, so in case you get caught in the moment you'll never miss what's happening on TV. BRILLIANT!!

The food in the restaurant was excellent.
I was staying on a HB basis which normally is unusual for overnight hotels, but the food was of high quality. Starter course was carrot and corriander soup. Main course was Chicken breast, with Med roasted veg and potato rosties. For desert came Tiramisu Cake with fruit decoration and a small helping of vanilla cream.

My only moan about the hotel is the price of the drinks and here is a tip for you, if you ask for a Vodka and Coke, just make sure they actually put the two drinks together, if not you shall be charged separately. For example a Vodka and a Coke cost €9.90 (OUCH!!!)
Where as if they are together it is €6.
This is sometimes just a genuine communication barrier as I'm not sure if the staff knew about a Vodka and Coke together as a drink. Hmmm or maybe it was just how I asked for it.

Alot of people mention the WIFI which IS expensive at the hotel, but what I did was sign up to T-Mobile hotspot as this is available at the hotel aswell as their own WIFI, and got 30 days WIFI internet access for €29.

Anyway another addition is the location, which perhaps isn't the best, but let's not forget it's an outer city hotel close to major businesses. There is however, a Subway Sandwich outlet around the corner and also the tram stop is adjacent to Subway so you can get on that to the city centre, which is reasonable.

All in all though I would not hesitate to return and would highly reccommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

The hotel was a standard business hotel in decoration and service. Breakfast was very good and diverse. The room and bathroom were spacious and clean. The bed was firm, and the pillows were hard and lumpy. The front-desk staff was young and courteous, standard for 4 star business hotels, but not in any particular way heartwarming. Wireless was ridiculously expensive (~25 Euros per night). Disappointing for a business hotel was also the fact that they only had one computer available for public use, nevertheless it was at least free. For the location and for a business purpose, it was adequate. I would not recommend any tourist visiting the city to stay here, yet if you have business nearby it is a good option.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MapleLievie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Good hotel. Nice room. The shower was fantastic - really strong and powerful - one of the best showers I've had for a long time.

The food in the restaurant was good quality and reasonably priced too for a hotel restaurant.

The wi-fi is NOT free but the easiest thing to do is just walk 30m around the corner to Subway where the wi-fi IS free and is open until 22:00! Just buy yourself a tea/coffee and enjoy the free wi-fi!!!!!! Wi-fi costs in the hotel was 4 euro for 1 hour and 25 euro for 24 hours.

There is a tram/ubahn stop also just around the corner (Am Seestern) but it doesn't run all that frequently from the city, so best just to get the tram/ubahn to Prinzenalle and walk 5 mins to the hotel. Trams leave Prinzenalle station into the city about every 15 minutes and the same coming back. You only need to get a zone/area 1 ticket. The best thing to do is buy a pass from the machine in the city for 4 tickets. That costs 7.70 euro, or it's only 2.20 euro for each trip, so it's only a saving of 1.10 euro.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nickster99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2008

Excellent hotel, albeit a little hard to find without a GPS.

When my wife and I went for a walk around the neighbourhood at night, we ran into 3 ladies, who were looking for the hotel and walking on the wrong street :)

Breakfast is spectacular - one of the best buffet breakfasts I've had worldwide.

Very close to the centre of the city, the Aldstadt (old city) - maybe a 10 minute drive at most.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
2.2 mi away
INNSIDE by Melia Dusseldorf Derendorf
2.9 mi away
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Nord
0.1 mi away
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Seestern
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#10 of 240 in Dusseldorf
948 reviews
3.3 mi away
NH Duesseldorf City
NH Duesseldorf City
#28 of 240 in Dusseldorf
979 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
#22 of 240 in Dusseldorf
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Dusseldorf City West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Dusseldorf City West

Address: Niederkasseler Lohweg 179, 40547 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#41 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $61 - $164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Dusseldorf City West 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Dusseldorf City West is located in the Seestern business centre, 4 km from the city centre and 6 km from the airport and exhibition centre. 232 rooms, 11 multifunctional conference rooms, a fitness centre with sauna and steam bath as well as our restaurant with terrace invite you to enjoy your stay at our 4 star hotel. Business and leisure travellers appreciate the transport connections to the Old Town and motorway plus the free airport shuttle in the morning and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Dusseldorf City West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Dusseldorf City West Hotel
Novotel Hotel düsseldorf
Accor Duesseldorf City West
düsseldorf Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing