We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not value for money” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf
Ranked #217 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not value for money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Hotel staff was very friendly being a family run hotel. Location was so so. Breakfast here is very simple, food is not bad but looks like very microwaved.hotels need keys in which u have to keep at reception when u go out.
The bad bad bad things: heater doesn't work, the room is ice cold! When u complain, they always say "will fix in 2 hrs". But it has always been like this for the 4 days i am here. The bed looks like it's going to collapse anytime. Tv is horribly small. This hotel really is worst than a motel! They call it 2-star, but get this...THE PRICE IS EURO450 per night!!!! So ridiculous! In beginning they tell u is cheap, then for extensions, they double it! I had no choice coz the other hotels are fully booked. I won't recommend this hotel coz u'd be better off in a five star away from town.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesleong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    4
    4
    22
See reviews for
1
2
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed here in an emergency when all other hotels were full during a trade fair. I had a tiny single room with faded paint, old furniture and a thin curtain. The public areas and corridors are a rabbit warren and feel dirty but to be fair it was cleaner than it looked. Breakfast was bearly adequate. They charged nearly EUR 200 when EUR 20 would have been fairer, but even backpackers would not be impressed. No reason to come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ps888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
174 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

In town for a major industrial exhibition, no other hotels, paid alot to stay here. Obscure location, stuff smoky, lobby, rundown property. 8 eros for breakfast, we'll get to it in a minute. Had to pay for the room upfront, thats a first but I think I know why, satisfaction is not guaranteed!

First impression, scary, youth hostel? Slum? Elevator, enough to accomodate one person and a piece of luggage barely. Narrow hallways to the room..

The room:) Crammed quarters with queen size bed, no air conditioning, had to leave the balcony door open. The balcony with view of other buildings with access to a fire escape. Thought I was in New York City! Clean bathroom, very basic with a tub and shower. Cracked the window, two beer bottles sitting on the ledge.

Breakfast....an imitation European breakfast, few items, terrible presentation. Coffee was luke warm.

As I said, this is a desperation accomodation when there are no other choices.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph Clyde D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2010

What a nightmare when left stranded in Dusseldorf at 11 pm during the Icelandic volcano eruption. We were given this hotel's number by an assistant at the airport information desk. The only room left was a single room but hotel put a foldaway bed in the room so that my husband and I could share. We paid 65euro for the room but were told it would have cost 200 euro the week before. This hotel is diabolic, walls paper thin, we heard the guy in the next room throw up all night and then call his pal on his mobile. The hotel was full of single guys and the only couples were ones stranded like ourselves. Everything is dated, grubby, cheap, I could go on and on. It was more like a youth hostel. The only positive side were the night reception staff who were very friendly. We were so lucky to leave the next day when we found a lovely hotel (Hotel Kurten) just minutes walk away, we spend the next 4 nights there. Back home after 5 days in Dusseldorf - won't be back ever.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UkBaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2008

Stayed here one night and won't come within 100 meters of the place again. A big event in Dusseldorf meant all hotels were full and this was all we could find. I would rather sleep in the airport on a bench!

Tired, dirty, no desk or phone in the room. Internet only in the lobby. The thinnest curtains I have ever seen letting all light in from the street. Most fixtures in the bathroom broken including a shower door that wouldn't slide.

This is the sort of place that school tours come to because any damage the kids do to it won't show!

The worst of it is that I paid nearly 200 euro for the privilege.

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — The grime
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hibit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Bilk
No photo provided
Hotel Adler
#151 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Bilk
Hotel Karolinger
Hotel Karolinger
#158 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Novum Hotel Flora
#105 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Elbroich Garni
#116 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Beyer
Hotel Beyer
#176 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Bilk
Astra Hotel Dusseldorf
Astra Hotel Dusseldorf
#90 of 236 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf

Property: Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf
Address: Brunnenstr. 20, 40223 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Bilk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Metropol Hotel Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing