We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite good food, friendly but erratic service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Bouchon

Le Bouchon
Ranked #196 of 1,774 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Quite good food, friendly but erratic service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had heard or read quite good feed-backs from this place and we went there for dinner on February 14th.
The place is quite pleasant and friendly staff is welcoming you.
We were disappointed by the choice of wines... limited, and the ones I wanted to order were not available... To keep it simple we sticked to the suggested wines by the glass for starter and main.
For a place supposed to serve fine and tasty food, they should as well serve tasty bread.
We had to wait a bit too long to enjoy the cocktail snack... a bit more that a snack in fact and with too much yoghurt.
Some signs of the erratic service: not everyone is receiving butter... and table-cloth are obviously not changed between clients... (not for us, but we could observe it next table)
We had turbot as a main course, it was well cooked and excellent.
Dessert was acceptable. Followed by some waiting time for coffee and the bill.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CosmopolitanFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    17
    6
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
214 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Been here twice, and had a lovely meal on both occasions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have been here twice with my boyfriend and his parents, both times we had a lovely meal. Today I had the rabbit and it was fabulous. It was perfectly cooked and the presentation was beautiful. The prices are decent for the food they serve, the waiters are lovely and always recommend a good wine to go with your food and the restaurant has a very homely feel to it. Perfect place for a family relaxed meal.

And if you grew up in Belgium or in France you will recognise the Napoleon sweets that they give when you ask for the bill. :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LuisaFernanda89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Silvester Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We made reservations for Silvester based on the positive Tripadvisor reviews. The menu also looked delicious and with some surprising ingredients even though being predominantly French. As an amuse we had a chestnut-mushroom tart with butter bouillon, as starter foie gras opera with coffee cappuccino (very nice) and served with cocoa nibs! As a main we had a nice tenderloin served with beetroot-topinambur puree which was also delicious. On a regular evening I would give Le Bouchon a triple A rating, but given the fact that it was Silvester, we expected the same bespoke and high quality service and food offering and a bit more. Service was friendly, but inconsistent. E.g no bread basket was offered, next course was served while empty plates of the previous dish were still on the table.
Overall prive quality was ok.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheCulinistBlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific meal, and stylish interior”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Went to la bouchon on a hope, that it would bring something of a brasserie feel to our trip to Dusseldorf, and I was not disapointed. The staff there is very friendly, and believes in making their food a tasty treat for the customers. We enjoyed a menu of the day, consisting of soups, fish and desserts, and all dishes were well prepared and plentifull for a lunch (nothing fancy, but tasty and quality, is the key word here). The wine list was a bit limited after my tastes, but there was an adequate amount of wine to make most people happy, and in reality nobody paid it any mind. It is a bit off the beaten path, but this is not a disadvantage if you are looking for a private time with customers or others on your trip to Dusseldorf.
I will go again next time im in the neigbourhood.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Havdruptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf
Level Contributor
179 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great food, nice staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This restaurant has a very cozy atmosphere and the food is outstanding! The staff is friendly and well-trained regarding food and corresponding wines.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mendack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bouchon also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Le Bouchon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing