We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Batavia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Batavia Hotel
Ranked #57 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Does what it says on the tin”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Basic rooms (clean) staff were friendly and helpful. It advertises parking facilities but there is just one garage big enough for one car. Breakfast is buffet so should be something for everyone. Our room was very reasonably priced and got what we paid for really. Don't expect the ritz but I would stay again if I wanted a cheap trip :-)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flintshire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    101
    37
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
60
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Hotel Batavia is in an ideal location, 5 mins from Konigsallee & 15 mins from the Old Town. The hotel is spotlessly clean and the staff are extremely helpful. We asked for extra pillows & got them immediately, no fuss! Free beverage making facilities next to reception or you can ask for a kettle for the room. Breakfast far exceeded expectations, hot food & huge selection of breads, cakes, cereals, yogurts, meats & cheeses etc! Our room faced the back of the hotel and was very quiet. I thoroughly recommend this hotel, it cannot be faulted! Can't wait to go back now!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the back as the hotel is in the middle of a lively city
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton on trent
Level Contributor
114 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

hi the hotel batavia is a great value hotel nothing fantastic but perfect for a city break,we went with friends for 2 nights in november and our rooms were very good comfy beds,flatscreen tv with bbc,spotlessly clean and very quiet,the staff on reception were very friendly and helpful with very good english,there are no tea making facilities in the room but as soon as the guy on the desk saw us making a drink with the supplies and kettle in reception he immediatly found a kettle for each room,breakfast buffet was excellent and very good value it set you up for the day,hotel location is very good and central the train station is a 10 minute walk one way and the konigsallee the top shoppling st 10 minutes in the opposite direction,the old town with all its bars and restaurants is at most twenty minutes walk,the only downside to the hotel is it says it has a bar but its more an extension of the reception desk not a place you would take a drink,just around the corner is the schmacher alt a brewery pub where you will find great beer and traditional german food with a lovely atmosphere we were in on a wednesday and thursday in november and it was packed

Room Tip: my room was at the back and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank carlosjoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ketchum, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I spend a lot of time in Asia, so I love that this hotel is in the Asian district. I have access to all my favorite Asian dishes and still have easy access to the train routes. The staff is the most accommodating of any hotel I have ever been to. I am here every other year for exhibits at the messe and will alway stay here.

Room Tip: The lift is small. Plan on walking down the stairs and riding the lift up to save time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It was hard to find an inexpensive hotel in Dusseldorf, and I must admit as I was rolling my suitcase along to the hotel I was a little anxious what my 53Euros a night was going to give me.
The walk from the main railway station was very straight forward - only takes 10 mins. On arrival, Stella at the reception desk greeted me with the brightest smile - very friendly and helpful; and every time she saw me called me by my name! The staff speak English, German and Chinese (Cantonese I think).
The lobby has an Asian influenced decor, and although the lift is old fashioned, and the landing to my room was somewhat dated, once you get into your room you feel like you are in a more modern hotel. The room was quite spacious and airy. The room had a safe, a TV with 50+ channels, spare blanket in cupboard, coat racks, free wifi, mugs, bottle opener and a small bar fridge. Tea and coffee making facilities available in the lobby (but a jug, tea/coffee are available to be taken up to your room if more convenient). A computer, giving free internet access, is also available in the lobby. Secure access to hotel in evenings.
My room was facing the street, but it was very quiet - not much traffic; also there was a door between the bedroom and the door to the corridor, thus you can shut out any corridor noise.
Breakfast is an extra 7Euro - selection of cereals, cheeses, cold meats etc - and small selection of fruit.
Convenient location - famous Koenigsallee just a 10 mins walk away; harbour and Rheinturm 20 mins walk (or an easy no. 709 tram ride). Several restaurants just across the road and next door.
Hard to fault this little hotel really; and it is great value for money. As a solo female traveller I felt very safe staying at ths hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellingschel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel wasn't bad, just very outdated and in desperate need of some renovation. The room was ok, the breakfast was ok, location was ok. But just that: ok. Nothing special, nice or remarkable about it. Not a hotel you want to stay in for longer than you have to.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senec, Slovakia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012 on Business. Chain hotels were asking for €150 per night, I paid €230 for 3 nights with breakfast.
Good location, less than 20 mins walk to the River and old town, close to the station also trams just a couple of minutes walk away. There are bars each side of the hotel and also a great Thai restaurant 50 metres away. Nice reception, clean room, everything working fine (shower etc), Free Wifi was slow sometimes in the evenings but it worked fine for email. Good breakfast.
Will stay here again on my next trip, great value, location and service.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are not noisy (no trams to worry about).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
BURNS Art Hotel
#74 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#20 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Lindenhof Hotel
#64 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Max Hotel Garni
Max Hotel Garni
#22 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Stadt Munchen
Hotel Stadt Munchen
#48 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Batavia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batavia Hotel

Property: Batavia Hotel
Address: Bahnstr. 61, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Batavia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Batavia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batavia Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing