We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Up to Marriott standard but location so so for tourists”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen
Ranked #49 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed December 5, 2010

Spent one night while visiting friends. When in doubt I go for Marriott properties, and I wasn't disappointed. Clean rooms and friendly staff. Substantial continental breakfast. It appeared there was ample parking across the street. One caution is to avoid a room with a door to a connecting room. Could hear my neighbor coughing most of the night, and the smell of smoke (despite being non-smoking hotel) seeped into my room.

We arrived in the evening so couldn't see much, but overall impression is that it's not a tourist-friendly area. Lots of office buildings, a Frank Gehry building was near by and saw some clubs.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lhansen80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 425 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Just had 3 nights here.
Good points
Great location over looking the Rhine; staff very helpful, clean & spacious room.

Bad points
Noisy at times due to building works around, patchy service of an evening, mediocre food, most of it bland e.g. Pasta arrabbiata should be spicy, this wasn't.
Biggest complaint was 22 Euro for 24 hours WiFi charge which is the highest I've ever paid in Europe & also the process is very bureaucratic, sometimes taking 20+ minutes for an authentication. This would mean I couldn't recommend it!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr7v8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

First thing is the staff are excellent and the location of the hotel is great in that it is next to the rhine in a lovely location.
one thing to be aware of is if you have to pay the 18 euro for breakfast, DONT!! it's just not worth it, the staff at breakfast are great and the it is a clean and pleasant area. however i dont think it's worth 18 euro.
The walk to the old town form this hotel is very easy and not that long, also there are a few bars along the way to spend some time at.

My advice, GO!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mugen338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2010

I always stay in Courtyard hotels for work and I used 10,000 Marriott points to stay one night here which was a great rate for redeeming points. Typical Courtyard hotel up to spec. Spotless rooms and bathrooms and comfortable bed are all I need and this hotel provided that. Car park is 18 EUR per night, but that's to be expected in Germany in a business hotel. The location is in Düsseldorf's Mediahafen district which is mostly new buildings with offices, restaurants, bars, and some retail. It's good for a night out, but if you want to go shopping, you need to stay near the Königsallee ("the Kö" if you're a local). The Altstadt also has some nicer places to hang out. I would stay here again though.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetset83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I stayed with my boyfriend and we were happy with our room. We had friends staying on the same floor who were also happy and we could all meet in the bar before heading out. The location near the harbour (Hafen) is good for funky bars, but it's cheaper and prettier to head in to the old town. You can walk, but it's about 20minutes, or you can jump on a nearby tram.
This is a good hotel, with great facilities, but ifyou want to be in the heart of the city it's not the one for you.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2009

This is a lovely clean hotel with great service. The location is a bit 'up and coming' but it is right on the Rhine and there are plenty of places to eat a drink nearby. The nesrby Riva bar is modern and trendy for drinks or coffees. We also ate at The Taj Mahaal in the city centre which was brilliant.

The city centre is a 25 min stroll along the bank of the river, or about 8euro by taxi. The airport is 22 euro by cab, and the station about 10 euro.

The hotel is spotless. The staff are warm and friendly and the rooms are spaciouus. There is plenty of TV channels to chose and a fridge in the room. You can buy stuff in the lobby to put in the fridge, or bring in your own.

The breakfast is great with loads of choice, and served till 11am at weekends. It's pricey at 18 euro a head so it's well worth getting a deal where it's included.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneGNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights last year while visiting the Christmas markets in Essen and Dusseldorf.
Room was available at 11:00 am after an early flight into Dusseldorf Weeze airport.
There is a tram stop about 300M from the hotel which brings you to the main railway station. From there you can get the underground to the Altstadt, station Heinrich Heine Allee.
You can get a day ticket which is much cheaper than paying for each journey.
There are plenty of cafes, restaurants and bars in this up and coming area beside the hotel.
Taxi to the city centre costs about €12.
Room was very comfortable, bathroom spacious.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
#20 of 240 in Dusseldorf
758 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 240 in Dusseldorf
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen

Address: Speditionstrasse 11, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $70 - $403 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful harbour views and modern accommodations at Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen. Our hotel in Duesseldorf, Germany delights with a great waterfront location in the city center steps from the Rhine, and it features well-appointed rooms with plenty of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen Hotel
Courtyard Hotel Dusseldorf Hafen
Courtyard Hotel düsseldorf
Courtyard Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing