We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay at the Courtyard Dusseldorf Hafen”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen
Ranked #49 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed September 3, 2009

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the Courtyard in the Hafen area of Dusseldorf recently for 7 nights. We had a great stay and enjoyed our time there. The rooms are very good sized compared to most European hotel rooms. The bathroom was a decent size. Not very big, but not too small either. There was a mini fridge in the room, which was a nice way to keep beverages and small snacks available for us.

The rooms were very well sound-proofed and extremely quiet. We never had an issue with outside noise or any sounds in the hallways.

The hotel is in a location that is a bit out of the city center, but is within a very reasonable walking distance to Altstadt. There is a walking bridge over the water and then a walkway along the river and through a park area. It is very safe for walking any time of the day or night and we took advantage of the great weather on most days and walked everywhere. If you don't want to walk there is a cab area right down the street and most cabs into the city cost about 7-8 euros.

Almost all of the staff were very friendly and accomodating. Most spoke very good English and were helpful when we tried to speak in German. We encountered only one staff person who was a bit aloof and not as helpful, but I believe he was the exception and not the rule.

If you are looking for a reasonably priced hotel in a nice area of town, but not necessarily in downtown Dusseldort, this is a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

230 - 236 of 443 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2009

This hotel is very nicely appointed with western style conveniences. Everything was very modern. Staff was very helpful; rooms and lobby/restaurant were spotlessly clean; Problem is that it is 1) hard to find, 2) in an area of vast construction, 3) not convenient to anything one would want to see in Dusseldorf. The Old Town area is a 20-30 minute walk, and there is nothing particularly scenic to see during that walk. Walking along the Rhine, is the stadium, and some very avant garde bridges. The main shopping street is a 40 minute walk. Internet access is costly at 3 Euros per hour with the purchase of a 6 hour access card.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Flaesb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2009

We booked on the marriot website after reading some of the reviews. The hotel was perfect for what we wanted. Quiet location and walk into city for xmas markets. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and front desk keen to show us on the map they provided where to find the markets. We booked room only so did enjoy the coffee/chocolate/tea and cereal bars laid on in reception for guests. Taxi into city and to rail station about 10 euro's. Good 15 minute walk and probably really enjoyable walk in spring/summer along the river/harbour area.. Bracing in winter though!! Good restaurants around and easy to find a coffee stop if you walk in the right direction. Room was immaculate with the enormous marriot double beds-really comfy too. Quiet location overlooking harbour so sleep guaranteed. Used Julian's restaurant , nice location and got a good meal although thought the wine was overpriced. Staff friendly and helpful whether it was a meal or just a hot chocolate in the afternoon. Nice relaxed hotel and would recommend the hotel and Dusseldorf. Great restaurants and really hearty food.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cdocDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2008

November 17, 2008 – I had the opportunity to spend one night at the Marriott Courtyard Hafen Hotel in Dusseldorf Germany before the rates went up the next day due to the Medica trade fair. My rate was 130 Euros which included breakfast.

The hotel is located on a pier with water directly behind the hotel and more water across the street on the front-side of the hotel. The morning after I arrived I walked the neighborhood. It seemed like a newer upscale area with many restaurants and even a Starbucks.

Check in was “Marriott fast,” taking about one minute. I received a king room as guaranteed. My room looked out directly on the building next door with no desirable view. The room was comfortable, but not quite up to Courtyard standards in the U.S. in terms of size, décor, and amenities. The king bed was very comfortable. Lighting in the room was excellent.

The bathroom was small, but well equipped and very functional. The water pressure in the shower was very high. The towels and bath amenities were high quality.

I paid to park under the hotel. Parking was, in my opinion, expensive at 18 Euros per night. It was convenient and secure with a key-card entrance into the hotel. There is outdoor parking across the street, but I arrived late and did not see any way to get into the lot.

One of the reasons I chose the Courtyard was that I expected free internet access. There is nothing in the hotel description on Marriott’s web site to indicate that internet service is not free as it is at every other Courtyard that I have stayed in. I thought it was overly expensive at 24 Euros (about 29 dollars) per day. Besides being expensive, the service was not particularly fast. The very high cost for internet service would probably prevent me from returning to this hotel even though all other aspects were great.

Breakfast was included in my room rate and the breakfast was excellent. There was a huge buffet with both hot and cold items, but cooked to order dishes were also included. I had eggs with bacon and toast and a bunch of stuff from the buffet. The service was excellent and very friendly. The restaurant, Jilian’s, is in the back of the hotel and overlooks the canal.

The service that I experienced at the hotel was excellent. I ordered room service for dinner. My meal with a glass of wine arrived within about 15 minutes and the quality of the food was very good. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. When I checked out they asked me where I was going and took the extra initiative to make sure I knew how to drive to the Messe by the most direct route.

I recommend the Courtyard Hafen, but if you need to park and use the internet in your room it will add 42 Euros per night to the regular room rate. Service was excellent and the hotel was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LakersFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

I stayed there during a convention in the city , Overall the Hotel was good and is better then any avarage european hotel , Normal Size rooms and Decent bathrooms which in Europe is a big plus , The lobby was recently updated and looks fresh , Only complaint that I have is that I was put in room # 916 and its a smoking room, since they didnt have any non smoking availbale , and it was terriable my clothes still smell from the smoke even after being washed , But cant complain for $75.00 a night you cant expect more in europe these days , and the hotel is like 10 Minutes from the airport and its far from the center , if you have a rented car with a gps then this is fine ,

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tzipiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2008

Everything from beginning to end was top notch here: Waterview Room with Marriott Bed (without pillow top mattress, though), great breakfast buffet, lobby fruit and cereal bar buffet 24/7 and more than nice and helpful staff. Location is a little far off (15-20 min. walk from Old Town and High Streets or 5-10 min. by bus/tram), but this is made up by the peace and quiet and nice views towards Duesseldorf's Media Harbour and proximity to its numerous pubs, night clubs and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2008

This is THE hotel to stay in here in Düsseldorf. Its clean, the staff is super attentive, and the place is quiet. Its located on the harbor which has stunning architecture. Its a bit away from the town center, about a 15 minute walk, but well worth it. It was also the least expensive hotel I priced with the most amenities.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cubanito1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
#22 of 240 in Dusseldorf
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 240 in Dusseldorf
1,370 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen

Address: Speditionstrasse 11, 40221 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $73 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful harbour views and modern accommodations at Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen. Our hotel in Duesseldorf, Germany delights with a great waterfront location in the city center steps from the Rhine, and it features well-appointed rooms with plenty of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen Hotel
Courtyard Hotel Dusseldorf Hafen
Courtyard Hotel düsseldorf
Courtyard Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing