We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen
Ranked #49 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I was a little dissapointed with the Hotel, The rate is not low and I dont think this Hotel has even Marriott Courtyard standards. The room is ok but again thats it. AC is very loud, gym is very small and reception staff is average as best. Also the Hotel is at least 10 minutes out ny taxi from Dusseldorf. Lastly I should inform my Marriott Gold Card collegues that there is nothing here that would reflect your status. Nu upgrade, No free drink, No free Wifi and No Breakfast included.

Room Tip: Room in the front of Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stalenbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (447)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 447 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2011

We had 2 more free nights (MR) and wanted to visit a Christmas Market so we picked this hotel. I can confirm what other reviewers already mentioned, this indeed is an old hotel. The rooms are not that big and the bathroom feels a bit retro. Shower and sink faucet are in perfect shape (looked quite new in our room) and the TV is a big plasma screen. Besides the outdated look of the room you receive a room that is OK.
We got a courtyard view room, a fancy name for something that means nothing. There really is no view except an ugly building. I would have been disappointed if it were not that this was a free stay.

We had a cup of thee on our arrival night. Thee bags weren't replaced the next day. I can't say many things about the service, this was a small minus. On our arrival the check-in was really friendly and helpful.

We used the on-site parking. There're only 13 places so it's first come first serve basis. (this is an underground garage, 18EUR) There is also off-site parking (open air) across the street. Also for a fee, (13,2EUR) which is less than the on-site parking. The places in the underground garage are not big but I've never seen a car park in a city where that was the case. You have a direct entry to the hotel so this was pretty easy.

From the hotel to the city center (and old town) is a 20 minute stroll. You walk through the ultramodern 'hafen' quarter which is nice, the Rheinturm, the Yacht harbor and further on along the Rhine. It's a nice walk.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Country_hopper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Have visited the hotel twice over the next two weeks. The hotel is a bit old and needs updating. Also the park garage is very unpractical. There probably are better alternatives than this hotel. The food in the restaurant is average but service is good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Nice hotel with great view over the river.Breakfast is great and the environment, having breakfast by the river was excellent. Great location and there are plenty of nice restaurants nearby within walking distance.

Room Tip: Choose the room with river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IcebergMelting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Hi,

stayed here for business just for a week.

the location is deccent but noted its a bit out of the way.

its walking distance to the main area and is easy to find as if you get lost, you can go towards the massive tower and then its 10 mins walk from there.

the restaurant and bar is very good- with great food.

rooms are of good standard with a comfy bed.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mistry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

During my time working in Dusseldorf I have stayed at the hotel on numerous occasions. The hotel is situated in the Hafen which is about a 20 minute stroll from the old town which has some great restaurants to try.
The hotel is everything you would expect from a Marriott with very comfortable beds kept to a good standard and the TV has lots of English channels (BBC, ITV and Sky). The staff are all very friendly and helpful.
The restaurant is good and the food is cooked to a high standard, however there are many good restaurants in the area to try – some recommendations are Perla Porto and Breuers Restaurant in the harfen and the Fishhaus and the Brauerei zum Schiffchen in the Altstadt

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_Traveller757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Stayed a full week at this hotel and although the rooms rates varied widely depending on the day, the overall value was very good. Very comfortable bed! Room was cleaned and serviced with good attention to detail. Walking distance of the Rhine tower and not very far from Alstadt. I thoroughly enjoyed my visit there. Food in the hotel was okay, but nothing very special, however lots of it. Other restaurants nearby were excellent too. I recommend the Meerbar in the Gerhy buildings, just around the corner. Bottled water in the room and fresh fruit in the lobby. Great interactive map and news screen in the lobby. The staff were very helpful and prompt.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the harbour, I watched the scullers and kayaks daily from my room prac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabitasera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
#23 of 239 in Dusseldorf
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 239 in Dusseldorf
1,396 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen

Address: Speditionstrasse 11, 40221 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $83 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy beautiful harbour views and modern accommodations at Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen. Our hotel in Duesseldorf, Germany delights with a great waterfront location in the city center steps from the Rhine, and it features well-appointed rooms with plenty of amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Duesseldorf Hafen Hotel
Courtyard Hotel Dusseldorf Hafen
Courtyard Hotel düsseldorf
Courtyard Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing