We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Want the Fifth Floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
Ranked #45 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level 6 Contributor
714 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“You Want the Fifth Floor”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Quick summary: to have a really comfortable room, you want the fifth (top) floor of this hotel. Quick walk to old town, Konisghalle, the river, museums, etc.

We were in Dusseldorf on business, and the location was suggested for easy driving access to the company's offices, yet still offer a good location for dinner options, tourism, etc.

One thing to know about NH Hotels: this company seems to buy older properties and renovates them to modern standards for a good business class hotel. Since we've stayed at more than one NH, we've learned to ask about upgrade options and checked a few out. Here, you really want the upgrade to the fifth floor, which was added to this (1960's? era) building and has more modern infractructure than the lower floors.

The comparison: the first room we were shown on the third floor (#321, shower only) initially looked nice with its corner location surrounded by windows and sleek modern decor. However, the renovation did not include redoing the existing heating and AC and heating system!! Instead of installing a proper central air system, there was a Rube Goldberg-like floor-standing AC machine that required that you to vent a big tube (approx 12" diameter) that circulated the hot air out the window (!!!) For cooler months, there was a floor-standing heating unit. Besides making the room feel more cluttered, this reminds me more of a student's garret than a modern business class hotel room. From what I can tell, all the rooms in the original 4-story building have this system. It was only the added 5th floor rooms that have modern central heat and AC systems. There is such a thing as too cheap a renovation.

We also saw room #511, which is a very large 2-room suite, with a dining table and seating area. Frankly, we decided not to go that grand, but it's a nice suite if you want that kind of space an amenities.

We upgraded to Room #509 on the fifth floor room, which was pretty comfortable -- spacious, with a comfortable king-sized bed. The decor is modern, with neutral colors and hardwood floors. Good-size work desk. Robes and slippers.

I don't know if there are non-smoking rooms. We had a smoking room, but the ventilation was excellent -- no smoke smell except for an incident described below.

Excellent housekeeping. The staff at the check-in desk are friendly, helpful, and professional.

There is free wifi in the lounge, using security codes with 30-minute increments. While kind of slow, this works well enough unless you are in the middle of something when the time runs out. The internet works better if you purchase the 24-hour option in your room.

In-room safe and minibar.

While the room is comfortable enough, there are a few annoying characteristics that I attribute to a concern for design over function (e.g. the phone that is not at all intuitive to work), or show pretty good design on the cheap. For the latter, the night stands are mere slabs of wood, where you'd really like a little drawer for the odds-and-ends of life. The good-sized closet has no doors, which means that all your clothing and stuff are open to view by the cleaning staff, and just looks messy.

I'm also not a fan of the hotel trend toward duvets on the bed rather than sheets and blankets. The duvets are always too warm, even when you crank up the AC. (Have managers noticed an increase in AC bills when they use duvets?) I can more easily adjust the comfort level of separate sheets and blankets.

The bathroom is pretty good, but frosted glass doors which are annoying when one person gets up at night and floods the bedroom with light. Do I really need a vision of what is going on in the bathroom?

There are nice lounges on the ground floor for the bar, a quick snack, just hanging out, etc.

There is an excellent and extensive buffet breakfast (19 euros) in the breakfast room of fruits and juices, breads and pastries, meats, cheeses, salmon, cereals, etc. and etc. Pricey but worth it.

I would consider staying here again on the fifth floor, but the management should polish the procedures of some service staff. The kicker was when we returned to our room one Sunday afternoon after touring, to a definite smell of cigarette smoke. Yes, we had a smoking room, but we had been there a few days with no noticeable smoke odor. This day, it was unmistable, and the only explanation could be that the cleaning staff took a smoking break in our room. We complained, and the incident did not occur again.

Other incidents: we had to sign for the delivery of our laundry, but the maid did not have a pen on her -- she asked us for one! Other: the ONE elevator is rather small. When guests tried to get on, one maid witha big cleaning truck decided she had priority on the elevator. Usefully, a manager was nearby and immediately instructed her that guests should be given preference for the small space. That manager seemed very professional and I'm sure took note of procedures that should be reviewed in the future.

While the location is a short walk to many attractions of Dusseldorf, there are a few good restaurants around the corner from the hotel. Lampada (Italian) has a very accomodating staff. There is also a good Turkish restaurant next door, whose name escapes me.

Room Tip: The fifth floor is the only floor I'd stay on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    222
    105
    38
    15
See reviews for
45
123
25
246
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Excellent location only 2 tram stops from dusseldorf main train station , elegant And modern rooms with excellent service

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonycold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Only the "executive" rooms have central AC. They will bring in a portable but this requires an open window, and the rooms on the street are VERY loud (traffic, tram, night life, sirens, etc.). The internet is painfully slow even if you pay the exorbitant price for the "business" internet service. The positives are a nice staff and very good breakfast. Also the location is quite nice, easy walk to old city, shopping, museums.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DCBiztraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

Nothing too special about this place. But it is a comfortable hotel and very close to Konigsallee. It has the basics and rooms are nicely decorated, even if rather small.
Would say this is a 4* hotel but rather a 3*

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vastra Frolunda, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2011

I was working in Cologne for a few days but the city was more or less fully booked. I found this hotel near the railway station in Dusseldorf.
The hotel is OK, 4-star. I found the rooms to be extremely small though. Still had the 1 person 90 cm beds which you rarely find anymore in decent hotels anymore.
The room was clean and adequate though and the location is very good near the Königsallee and the Railway station.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartinVF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

We brought friends to Dusseldorf for the weekend & were delighted that the NH were able to change our booking twice due to the 'Ash Cloud' in April 2010 & snow at Christmas! The location is perfect, the rooms clean, modern and very comfortable. The staff were very helpful. A five o clock check out on Sunday topped off a wonderful weekend in Duss! We will stay in another NH hotel definitely!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magsanded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin,Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2010

First of all I liked the cleanliness of the hotel and the friendly and welcoming staff. The hotel is modern and stylish. The location is close enough to the main train station, Konigsalle shopping and about 15 min walk to the Aldstadt.
I was there for a romantic city break for 4 days and to see the winter markets.
I found they messed up on some of the smaller things that usually make for a pleasant stay.
They have 35 TV channels mainly in German, Spainish, French and Italian but only 3 in English and they were all news channels. Just even one English channel to watch while we chilled out would of been nice.
The bathroom door was see-through glass, (I'll post photo's) What idiot thought that would be a good idea, you can see someone using the toilet from the bed, you would want to have no inhibitions about sharing EVERY bodily function with whoever you happen to be sharing with. If you were sharing a twin with a friend or colleague it would be a bit embarrasing i imagine! People don't have glass bathroom doors at home so stop putting them in hotels!
Our double room had 2 single beds pushed together and 2 single duvets, they were also on castor wheels so some some mornings we would find our beds had drifted a few feet apart, not great for cuddles (or anything else) I would not return because of this point alone.There is only one slow elevator to serve 5 floors and over 100 rooms, It took ages to arrive and it always seemed to be full or going in the opposite direction. On our day of departure it was out of order and we were on the 4th floor. Finally breakfast is €19 each and another €6 if delivered to your room, so if you fancy a romantic breakfast in bed for two some morning it will set you back €44! It's not a bad hotel mind, It just lacked some of the creature comforts i like, and we could of chosen from quite a few other hotels in the price range. A return visit is unlikely.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steviemayhem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
NH Duesseldorf City
#30 of 237 in Dusseldorf
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#14 of 237 in Dusseldorf
572 reviews
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 237 in Dusseldorf
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee

Property: NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee
Address: Adersstr. 29-31, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly NH Düsseldorf City Center)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#44 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee 4*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee, located in the posh area of the city, offers guests the ultimate hotel experience and travel experience in Dusseldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your NH Dusseldorf Konigsallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Duesseldorf City Hotel
Nh Hotels düsseldorf
Nh Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing