We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Compact and affordable room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Max Brown Hotel Midtown
Ranked #75 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed December 23, 2013

This hotel wins on location - a stone's throw from the shopping area of Schadowstrasse, a short walk to the Koenigsallee and Altstadt. In an area dominated by swanky 5 stars, great to find an affordable option for the less minted traveller! Clean double room, though the bathroom with its small shower cubicle was far too tight to really be adequate if there had been two of us in the room. Good breakfast buffet in a comfortable dining room, attentive reception staff. I would book again for a business or personal trip to Duesseldorf if I needed the balance between cost and location to be right.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sshurmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDuesseldorf, Front Office at Max Brown Hotel Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear sshurmer,
first we want to thank you for taking time to rate our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our central located hotel and and our comprehensive breakfast. It makes us happy that our staff could content you during your stay.
Unfortunately you dind't feel well with the small shower in your room. We are very sorry for this.
But we hope you will visit us in future again, so that you give us the chance assure you of rooms with bath tub.
Kind Regards , the Tryp by Wyndham Duesseldorf City Centre Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (292)
There are newer reviews for Max Brown Hotel Midtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 292 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I made a last minute decision to stay in Dusseldorf, and this hotel was great for the amount of money that we spent. The staff was extremely friendly. If we are ever in Dusseldorf again for a short visit, I will check our the prices at this hotel first.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vladtannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDuesseldorf, General Manager at Max Brown Hotel Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you very much for the great feedback concerning your stay in our hotel. For me as Hotel Manager it is always a pleasure to read, that the offered services with our free of charge amenities and especially my team exceeded your expectations ;-)

We will be happy to welcome you soon again!

Best regards, Anne Wichert (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights the staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were average the beds were OK, the shower in the room was small and the pressure not great. We stayed when the weather was nice and the rooms were hot and muggy a desk fan was supplied in the room though.

The location was central enough, the breakfasts were not the best for €12 we used the fantastic Japanese bakery across the road instead.

to sum up the hotel is a great budget friendly place but don't expect too much the best thing about the hotel is the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDuesseldorf, General Manager at Max Brown Hotel Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear "Michael O",

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is great to here, that you enjoyed your stay because of the location in the city centre and the friendliness of our employees.

Every review gives us a chance to do it better every day . It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again in Düsseldorf and fortunately we can tell you that such hot days like this year in August are in Germany the big exception.

Best regards, Anne Wichert (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Everyone who worked at this hotel was amazing! Foolishly, when we booked the hotel, we didn't realize the rooms didn't have a/c. Unfortunately, it was hot and humid the first night we were there, but the receptionist (also the bartender) let us hang out in the air conditioned bar. She even made me iced tea (which they evidently don't drink, but she was happy to made once I explained how). My boyfriend caught a cold while we were traveling and she even gave him salt to keep in our room so he could gargle. Not feeling well, we overslept, and housekeeping left us a bag of clean towels on the door without us having to ask. The people who worked here were the nicest employees we have ever encountered at a hotel.
The hotel itself was clean and quiet. The location was okay. We were able to walk everywhere, but the walks were a bit long. It took us about 15 minutes to get to the train station or the old town. It took about 30 minutes to get to Unterbilk. We ended up paying about $70/night, which considering the value of the dollar against the Euro, is pretty good. We'd stay here again in the wintertime, but in the summer, would look for a hotel with a/c.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roxymigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDuesseldorf, General Manager at Max Brown Hotel Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us such a wonderful feedback. Our aim is to create a "wow-effect" for our guests. It is great to here that the offered services with our free of charge amenities and our employees exceeded your expectations. It will be a pleasure for us to welcome you soon again in Düsseldorf and fortunately such hot days are in Germany the big exception.

Best regards, Anne Wichert (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Jooske D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HotelDuesseldorf, General Manager at Max Brown Hotel Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

It was nothing special.We stayed here for a week. The staff did not fill the coffee and tea pods that was in the room when we used them.The walls were so thin you can hear every word in in adjacent rooms.
This is a good, basic hotel. Nothing terribly special about it, nothing terrible about it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nikiper1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelDuesseldorf, General Manager at Max Brown Hotel Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2013

Dear guest, we read your review with a lot of interest and have seen it as chance to improve our services. Your comment is the reason that now the tea will be refilled in the room on daily basis. We hope to welcome you in our hotel during your next visit in Düsseldorf and will be happy to convice you.
We wish you all the best and send you best greetings from Düsseldorf,. Anne Wichert (Hotel Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well maintained clean and very friendly. Good central location close to Japanese quarter of Dusseldorf. 10 mins from city centre, 15 mins from riverside bars. Good choice of continental breakfast items, and real coffee. Flat screen TV with HDMI socket for laptop screen viewing. Kettle with tea and coffe in room.

Room Tip: Larger delux rooms available for bit extra.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davepotts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GC_Hotel_DUS_Koe, General Manager at Max Brown Hotel Midtown, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear "davepotts1",

thank you very much for your review and your kind words. Hope to welcome you again soon ;-)

Best regards from Düsseldorf

Anne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
me and all hotel duesseldorf
me and all hotel duesseldorf
#22 of 240 in Dusseldorf
140 reviews
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#10 of 240 in Dusseldorf
592 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Weidenhof
Hotel Weidenhof
#92 of 240 in Dusseldorf
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlstadt
The Fritz Hotel
The Fritz Hotel
#64 of 240 in Dusseldorf
34 reviews
Altstadt
Carathotel Duesseldorf
Carathotel Duesseldorf
#40 of 240 in Dusseldorf
288 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#60 of 240 in Dusseldorf
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Max Brown Hotel Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Max Brown Hotel Midtown

Address: Kreuzstr. 19A, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly TRYP by Wyndham Dusseldorf City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $83 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Max Brown Hotel Midtown 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All rooms have a flatscreen TV The Hotel is currently on refurbishment ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Max Brown Hotel Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand City Boersenhotel Dusseldorf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing