We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #109 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Good clean rooms”
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Fine rooms and good breakfast.
The beds aren't great but the shower and overal cleanliness make up for it.
Not enough parking spots to accommodate all guests.
Fine location - we were able to walk to the altstadt in about 20 minutes

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank samjongenelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    130
    87
    21
    15
See reviews for
35
64
31
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to this hotel, which we chose based on trip adviser reviews.
Very nice hotel with helpful friendly staff.
Big rooms very clean.
Private car park, central location and a good price.

Main train station just a few minutes walk with easy transport options.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank engelhardt61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Having travelled a lot in GermanyI found this hotel to be of a good standard of cleanliness, comfort and convenience. The room was warm and comfortable in December. It was excellent value for money. This is what I expect in most German hotels and I am rarely disappointed. The reception staff were friendly, multi-lingual and helpful when asked. The location is not pretty, a dull side street, but was within easy walking distance of trains, trams and buses. So it was super for getting round the city and for us to visit christmas markets.
Only two minor gripes for the management to address:
1. The hotel folder states that free tea and coffee are available in reception 24/7. When we asked for it there was none available and the receptionist had to put on a machine which would be ready for us on our return, sometime later.
2. On arrival,our room safe was locked and the receptionist did not understand how to re-open it. We have had this situation in other hotels and the staff had been trained to sort the problem.
Nevertheless I would still recommend this hotel for seasoned travellers who simply want clean beds and bathrooms in a convenient location without breaking the bank.

Room Tip: Back rooms are quiet. Trams pass the front and may annoy fussy travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dcsuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Landing, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The hotel says they have a small parking lot available and we arrived at 8:00PM with no room left; Cristina the the Desk clerk was dismayed for us and found us street parking that was available at no cost until 9:00AM the next morning.
The breakfast buffet for 9 Euros was out standing. Freshly scrambled eggs, juicy sausage, smoked trout,fresh diced fruit, and much much more. Nico our waiter cleared plates and made sure we never exhausted our juice or coffee.
We had come to Dusseldorf to enjoy the christmas market. Some in our party were challenged by long walks and the faire was too far from the hotel fo them; Bogeslav our morning desk person had complete instructions on getting there and sugggested public transit. When we asked if we could move our car into the parking lot and take a taxi to the market, even though we were checking out that day he said sure and asked if he could call the Taxi.

The entire facility was emaculate the rooms were cleaner than many places we've stayed at that were far more costly; the bathroom while small just gleamed with out a water spot any where.
The hall carpet and walls looked recently painted and shampoed.

It was much more than I wexpected, and as others have said, a great value for the money.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room as far from the train station as they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

I chose this hotel primarily for its location and the name brand. I am usually more adventurous with local brands when I am in Europe but because of the location I chose (near train station), I opted for a branded hotel this time.

1. Location - I planned on using the train a lot this trip and the location of this hotel was perfect. It is about 2 to 3 minutes walking distance to the station.

I had a little bit of concern with safety at night based on what i have read (mainly people around the station) but if you are careful and stick with basic rules of safety, you will be fine. I didn't see these "questionable elements" very near the hotel.

2. Rooms

Cleanliness - very clean!
Size - for a European hotel, it is Ok. Very small for those of us used to Best Western Hotels in the US.
Beds - I read a lot of bad reviews about the beds in this hotel but I was fine. Slept very well.
Peace and Quiet for a restful sleep - well, if you choose to book near a train station, expect trains passing through at night! I heard a few but was not bothered. I expected the trains to come and go!

3. Staff- professional and friendly! They speak very good English too!

4. Breakfast - excellent.

Again, very good value for my money. I would definitely recommend this hotel.




Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ktr614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londra, Regno Unito
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Let’s say I have some contrasting feelings about the Ambassador Hotel: the place is quite old and a refurbishment would be nice, old TV, carpets all around and very soft beds.
To the other hand I must say: I found the breakfast quite good, the staff was helpful and the price competitive especially compared to other hotel in the same area.
Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wsep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Location is good, 2min by foot to Main train station, very convinient for Business to messe, easy access to Koln, 20min by train. The hotel itself is a very old place, rooms are very old but clean and tidy, but in general I just came to sleep and did not spend time in the hotel, single rooms are very small, and with very basic decor, furniture,tv... low standart of Best Western in Germany I can say. When you enter the Hotel in the reception you will feel the cigarettes and old place smell. But its always full during a messe and I heard they charge 200-250 overnight for this I dont know 2 star place. One advantage is they offer a nice breakfast. If you are travelling for business or messe, its fine for 2-3 nights, if you go for pleasure, avoid this place no comfort, fun and smile on your face. and the guy who is doing a night shift when I came back home late he is always playing some warcraft game and better dont ask him anything, he has no interest in his work just dont disturb him:) Other staff is nice the girls working during a day are helpfull and also a guy is friendly ant talkative.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ervis555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Friedrichstadt
InterCityHotel Duesseldorf
InterCityHotel Duesseldorf
#72 of 237 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#62 of 237 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
CVJM Hotel
CVJM Hotel
#67 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Acon
Hotel Acon
#136 of 237 in Dusseldorf
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Bismarck Hotel
Bismarck Hotel
#70 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Ambassador Hotel

Property: Best Western Ambassador Hotel
Address: Harkortstrasse 9, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Friedrichstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western düsseldorf
Best Western Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing