We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food at the expense of service”
Review of La Castagnas

La Castagnas
Ranked #68 of 1,805 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Price range: $11 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Duesseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food at the expense of service”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had dinner there when there was a fixed-menu event (apparently including many restaurants all over town) but were told we could easily order á la carte as well. Once seated with the drinks on the table, we were told that individual orders were harder to arrange on time, it would be difficult to synchronise for the six of us etc. etc.
Later on, we had to order refills and new drinks several times, they lost details of or orders and the timing didn´t improve, to say the least. All in all, we simply heard too many "No"s on that evening, considering the bill.
To be fair, the food was quite good once it arrived. But it just couldn´t outweigh all the rest. Unfortunately, this place is off our list now.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnZo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    36
    11
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a great place”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The food is fantastic. The wine selection also. Try the kunch special. Very unexpensive and just wonderful. I love the lamm there!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KarlD40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
439 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Delicious food, great service”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This italian restaurant is taking part in the annual 'tour de menu' action, centring around offering set menu for set price, showing off the restaurant's culinary skills.

It was our first time here and we loved it. The food was delicious and although we were initially not convinced about going for the food and wine offer, it was well worth it. The ala carte menu prices are acceptable for Dusseldorf and the wine selection is also great.

The layout of the restaurant makes it ideal for lunch, as well as dinner. Will definitely come back to sample a bit more of its lovely dishes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarciTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
2 reviews
“Delicious !!!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our favourite restaurant in Düsseldorf, warm friendly and helpful atmosphere, with fantastic food. Nothing is too much trouble.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisonrobertslanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

The name is tricky: not Italian. But the restaurant definitely is Italian. You can't be wrong if you choose it for your happenings (birthdays, business dinners etc) or to hang out with friends. The place is rather elegant but, at the same time, a little bit informal. The food will not disappoint you either: plentiful, delicious and comes at very reasonable prices. Good wine list. Friendly staff. A bit busy, especially on weekends. Best to reserve in advance.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank francois g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Castagnas also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to La Castagnas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing