We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit overated” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avidon Art & Design Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avidon Art & Design Hotel
Ranked #66 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Piastow, Poland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A little bit overated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

Hotel is a little bit expensive for its provided value. The room is absolutely standard and they claiming that tricky chair in it is worth of calling it "design" hotel. However room was very comfortable and clean. I had just a problem with number of flies behind bed which I had to kill before sleep. Its not located very close to airport so you have to take a taxi (its not expensive even for German standards). I had to wake up early morning so I didnt had a breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hiszpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    63
    17
    7
    4
See reviews for
11
32
14
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

I'll start by saying that there isn't too much wrong with this place as a bed for the night. It's very clean and the staff are friendly. The lift to the floors is very small however - one person plus suitcase in my opinion. There is a bar - though I can't comment as I didn't use it.

I stayed in October, a last minute decision to visit an exhibition. The hotel is convenient for the airport (though I was charged 12 euros for the trip from airport to hotel and 7 euros for the return trip 2 days later. Likewise my trip to the exhibition centre was 17 euros to Messe from the hotel (with the most unfriendly taxi driver I've ever come across - I may not speak German, but I know what "that" word means) and 8 euros return that evening. Again, the hotel is convenient for the exhibition centre.

The biggest problem is the price and that's why I can only give it 3 stars. I had a nice room (with some whacky furniture) and the bed was comfortable. But at over £250 a night (breakfast was extra!!!) it's a lot to pay for a bed.

Another reviewer has said that the breakfast room ran out of things when they went for breakfast at 10.15. I stayed two nights and breakfasted at 7.15 and 8.15 (approx). There was the same problem at that time with empty baskets of bread etc. The eggs were good though. Never did find any of these restaurants within easy reach as the weather was bad throughout my stay.

Overall, it's a room with a bed. And on that basis, very expensive. Sorry but I think I'd find somewhere a bit cheaper next time.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred_the_needle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel (room 108) the 27th of August. Nice and clean room, nice people!
The only thing we didn't like was the breakfast. We went for our breakfast at 10:15 AM.
the buffet ran out of everything. Had to ask for scrambled eggs; buns; orangejuice, everything was gone. € 16 a person for this kind of breakfast wasn't what we had in mind in a four-star hotel.....
Small elevator!

Room Tip: Watch the U-bahn! Noisy when they come around the corner! In our room (108) we did hear it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank breda1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

My 15 yr old grandson and I completed our ten day trip to Germany and France in this little gem. The room was the largest we had in our ten days, extraordinary clean and a bi-lingual staff.. O"ne caution, you need to turn the correct direction when you leave the train station. turn toward the little restaurant right by the train and walk 400 meters. look to the left. Great value

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank viajahn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

small hotel, I wouldn't give it 4 star rating, but my stay was quite pleasant.

Super friendly and helpful girl at the front desk (I checked in on Apr 23)

I had a bit of a problem finding a food, the only thing available at the hotel was pizza, which had only one topping and was pretty expensive, but there is a little cafe right next to the hotel.

Didn't eat the breakfast, because I had to leave early in the morning

FREE WI-FI in rooms!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gingerrr_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

We stayed here because of a morning flight back to the States. Location is great---5 minute walk from the S-bahn, 15 minutes from Duesseldorf main train station via S1 or S7 lines, 2 minutes from airport by S11. Taxi to airport was 5.90 Euros.

Hotel is modern and clean. Room was spacious. Price of room was good. We had a "Deluxe Superior Room", as I was travelling with my parents and we needed 3 beds. Unfortunately the 3rd bed was an AIR MATTRESS. Our room was located in the back of the hotel and the floor shook every time a train left the adjacent train station.

My biggest gripe was the service...when we arrived in the evening I spoke German to the clerk (I speak enough to get by) and the desk clerk switched to English. Great! She asked if we would like breakfast in the morning. I asked the cost and was told 6 Euros per person. My mother heard this as well, and when my dad walked up I asked him (in front of the clerk) if he wanted to pay 6 Euros for breakfast or get something at the airport. We decided it would be easier to buy the breakfast at the hotel. I know we talked about 6 Euros for breakfast several times in front of the desk clerk. Imagine our shock upon checking out (after breakfast) that the price was actually 16 Euros per person! 16 Euros for a roll, some cheese, a glass of juice and a piece of dried out bacon? What a rip-off! My mom and I told the morning clerk that the evening clerk told us it was 6 Euros each. She said she couldn't give it to us at 6 Euros each, but she did take off the price of one breakfast, bringing the cost for breakfast for 3 from 48 Euros to 32 Euros--still ridiculous, but I appreciated that morning clerk tried to help. Morning clerk said the evening clerk was new but she knew the price of the breakfast. The evening clerk may know the price of the breakfast but she doesn't know the difference between SIX and SIXTEEN in English! A desk clerk at a hotel near a major international airport needs to know her numbers in English. At the airport I found you could get a heck of a good breakfast for 16 Euros, which didn't help my mood any. Also we asked the evening clerk about places to eat dinner. She said everywhere was closed (Good Friday) but there were several places we could order from that would deliver, or we could eat at their bar. We just took the S11 to the airport and ate there but we noticed that the only restaurant we passed on the way to the train station was open.

Room Tip: Get a room on the front of the hotel. No breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hearts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinston, North Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Take the S11 train one stop from Terminal 3 and you are a short walk away. Or, if you drive it is easy to find and there is plenty of parking. The two hotels attached to Duesseldorf airport are expensive. Stay here one time, and you will want to come back again and again. This is a small hotel, around 15 years old already, but it never shows its age. It is well-managed and well-maintained. Because it is small it fills up very quickly whenever there is a trade show going on. Book in advance.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KorbinDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dusseldorf
0.3 mi away
Lindner Hotel Airport
Lindner Hotel Airport
#39 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
1.4 mi away
Airport Fashion Hotel
Airport Fashion Hotel
#76 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sheraton Dusseldorf Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Relexa Hotel Airport Dusseldorf-Ratingen
0.8 mi away
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
Maritim Hotel Duesseldorf
#13 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Destination 21
Hotel Destination 21
#68 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avidon Art & Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avidon Art & Design Hotel

Property: Avidon Art & Design Hotel
Address: Unterrather Strasse 42, 40468 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Avidon Hotel Airport)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#32 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#45 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avidon Art & Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Avidon Art & Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eazires Avidon Airport düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing