We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“you get what you pay for”
Review of Terminus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Terminus Hotel
Ranked #205 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed May 20, 2012

we went to dusseldorf on business during drupa. we booked late, so this is what was left in the area we needed to stay in. besides the semi decent location and friendly staff, the only positive thing was that some of the rooms are decently large. out rooms were not smoke free (i dont know if this is an option) - so you may have some lingering smells. there is no minibar, no shampoo, no lotion and a terribly old hairdryer. it is across from an xxx video store and has super loud construction in the front (all of our windows looked out onto the street). if you want to sleep with the window open, you will hear the tram all night and it is loud. the breakfast is 10 euros, but we went to a bakery around the corner and paid 12 euros for 4 people to eat and drink until full.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Superlise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 45 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2011

in general friendly place with an ok pool in the basement. Have bever experienced such a rude service before as we got from the person / staff handling the breakfast though. Spoiled the experience in total.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

ROOM. Triple room we asked for was clean, spacious, and comfortable. No airconditioning but that was not a problem for us since we could open the window. Bathroom was clean and towels were fresh.
BREAKFAST. Good selection of bread, juices, cheeses, deli meats, marmalades. Scrambled & boiled eggs. Fruit salad and yogurt. Ample and substantial.
SERVICE. Friendly front desk, helpful, extends additional information to what was asked. Young night clerk did not speak English but was very proper.
ENVIRONMENT. The hotel is on a road that is under construction. Since we came for the week-end we were not bothered. Convenient distance to trams, walking distance to the centre.
DEFINITE PLUS. Free public transport for the duration of your stay!
NEGATIVE. Corridors need refreshing, and lighting (some bulbs needed to be replaced).
We all three were very satisfied with the value for our money and would recommend this property to friends and family.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

For any travellers looking for a genuin "Fawlty Towers" experience then this is the hotel for you..

You have Basil Fawlty on the reception and Cybil smoking in the Kitchen.

On the first evening and morning we were a little tired, but not to worry the ice cold shower soon refreshed us !!!

This just about summed up the stay for me and half a dozen collegues attending a recent trade fair at the near bye Messe..

My room was clean and tidy. The hotel is in a central location and there are a couple of good bars and restauraunts within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2010

To say that the Terminus Hotel is in need of renovation would be an understatement. Their site says that they have been open since 1963, and I'd guess that much of the place hasn't changed at all since then; grimy carpets, furniture so old and ugly that it's beyond kitsch, fake flowers, dodgy heating... The place looks seriously old and tired.

The first room I was given was like stepping back in time. The furniture was worn with fabric hanging off it. The bathroom light took five minutes to come on. The window has been left open and the heating turned off (with snow on the ground outside). The radiator didn't work, and the man at reception was new, didn't speak any English and didn't know if there was a heater available. Eventually he managed to explain that his colleague would be coming... three hours later. In the meantime I had to sit in my room under a continental quilt to keep from freezing.

The hotel site also says that wireless internet is available throughout the hotel, which I took to mean that it was free, but in fact you have to pay extra: around 6 euros for 24 hours (with lower rates if you buy several days worth). Breakfast (the strict minimum) was included in the room price and apparently they give free tickets for public transport, although I didn't need this service. Frankly, instead of a free bus ticket I would have preferred a less ugly room, a decent breakfast, heating and wi-fi.

The staff were really nice, but that's not enough to make a hotel decent. I thought the state of the Terminus Hotel was absolutely shameful, and very seriously considered moving to another hotel. In the end, I was changed to a different room, the weather warmed up slightly, taking the strain off the heating system, and I got used to the ugliness of the fixtures and fittings.

I couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It's fairly cheap, but hardly 'budget'. Apart from the kind staff, everything else about it wrong, old, ugly and sad. I thought that hotels like this didn't exist any more. I was wrong.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonwhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Hotel Terminus is in a great location - close enough to walk to all the sights, but far enough away to not have city noise. The location is walking distance from central station and is also two blocks from a smaller train station so you don't have to walk too far for a train.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast on the weekend had a variety of food to help you start your day.

The rooms were a nice size and very clean. The carpet in our room had some spots, but that wasn't from a lack of attention due to the cleaning staff.

We made reservations less than 24 hours in advance through the internet and the staff was ready with our rooms the minute we walked through the door.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bsballbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

It was everything we wished for and more .. excellent location for shopping and sight seeing, excellent breakfast better even than in many 5 star hotels, clean and comfortable rooms and bathrooms, friendly owner couple out to help you with anything you need. It was for us a home away from home. And free public transport facilities offered to all hotel guests throughout their stay, throughout duesseldorf, adds to the reason we would always choose Hotel Terminus again, for it makes moving around Duesseldorf very easy and easy on the pocket too.

Thank IngeMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Batavia Hotel
Batavia Hotel
#63 of 239 in Dusseldorf
204 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Business Wieland Hotel
Business Wieland Hotel
#24 of 239 in Dusseldorf
174 reviews
Bilk
Residenz Hotel Eurostar
Residenz Hotel Eurostar
#127 of 239 in Dusseldorf
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
me and all hotel duesseldorf
me and all hotel duesseldorf
#10 of 239 in Dusseldorf
186 reviews
Premiere Classe Dusseldorf-City
#53 of 239 in Dusseldorf
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terminus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terminus Hotel

Address: Am Wehrhahn 81-83, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #205 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $49 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Terminus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Terminus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminus Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing