We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissapointed..”
Review of Terminus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terminus Hotel
Ranked #206 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed July 18, 2011

For any travellers looking for a genuin "Fawlty Towers" experience then this is the hotel for you..

You have Basil Fawlty on the reception and Cybil smoking in the Kitchen.

On the first evening and morning we were a little tired, but not to worry the ice cold shower soon refreshed us !!!

This just about summed up the stay for me and half a dozen collegues attending a recent trade fair at the near bye Messe..

My room was clean and tidy. The hotel is in a central location and there are a couple of good bars and restauraunts within a short walking distance.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandman1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2010

To say that the Terminus Hotel is in need of renovation would be an understatement. Their site says that they have been open since 1963, and I'd guess that much of the place hasn't changed at all since then; grimy carpets, furniture so old and ugly that it's beyond kitsch, fake flowers, dodgy heating... The place looks seriously old and tired.

The first room I was given was like stepping back in time. The furniture was worn with fabric hanging off it. The bathroom light took five minutes to come on. The window has been left open and the heating turned off (with snow on the ground outside). The radiator didn't work, and the man at reception was new, didn't speak any English and didn't know if there was a heater available. Eventually he managed to explain that his colleague would be coming... three hours later. In the meantime I had to sit in my room under a continental quilt to keep from freezing.

The hotel site also says that wireless internet is available throughout the hotel, which I took to mean that it was free, but in fact you have to pay extra: around 6 euros for 24 hours (with lower rates if you buy several days worth). Breakfast (the strict minimum) was included in the room price and apparently they give free tickets for public transport, although I didn't need this service. Frankly, instead of a free bus ticket I would have preferred a less ugly room, a decent breakfast, heating and wi-fi.

The staff were really nice, but that's not enough to make a hotel decent. I thought the state of the Terminus Hotel was absolutely shameful, and very seriously considered moving to another hotel. In the end, I was changed to a different room, the weather warmed up slightly, taking the strain off the heating system, and I got used to the ugliness of the fixtures and fittings.

I couldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. It's fairly cheap, but hardly 'budget'. Apart from the kind staff, everything else about it wrong, old, ugly and sad. I thought that hotels like this didn't exist any more. I was wrong.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasonwhittaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2008

Hotel Terminus is in a great location - close enough to walk to all the sights, but far enough away to not have city noise. The location is walking distance from central station and is also two blocks from a smaller train station so you don't have to walk too far for a train.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast on the weekend had a variety of food to help you start your day.

The rooms were a nice size and very clean. The carpet in our room had some spots, but that wasn't from a lack of attention due to the cleaning staff.

We made reservations less than 24 hours in advance through the internet and the staff was ready with our rooms the minute we walked through the door.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bsballbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

It was everything we wished for and more .. excellent location for shopping and sight seeing, excellent breakfast better even than in many 5 star hotels, clean and comfortable rooms and bathrooms, friendly owner couple out to help you with anything you need. It was for us a home away from home. And free public transport facilities offered to all hotel guests throughout their stay, throughout duesseldorf, adds to the reason we would always choose Hotel Terminus again, for it makes moving around Duesseldorf very easy and easy on the pocket too.

Thank IngeMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2006

I have stayed at the Terminus hotel many times before through the bookings made by my employer in Germany, and although the hotel was physically below average I had no major problems because the friendly approach of the workers compenstaed for all. However the last and probably the last time I was there the lady at the reception serviced me as if I had killed her brother (and she did this while I was paying her 600 sth Euros) and I will always cherish her crappy attitude.
Having booked for four nights I was in fever and had to fly back home two days in advance and she made me pay for the two nights that I did not stay and derived pleasure from treating me as negative as possible. I believe she was the owner of the Hotel as I have seen her many times before in the mornings at the reception.
I wished that she would be considerate enough to realize that I stayed at their hotel at least two weeks per year and take that into consideration when I was checking out as opposed to being rigid.

Stayed: May 2004
1  Thank ozzysail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2005

If you are looking for a giant cookie-cutter American-style hotel, than the Terminus is not the place for you. But if simple charm, a family-run atmostphere, clean rooms, and excellent service are at the top of your list, then the Terminus is the perfect place to stay.

The Terminus is within easy walking and Strassenbahn access of the Altstadt and several good restaurants.

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mchr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Düsseldorf
4512
Reviewed July 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Novum Hotel Plaza Dusseldorf Zentrum
Pempelfort
Stadthotel Dusseldorf
Stadthotel Dusseldorf
#192 of 241 in Dusseldorf
36 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Famosa Hotel
Famosa Hotel
#114 of 241 in Dusseldorf
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residenz
#143 of 241 in Dusseldorf
136 reviews
Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
#50 of 241 in Dusseldorf
1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terminus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terminus Hotel

Address: Am Wehrhahn 81-83, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $62 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Terminus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Terminus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terminus Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing