We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easier to get lost in the hotel than out in the city”
Review of Asahi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Asahi Hotel
Ranked #79 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed February 14, 2014

Good hotel, but we kept getting lost IN the hotel. The stairwells were confusing and we'd have to run up and down to the floors to find an unlocked door to catch the lift. And about the lift, the two they have from the main lobby don't access the same floors even though the building isn't very tall, which we found strange. Blame the great drinking and dining spots in Dusseldorf, but we weren't the only ones lost in the hotel. I should mention, everything else was great. Good location, staff, rooms, and it was close to the train station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 156 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2014

Three days spent in this nice hotel in Dusseldorf. It has a good position (it's near the train station) and far just 10 or 15 minutes by walk from the old town (Altstadt). Rooms are good and breakfast too! Free internet of good quality available.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonios1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Chose this hotel primarily as close to the main train station, providing easy access. Room was very large and even included a kitchenette and bath. But hotel is due for a facelift. Staff friendly and helpful, though only interacted for checking and checkout.

Opened windows at night as the heating (centrally controlled) was a little too warm for my liking, and quite a lot of nose from road, but good with windows shut.

Ok value for money though (whnen comparing with other hotels in the area at exhibiton time), as long as one does not have too high expectations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartinMaria90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

The bathroom was awfull and hotel staff unwilling to do anything about it!

Also the hotel is quite far way from the city center.

The hotel staff was even lying about omving us to another room. We saw on booking.com that a room was still available but they did not. give us any option to move to another room while we where very unsatisfied.

Conclusion; bad staff, location and hotel! Don't stay HERE!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HvanMaanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed here for the first time. The main reasons was the location and second was that the price was good. Clean, with nice staff. It's noisy if u have the windows open but when closed I was good and if its too warm you can use the A/C to cool the room now.

Room Tip: Very close to the museum. If you don't want to park at the hotel, the street parking are safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elisabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Not too bad overall. A fair sized room. A few moans: Very small and rather tired bathroom - water leaked under and around the end of the shower screen and covered the floor. The air-con unit in the main bedroom didn't have a very fast fan setting so the room cooled a little, but not enough really for such a warm night. The WiFi in my room kept dropping out: I was going nuts having to re-enter the user ID and passwords on my laptop and iPhone regularly - not great for business travellers. The buffet breakfast was pretty average and overpriced at €18, in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeremyWUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Not going to write a long review as this hotel does exactly what it says on the tin .... Cheap and clean, staff very helpful. All the things you would expect but nothing extra. It's a bit of a walk to the main areas of dusseldorf and the altstad but doable at 25-50 minutes depending where you want to go. A taxi back on most nights and the taxi drivers all seemed to charge different rates to different people in our group (one lad got really ripped off and I think they wieghed up how drunk you appeared)!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
#49 of 240 in Dusseldorf
1,310 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
BURNS Art & Culture
BURNS Art & Culture
#81 of 240 in Dusseldorf
119 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
me and all hotel duesseldorf
me and all hotel duesseldorf
#21 of 240 in Dusseldorf
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Alt Graz Hotel
Alt Graz Hotel
#101 of 240 in Dusseldorf
64 reviews
Sir & Lady Astor Hotel
#18 of 240 in Dusseldorf
295 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asahi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asahi Hotel

Address: Kurfuerstenstr. 30, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $133 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Asahi Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, HRS, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asahi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asahi Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing