We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel just outside the city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf
Ranked #10 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Kontich, Belgium
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good hotel just outside the city centre”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed during the weekend and had an excellent stay.

It's a nice modern hotel, situated just outside the city centre and easily reachable by car.
If you want to head to the centre, you can choose to walk along the Rhine for about 20min or use the public transport which stops just across the street of the hotel. Just 3 or 4 stops later you are in the centre.

I had a business room on one of the higher floors. It was a modern room and a decent size. It contained all necessary facilities (a.o Nespresso, lounge chair) and was above all very clean.
Breakfast was nice, great choice of food and a chef preparing custom omelets.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. All was done with a smile and I even heard Dutch and French speaking staff. Special mention to the restaurant and breakfast staff for an excellent job. I did however have an issue with the evening bar staff. (they tend to ignore you at the bar)

The Spa on -1 has all required facilities (swimming pool, sauna, steam,...) and is very welcoming after a busy day. At the time that I visited, there was no staff on site, so the swimming pool area looked a bit messy (probably children playing).
Beware that you need to get a key for the lockers at the man reception desk.

Despite the few negative points, this was still a very nice hotel and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkiverijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Mkiverijn,

thank you for choosing to stay at the Radisson Blu Scandinavia Düsseldorf and for taking your time to write your comments on tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you like our hotel. Your compliments of our facilities, breakfast, cleaning and staff are very much appreciated. We also take your remarks to heart. Your feedback helps us prevent situations such as this in the future. Thank you again for sharing your experience. We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Yours sincerely,
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    369
    89
    25
    9
See reviews for
84
166
51
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great hotel location with the tram right across the street. We visited the city for the Christmas market and had a great time at the hotel with the pool facilities. The breakfast buffet was great! Multiple choices of scrambled eggs, yogurt, fruit, breads, meats, etc. The rooms were spotless and seemed to be recently remodeled. We booked the room on the radisson hotel site and with the breakfast buffets included. I would definitely stay here again when visiting the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunsetLove10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear SunsetLove10,

thank you very much for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed the facilities and services. It's great to read that you had a lovely time on our christmas market as well!
We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you back soon.

Best regards
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The hotel is located some kilometers outside the town centre, but the tram stops just opposite and is frequent. You get good value with a 4-trip K ticket (K: short distance, f.i. to Heinrich Heine Allee, where you most problably want to go). We use to walk into town in the morning, however, it is a pleasant 20-25 minutes stroll along the Rhine.
We stayed here three nights in December. I have been here several times before, but since then, the hotel is new refurbished in a modern "cool & clean" line. No traces of German "gemütlichkeit" and perhaps not completely to my taste, but definitely stylish, modern and new. The bar is very pleasant, spacey, well lit and comfortable in every way. The same can be said about the breakfast room, esp. the section to the right at the entrance. The breakfast buffet room looked a bit like a hospital kitchen, but the food offered gives you a good start of the day. Unusual for a German hotel breakfast was the very limited choice of bread. The fantastic array of bread types is one of the prides of German cuisine and should definitely be better represented than was the case here. But I give a plus point for the peeled cucumber slices! (cuc. peel tastes very bitter.)
Rooms are in the same "clean" style, adequately equipped although I did miss a drawer or two. Nice bathroom - and I give another plus point for face cloths along with towels!
Service really is outstanding at this hotel, and this time, we did need their attention a couple of times. We had to change our room because of a noisy fan, but this, as well other issues, was taken care of in the matter of minutes. Staff is exceptionally efficient and friendly, and with a touch of the wonderful Rhenish/Dusseldorfer humour.
We enjoyed our stay and will certainly come back.

Room Tip: I prefer a room to the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarleyBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear BarleyBird,

thank you so much for this really detailled and wonderful review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very appreciate your comments regarding your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Yours sincerely,
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vicenza
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

very good positionfor all! you are near the trade show and only 2 min by walk you have a tube station to the center, so perfect!
Room are ok, clean and confortable bed, you have also sky tv!
very good price around 90€ @ night no breakfast included, 24 € for it!!!! go away!!!! free wi fi

if i'll be back in dusseldorf for business i'm over here again


Best
Alessandro

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alelove3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Alessandro,

thank you a lot for posting your comment on tripadvisor. We are truly glad to have satisfy your expectations. We hope to see you again in Düsseldorf as soon as possible.

Best regards
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Although we were initially worried about the distance from the centre, there was no problem. The tram stop is outside the hotel and you can catch number 78 or 79 into the centre and be there in 7 mins!! That means no need to stress about parking etc. Also the centre is currently all dug up for new tram tracks. It is a very safe area and we were lucky to park outside on the street for free.

My only (small ) gripe is that it would be nice to have still water in the rooms...not everyone likes sparkling! We didnt have breakfast as we felt it was very pricey at 24 euro. Try Bastians in the old town-it is wonderful! Compliments also to the friendly front desk staff. This was a perfect hotel for visiting the Christmas markets.

Room Tip: Make sure you dont get a smoking room by accident
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethBrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear ElizabethBrett,

thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests. We look forward to your next stay.

Yours sincerely
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have just got back from a weekend away at the Christmas markets which were fantastic. The hotel had a warm and friendly welcome. We were really impressed with our room we had a basic double room, which was very clean and had a brand new en suite with amazing power shower and all facilities in the room were really modern and impressive. Room service was excellent and the bed was really comfy.

The hotel is well situated it took us 25 minutes to walk from the hotel into the old town along the river, a lovely walk leading you straight into the Christmas markets. There is a tram outside the hotel but we chose to walk as it was nice weather! The hotel is also a great location for the airport we walked into town and hopped on the s11 train for just €2.50 and a ten minute train journey.

The reason we didn't give the trip five stars was because the only negative was the breakfast. We didn't book breakfast in advance but changed our minds on arrival and decided to have breakfast, it was €24 per head!!! For this i basically got a bowl of cereal and sat at a dirty table as they had ran out of bread and pastries on the buffet and there were no clean tables so we had to eat at a messy one. My husband did manage to have an omelette but sadly it was all really bad and we tried asking the waitresses if the table could be cleared but were met with hostility.

The next morning we mentioned the experience to reception (would not usually bother but struggled to pay €48 for the breakfast) they were very apologetic and deducted it from our bill. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and would recommend it despite the slightly poor breakfast experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barber442013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear Barber442013,

thank you for choosing to stay at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Düsseldorf and for taking your time to write your comments on tripadvisor. I truly apologize for the disappointing service you received from our staff. I take the time to listen to your constructive comments so I can continually improve our services. But I am glad to read that you felt comfortable during your stay. I am sincerely grateful for your positive comments and hope to see you again soon. We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you again.

Kind regards
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed only 1 night in this hotel for a weekend xmas market/shopping in Dusseldorf. The hotel is located a bit outside the city close to public transport but we took the car to and from the city center and that was also quite ok. Parkings are not so expensive in the city center. Parking around the hotel is available with a bit of luck for free. The room we had (twin room) was very spacious and had everything from a 4 star hotel room. During the night we had noise problems with the neighbours. The staff has been very helpfull and friendly and solved the problem in a very professional way. The breakfast was very big, there was a lot of choice but as the hotel was very busy it was very crowded and it was not well supplied. No more yoghurt, almost no more bread etc, but the leftovers were very nice :-). So if you are looking for a nice and cosy hotel, don't go there, but if you want a standard fairly priced 4 star hotel, it's definately recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radisson_Scandinavia, General Manager at Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Dear mobiel,

thank you very much for taking your time to post your review. I am very pleased that you like the hotel and that you enjoyed the facilities and services. I will happily share your positive comments with the employees.Once again, thank you for sharing your experience with us and we looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards
Erich Bänziger, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 237 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Hilton Duesseldorf
#27 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf

Property: Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf
Address: Karl-Arnold-Platz 5, 40474 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#7 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#9 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#9 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#18 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 314
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel will impress you with its fresh, stylish design in attractive surroundings.314 Refurbished rooms give the modern interior design an exclusive, classic feel. Amenities such as air conditioning, flatscreen TV's, high-speed-Internet access and a safe in laptop size come as a standard. The restaurant "ARNOLD'S Grill & Garden" serves light meat and fish dishes on a bed of fresh herbs from the hotel's garden. A drink tastes best when taken in the stylish bar, which has a lounge area and a cosy corner complete with open fire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Scandinavia Hotel, Dusseldorf Hotel
Radisson Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing