We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and comfortable; a veritable bargain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
KEMPE Komfort Hotel
Ranked #174 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Manchester
Level Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Cheap and comfortable; a veritable bargain.”
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed here for one night, as we were visiting Cologne for a gig and our flights went into DUS so we thought we'd have a night in Dusseldorf before going across to their Rhineland rivals.

The hotel is located on the edge of the city centre and it is a 15 minute walk to the old town, but for us that wasn't a problem.

As other reviewers have stated that the hotel is close to a train line and even though our room overlooked the line this wasn't a problem (full disclosure: we live next to a train station in Manchester so may be acclimatised). We were also near the recycling bins that other reviewers commented upon, and even though we were staying Friday night-Saturday morning we heard nothing.

The room we had on the 3rd floor was very spacious and very oddly designed. I think the building was originally used as apartments before being converted into a hotel.

Free Wifi was a bonus especially as many other 'upmarket hotels' will charge you for this and the signal was strong throughout.

Best of all was the price. £40 for a night in a room that was clean and comfortable you can't go wrong. If you are coming to Dusseldorf on a budget you cannot go wrong with this place.

Room Tip: Higher floor the better - some rooms have balconies although these are shared. Also if you are arri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Drake_Sheldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
6
23
24
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel was easy to find and get to from the S Bahn train connections direct from the airport (10-12 mins @ EUR 2.30 one way per person).
The hotel isn't manned after 22:00 so you have to call ahead if you know you are gonna be late, however if you are in mid flight and delayed, they you're stuck so i would recommend in ANY case, call ahead and get the pin (to gain access to your room key via a deposit box outside the hotel entrance) info anyhows in case you arrive after 22:00, else you'll be stuck.
The room was a decent size with a kitchen and balcony door (we were on the ground floor), but the yobos outside were making so much noise i needed my ear plugs (till 4 am), on top of that every morning very early the service lifts begin to operate and its loud. So as a previous traveler recommend, ask for a room away from the lifts.

Room Tip: Away from Lifts and perhaps not on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as4dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Forget all the negative reviews about this hotel. Me and my wife stayed at this hotel for 4 nights during September 2011 and it was beyond our expectations. Check-in was easy and hassle-free after 5 min. drive by taxi from Duesseldorf Hbf (central train station). They gave us a room (double) overlooking the back garden which looked like a suite with a separate hall and a small kitchen which was very nice and big enough. The room was really clean and spotless. The free wi-fi intenet is really nice and the speed is great. The breakfast was minimal but one can find everything to suit his taste in addition to the nice coffee-machine and selected teas. The personnel are really nice especially the hotel manager who is a real gentleman and fluent in English. The main shopping area is 10 min. away by walk and the nearest train station is Wehrhahn which is 2 min. away from the hotel. From this station if you take S11 train, you can go to Duesseldorf airport as well. You can also find fresh fruits in the lobby which I haven't seen in any other hotel.
To sum up, this is the best 3 star hotel in Duesseldorf and I am 100% sure I will retrurn there again in the future. My sincere thanks to all the staff and the manager of the hotel who made our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peyman1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2011

we stayed at kempe last january The room was big with everything you need. The staff was smiling and friendly. Also the breakfast was good. This hotel is value for the money, also not too far from railwaystation.

Heavy trains at night woke me up a couple of times as the railway is close to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geila y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

When we arrived, two guys were looking at me in a really bad way. When we got to the parking, we went inside the hotel and you go thru the all service entrance until you get like " inseide the hotel" There is a door that said Sauna , it was one long time ago now a storage place. The room was small but confortable and the bathroom was nice size, but the balcony was shared with another room, so we didnt got there. The shower had a tape on it, smell was really bad, and the curtains, bedding and towels were killing for a replacement. The maid was going to open the room door, even when it said do not disturb in front of it. She left towels after I talked to her. Rooms are noisy, near a train, my partner could not sleep because of a woman screaming in the road in the middle of the night. The breakfast was awful, the check out was not available until 6 am, so we as a lot of ppl left the keys under the reception desk. Never , ever again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Atlantic_dollar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Trieste
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It's a budget range hotel, but very clean (great bathroom!), new, comfortable, excellent service, buffet breakfast, WiFi free...
It's only about 10min from the Railway Station, and you can easily reach the center (walking or by tram or underground).
I arrived quite late in the night, but they provided for my key in an outside safe, very professional! And the personnel is very friendly, professional and accommodating.
I payed it a little more than a Hostel, but definitely less than other hotels. It's really a great value hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lupus72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2011

+ Good location not too far from the city centre and the Rhine. Also very convenient for Bhf Wehrhahn but less so for Hbf.

+ Clean, comfortable, modern, some rooms have balconies.

+ Free, effective (if unsecured) wifi/WLAN.

+/- Unexciting (but adequate) breakfast.

- No reception after 22:00 (10pm). If planning to arrive after then, the booking details say to "contact" the hotel in advance, which means to PHONE them. I e-mailed them and was told "we want them to the reception our clue is only open to 22 clock, so I ask you to on the arrival day to register at the hotel. So we can then take further action."

- This place is noisy, if not from passing trains then from the sound of smashing glass from people dropping bottles into the recycling collection container in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Churfuerst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Flingern Nord
Hotel Heidelberger Hof
Hotel Heidelberger Hof
#126 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Flingern Nord
EU Centralhotel Im Tonnchen
EU Centralhotel Im Tonnchen
#206 of 237 in Dusseldorf
3.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlstadt
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
#204 of 237 in Dusseldorf
3.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Famosa Hotel
Famosa Hotel
#87 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Ibis Duesseldorf Hauptbahnhof
#32 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KEMPE Komfort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KEMPE Komfort Hotel

Property: KEMPE Komfort Hotel
Address: Birkenstr. 14, 40233 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Comfort Hotel Dusseldorf)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Flingern Nord
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #174 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — KEMPE Komfort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotel.de, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your KEMPE Komfort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing