We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have been Hotel Beyer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City
Ranked #86 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Should have been Hotel Beyer”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I feel I am writing a review on the wrong hotel. I had booked a night for myself and two boys in the Hotel Beyer through Booking.com but when we arrived there was a sign on the door saying the hotel was closed and to ring a number. There was NO notice from the Hotel Beyer and in fact I had emailed the previous day to book a car park space and there was NO mention of the change from them. Think it would have been polite so that we could have made other arrangements if we didn't want to stay at the Fuerstenhof.

Care when booking a car parking space. It costs €10 per night. We weren't told when we booked.

The hotel itself was ok. Cost £80 for a night for a twin and a single room which is good value. Location is central and breakfast was satisfactory. Overall ok place but just cross because of the change and no one told us. Have a suspicion that they are both owned or connected in some way.

Would I stay again. Yes but just bear in mind that it is BASIC and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisWiggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    58
    46
    12
    14
See reviews for
14
48
41
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Egypt
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I transferred to this hotel from another , the hotel far from every thing but OK due to kind of that Greek lady at reception WiFi only in reception , Good breakfast , big room , kind staff - acceptable stay at Dusseldorf

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Osama A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC USA
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Someone wrote that it took 15 minutes to walk to the HauptBahnhof. I'm a slow walker and it never took me more than 10 minutes. I stayed 4 nights at the hotel and was pleased with the friendly staff, and cleanliness of the room. The breakfast was really very good, too. The downside was the terrible Wi-Fi connection. You had to be in the lobby to receive it, but even then it only worked half the time. This has been an on-going issue for the hotel, and the staff told me there were no plans to change the system. You absolutely cannot count on using the Wi-Fi at this hotel, and this made it very hard for me to stay in touch with business associates and family. The location of the hotel is safe, even when walking late at night. The rooms are smallish, but for the price it was very reasonable. The heat in my room was excellent, and quite controllable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank draygnol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

I was there for the annual wine fair. Hoping it was close to the station and to the center as pubblicized on the site. It is not. It took me a good 15 minute walk (i walk fast) to get to the station and 20 min to the center. The room size was ok, but the bathroom was small, and after having mentioned that the light bulb was burned I remained in the dark for the remaining two nights I was there.
The blinds do not block the light completely so I suggest you bring a sleeping mask.
The breakfast was scarse. Not much of a selection and the 2 ladies working the floor were not extremely corteous, (I was taught that if you work with the public, the least you should do is smile!). If you arder an espresso coffee, be preparaed to be charged extra.
The website mentioned free wi fi en suite.
This is not true. The wi fi did not work at all, and I was invited to work in their conference rooom which is on ground floor near the entrance. The problem is that I could not concentrate, because peoplle kept enterening and exiting the hotel making it difficult to carry oon a confference call via skype or concentrate on writing and repllying to e-mails.
I was told that thy would call the technician, but they never did.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frabe73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed here overnight for as I work in Dusseldorf and live quite far away.
Excellent Value, rooms are clean and warm, shower works well.

Reception staff was friendly and spoke English.

Would stay here again.

Hotel is well located close to the 707 and 708 stops so easy access to the Media hafen and close to the Train Station.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel recently.. It has funny shaped rooms full of dust.. When you go up the stairs you see linnens and dirty towels all over the floor in front of the stairs you have ti jump over them.. At check in we specifically asked for the wifi code as we needed Internet for business.. We were put in a room on the 2nd floor where we couldn't pick up any wifi signal, receptionist then told us the connection on the second floor is not very good... When we wanted to change the room to a room on the 1st floor, receptionist was very rude and started pulling faces as we used the bed in our room.. No apology or assistance offered for the room move and yet we were called liars as the receptionist thought the previous room was clean otherwise we wouldn't have got a new room!!! (Even though we only used the bad and told him that at the time) even if what he claimed was true customers should never be treated this way.. For the hotel management I didn't catch the name but this receptionist was on duty in the afternoon of 28th! He definitely needs to go on a customer service course.. This is from somebody who has been in the hotel industry for over 10 years...

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived until our reluctant departure 4 days later, we were treated like family guests. All the staff from front desk, the bar, the restaurant and housekeeping were impeccable with their service and welcome. A beautiful and stylishly old hotel with old world values. Rare these days. Our room was spacious and very clean. Both the food and drinks were exceptional. It was a quiet time of year but none of the staff appeared bored. Well done on magnificent management! We will certainly recommend this hotel in Australia.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Stadt-Mitte
Novum Hotel Plaza Dusseldorf Zentrum
Bilk
Residenz Hotel Eurostar
Residenz Hotel Eurostar
#134 of 239 in Dusseldorf
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Carlstadt
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
Novum Hotel an der Ko Dusseldorf
#205 of 239 in Dusseldorf
70 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#55 of 239 in Dusseldorf
204 reviews
Premiere Classe Dusseldorf-City
#52 of 239 in Dusseldorf
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City

Property: Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City
Address: Fuerstenplatz 3, 40215 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Fuerstenhof Hotel)
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novum Hotel Maxim Duesseldorf responds with its central location and filigree decor for both business and leisure travelers. Find out the charm of this city situated alongside the river from our hotel in Duesseldorf, where elegance and comfort meet in a most appealing way. All rooms are very comfortable and tastefully decorated. Here, discerning guests will feel happy here. The rooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi internet access and are therefore particularly suitable for your business trip to Duesseldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Hotel Maxim Dusseldorf City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerstenhof Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing