We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall a comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Duesseldorf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Duesseldorf
Ranked #28 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
GreenLeadersBronze level
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
113 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overall a comfortable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Booked at an excellent rate and as a Hilton Diamond was upgraded to the EF. Unfortunately the lounge was closed during our stay and as we arrived on 1 January it was hard to find a nice place to have a coffee and cake. The compensation was more than adequate: free parking and a generous allowance for the restaurant.

We liked the location which was close to major roads and the city.
The staff is friendly and the room was spacious enough and clean. The bathroom as mentioned in other reviews is somewhat small. A specialty of our maid was to turn the showerhead towards the bathroom after cleaning. We usually start the shower before we get in to get rid of the cold water, but this resulted in spraying the bathroom. Next morning we checked first and corrected the direction of the showerhead.

Breakfast and dinner were of good quality and served with a smile.

We will certainly return to this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDUS, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hilton Duesseldorf, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Dusseldorf via Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you very much for your recommendations. Thank you also for your hint on the direction of the showerhead. I will ensure your experience will not happen again and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,

Torsten Weller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    565
    250
    60
    38
See reviews for
89
283
118
677
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in November, on a biz trip. Loved the rooms and services. Location is great, easy access to public transportation, close by to old town, where there's lots of restaurants and shopping.......

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDUS, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hilton Duesseldorf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Dusseldorf. We are delighted you enjoyed our rooms as well as our location and the service we provided. We look forward to welcoming you back as soon as possible. Happy New Year to you and your family!

With kind regards,

Torsten Weller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed here for one night for a very quick visit.

The hotel is fine and everything works and is clean. The room was quite large. However the internet is very expensive, although it does work properly.

The location is not great although it is not a long taxi drive to town or the airport and there is a tram nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDUS, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hilton Duesseldorf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Dusseldorf. With regards to our internet price we are glad to inform you that we will offer complimentary internet in public areas of the hotel as of March 2013. Our valued HHonors Gold and Diamond members already receive complimentary internet access throughout their stay. We look forward to your next visit and wish you and your family a happy and prosperous New Year.

Your sincerely,

Torsten Weller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

We took public transportation from Dus airport. It cost us only 2.40 euro per person. Use 721 bus and you would be right in front of the hotel. Walk through the parking lot. We are hhonor gold members so our breakfast was free. It was a nice stay. The hotel staff was all nice and friendly. I'd like to come back here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fnpent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDUS, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hilton Duesseldorf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to sharing your comments on your stay at Hilton Dusseldorf via Tripadvisor. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your compliments on our staff. We look forward to your next visit and remain with seasons greetings to you and your family.

Kind regards,

Torsten Weller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012. Handy for the airport, 10 minutes by taxi. Hotel very clean, very helpful staff superb restaurant, and what a breakfast!! Close to tram stops for downtown Dusseldorf. Must find an excuse to stay here again stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fossie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDUS, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hilton Duesseldorf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are glad you enjoyed our restaurant as well as the service provided by our staff. No worries using us for your excuse.
We look forward to welcoming you in the future and remain

with kind regards

Torsten Weller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta, Austria
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

When booking at this hotel, I advise to be very careful. Pls check facts right before you book. Do not take amenities listed on the internet for granted, as you may be surprised. If paying upfront, take receipts with you and do not allow reception staff to automatically meddle with your VISA card. Staff are not as caring as described on the internet and I am presuming that Hilton standards are not harmonised across the globe. Had my VISA card money frozen for practically the duration of my 5 day stay, and the management and staff only claimed that this was a genuine mistake, and having acted in line with hotel policy, with no sensitivity or attention to their guest's complaints for 3 whole days resulting in an awful holiday!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDUS, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hilton Duesseldorf, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Kenneth M,

Thank you very much for your comments on your stay at Hilton Dusseldorf. We are sorry to read that your stay was not to your satisfaction and please accept once again my sincere apologies for the fact that your VISA card was authorized although your stay was already prepaid. After you told us about this incident we immediately called the VISA service hotline to release the amount. As a matter of fact this can take up to 72 hours to release. Additionally we offered you a cash paid out without any fees, as we were aware of the situation that your VISA card was blocked. We also offered several alternatives to make up for the system error. As I recall this was a dinner for two, a limousine transfer from and to the hotel as well as free breakfast. After your stay you were offered one complimentary night for your future stay with us.

Kind regards.

Torsten Weller
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

As a Diamond HHonors member, I've come to realise that the quality of Hilton hotels can REALLY vary. If I contrast this property with (for example) The Curtis (a Doubletree) in Denver a couple of weeks ago then it's like chalk and cheese.

There were some positives here so I'll briefly list them

1) Stunningly quick and efficient check in - nice
2) Good size exec room on the 10th floor and nice welcome gift
3) Room very clean and all fittings in good condition

Unfortunately the downsides outwighed the upsides

1) World's smallest bathroom - I'm 6'5" tall and it felt like the bathrooms were designed for small kids

2) This may be a minor thing but don't put only decaf coffee in the rooms - some of us like to wake in the mornings

3) on the subject of waking, it would be nice if Housekeeping DIDN'T knock on the door 3 times in 30 mins to make up the room. Only after getting up did I find the "do not disturb" sign in the wardrobe rather than in the usual back of the door position.

4) The food in the bar is awful. I had to send back the first Philly cheese steak as it was smothered in mayonaise, something I can't eat and is not listed on the menu. When it returned (I have to admit the waitress was very apologetic) it was severely undercooked, full of tomoatoes and pickles (again, if you want to add stuff to a simple Philly Cheese Steak then put the ingredients on the menu !) and even the chips were undercooked - is it really THAT difficult to make fries ??

All in all, this isn't great for a Hilton but some simple changes like firing the chef, reminding Housekeeping not to wake the guests and modernisation of the bathrooms could bring it in line with the Hilton Cologne which is like a different chain.

Room Tip: Try and get an exec floor room but beware the bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonDUS, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Hilton Duesseldorf, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments on your recent stay at Hilton Dusseldorf via Tripadvisor. I am sorry for the fact that you were disturbed by our housekeeping staff in the morning. This is definitely not our standard and I already spoke to our executive housekeeper to prevent reoccurrence in the future. The “do not disturb sign” should have been kept visible on the door of your wardrobe and we have reminded all staff to ensure it stays there consistently.

I am sorry you did not enjoy our Philly Cheese Steak in the Axis Bar and I will follow up with our executive chef - maybe we have to change the recipe.

I am glad you enjoyed the speed and efficiency of our front desk team at check in and it is a pleasure to read your compliments on the cleanliness of your room.

We look forward to another opportunity of welcoming you in hopefully not too distant future to show you we can do much better.

Yours sincerely,

Dagmar Muhle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Duesseldorf

Property: Hilton Duesseldorf
Address: Georg-Glock-Str. 20, 40474 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dusseldorf
#13 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#18 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#40 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Duesseldorf 5*
Number of rooms: 375
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a central location at the Hilton Dusseldorf hotel, just 10 minutes from Dusseldorf city center and Dusseldorf International Airport. Walk three minutes from the hotel and take a two-mile tram ride into downtown Dusseldorf. This Dusseldorf hotel is five minutes from Dusseldorf Fairground and conference center. Select from 375 comfortable guest rooms and suites to unwind after a busy day in Dusseldorf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Duesseldorf Hotel
Hilton Hotel düsseldorf
Hilton Hotel Duesseldorf
Hilton Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing