We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost five stars but missed again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
Ranked #50 of 239 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here a couple of years ago and liked the hotel but has a few minor issues which I logged on Trip Advisor and subsequently received a courteous response from the hotel manager.
On this visit we were happy with the size of the room, clean and reasonably well fitted out although now looking a little dated.
For the room type we had selected, free Wi-Fi was now included (a criticism on our previous visit). The room also proved very quiet - helped by being on the 8th floor.
On the first full day, my wife had to work in the room until about 1.00pm so we postponed the housekeeping until after that time. When we returned later that evening, the room had been tidied but we weren't impressed bearing in mind the cost of the room. The bathroom was ok but not spotless, the coffee machine filters had not been replenished nor had the caffee sahn. In line with a few previous reviewers, the coffee machine itself proved problematic! The instructions are not that clear and in our case, I could only get the machine to work if I put pressure on the top of the water tank as it wasn't seating properly.
Had some extremely nice German wine in the bar, not cheap but well worth trying.
Would love to have tried the Japanese restaurant but the prices are somewhat prohibitive.
Good location - very easy to walk from the railway station and only about 20 minutes walk to the Old Town.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor to minimise traffic noise. Back of the hotel is even better.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your recent stay in the HOTEL NIKKO DÜSSELDORF.
It is a pleasure to know that you like the great location near to the city center, the airport and the main station.

Please accept my most sincere apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay.

As for the coffee machine handling I transmitted you words to our Food & Beverage Department for their knowledge and evaluation. An there will be a renewing coming soon. Rest assured that we are guiding consistently our employees at all times to provide the best of service and assistance to our guests.

Regarding the inconvenience with your room cleaning, I would like to point out that we are really sorry and that this does not represent our hotels quality, or service standards. Our Housekeeping Team resolved the issue immediately by a consequent intensive employee training, to ensure that you and any other customer will receive the service you deserve and can expect from a hotel of our category.

Thank you very much once again for the time you have dedicated to share your experience. Rest assured that all Head of Departments here in the hotel nikko düsseldorf are striving for improvement towards our common goal to make you as our valued client feel comfortable and satisfied with our fantastic product.

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL NIKKO DÜSSELDORF


Ken Dittrich
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

342 - 348 of 1,287 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is my first experience of Nikko Hotel in Europe. Of course it’s then easy to start to compare with other Nikkos, specially in Asia. The room on the 5th floor was ok. There was a coffee machine but working out how to use it... There was only one bag of tiny coffee. The bathroom was acceptable but no hair conditioner among the tiny bottles of toiletries. The breakfast buffer was ok but the freshness was gone by the time for my visit about 09.00. This hotel will not be my first choice when I’m in Dusseldorf despite the very good location with just a few minutes to the underground. By improved service this hotel could be much better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cenneth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

Dear Ms. Cenneth,

first of all I would like to use the opportunity to thank you for your stay at the hotel nikko düsseldorf and for taking the time to share your experience.

Many thanks also for your recommendation to add further amenities to fulfill the range of high quality MOLTON BROWN products in the bathrooms. I will transmit your words to our owners for their knowledge and evaluation. Rest assured Ms. Cenneth that we are guiding all our employees at all times to provide the best of service to our valued guests. Please be sure that our Food & Beverage Manager has immediately started with higher training intervals of the whole breakfast crew to guarantee a wonderful breakfast buffet for all our guests.

Dear Ms. Cenneth, it would be a great pleasure for us to be able to host you again during your next visit to düsseldorf and convince you with our fantastic product.

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL NIKKO DÜSSELDORF


Ken Dittrich
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We went to Dusseldorf for a girls' getaway weekend for 2 nights: 5 ladies in 2 rooms (1x2 + 1x3). We had very bad luck with the bigger room and the staff's attitude toward the misfortunes was terrible.
This is what happened:
We arrived Friday morning and checked in. Before long we noticed that the bathroom sink in the triple room was blocked (the plug was jammed) and that the shower hose was leaking (spraying water everywhere). When we went out we asked at the reception if they could open the sink and change the shower hose while we're out. When we returned to the room after dinner we noticed that nothing had been done - sink was half-full and we were treated as if we were at fault. We would've had a flood in the bathroom after three ladies wash so we were given a new room and packed and moved around midnight.
Saturday morning we woke up tired and cranky: there was an awful sewer smell in the room and the spare bed had creaked the whole night so that all of us had had a fitful sleep. And the poor one who slept on the spare was really sore as the mattress was hard and lumpy. Again we asked at the reception for help: change the spare bed and fix the sewer so that the smell would go away. Still no apologies from the reception staff, they just told us that nobody else had complained about the smell. (The smell was really bad and it was also in the corridoor). We told them that we were going on a day-trip and would like to have the issues fixed by the time we come back around 6 pm.
We had a great day in the Roermond outlet and then came back to the hotel around 6 pm to find that nothing had been done (the smell was at least as bad if not worse). We were told that nothing can be done about the smell but that they can help us move again to the third (!!!) room with a new spare bed. But we couldn't get a second room where we could have a proper third bed as we'd only paid for one triple room. And when we asked for them to cancel the extra breakfast costs as compensation for the troubles we got some sneers before they agreed to it. The lady who came to the new room to fix the bed and towels etc. was very helpful and pleasant so we were happy about the situation.
Then on the second morning after a better sleep we woke to find that the toilet was blocked (not a very nice situation). Again we asked at the reception for this to be fixed (unblocking) and this time there was a very nice trainee at the desk. And she apologized (first person at the hotel to apologize for the problems and to admit that it shouldn't be like this)!
But still she couldn't do anything about the situation but ask maintenance to fix it while we're out on the town for brunch. When we arrived back to the hotel after brunch we noticed that the toilet is still blocked!!! They offered to change rooms again so that we could actually use the toilet while we're packing before checking out. This offer we declined as it was a matter of couple of hours and we wanted to pack in peace (in the first move we lost some magazines already). But as compensation we got a couple of extra hours in the room (nice - but had to use the toilets in the lobby).
I'd also have a review from the hotel spa, but that is another story.

All in all: the location of the hotel is great, especially if you like Japanese food, but the service is really bad and the attitude of the staff is far from service-minded. We definitely would not go back!

Room Tip: The rooms facing the street are quite noisy: traffic noise.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fintraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

we would like to thank you for your stay at HOTEL NIKKO DÜSSELDORF and for taking the time to share your experience.

Please accept our most sincere apology for any inconvenience you might have experienced during your stay. The service you received from our reception team, the problems with the rooms especially the water problems are unacceptable and we deeply regret these circumstances. Please be sure, that we immediately checked the circumstances to avoid them in the future. We want to ensure you that you will receive the service you can expect from our hotel.

Once again we apologize and it would be a great pleasure for us to be able to host you again. During your next visit we would like to have the opportunity to convince you of the quality and the service capabilities of our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

HOTEL NIKKO DÜSSELDORF
Ken Dittrich
General Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Efficient check in, comfortable room, good location. I particularly liked the Molton Brown bathroom products, nice touch. Wonderful selection for breakfast, best offering I have seen at this level of hotel for some time.
Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a visitor from ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The stay started badly with incompetent reception staff who could not explain what was included in the room rate and who took an age to resolve a minor problem with the reservation. With rare exceptions this set the tone for the stay - bad service, average facilities, lousy food and gouging prices for things that most hotels now provide for free.

The room was OK but sterile. There was a coffee machine but working out how to use it needed an engineering degree plus a microscope to read the tiny and obscure instructions. The bathroom was acceptable with a walk in shower but no hair conditioner among the tiny bottles of toiletries.

Room service was really bad from start to finish. It took them 10 minutes to phone back to take an order, the choice was really limited and the food, when it eventually came, was bordering on the disgusting. Capers in a Caesar salad? Totally tasteless dressing. Pasta that was supposed to be dressed with tomato and feta cheese but was overcooked and came with greasy sauce and little cubes of india rubber.

The breakfast buffer was no better. All the nice tables next to the window had reserved signs but remained empty for the hour I was in the restaurant. The guy cooking eggs was, I presume, on his first day, because he broke every egg yolk he cooked and managed to produce an omelette rubbery on the outside and raw in the middle. Even half an hour of training should have led to a higher level of competence. The general quality of buffet items was poor with the hot dishes looking really dreary, the fruit mainly unripe and poorly cut and the jams lurid and chemical. English breakfast tea came as a tea bag in a glass of warm water but with a teapot full of milk despite there being good loose tea on the drinks station.

Internet costs an outrageous 22 euros a day for ONE device - a second device is another 11 euros!

The gym is pathetic - 2 geriatric treadmills and one cross trainer plus a very basic weight machine and another machine shrouded in wraps and bearing a large notice forbidding its use unless with a personal trainer. No personal video scfreens, just a TV angled so you cant watch it comfortably while exercising. For this they charge (yes, you heard me - they have the nerve to charge) 15 euros a day.

Service continued to reach new lows - I requested my room be cleaned while I was out - it was not. I looked for a concierge to help with directions - none could be found.

I could go on... and on... but I think you get the idea. Stay elsewhere - anywhere.

Room Tip: stay in another hotel
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muchtravelled001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is located centrally in Dusseldorf within walking district to the central business district as well as the main train station. The international airport is only 15-20mins by taxi depending on traffic. The Nikko has a genuine feel and its Japanese restaurants are very special and highly regarded. Overall, a great choice for business and leisure.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

I really wanted to see if Nikko chain can operate a hotel in Europe same as they do it in Japan. Yes, they can! High standards of service and quality are kept same as in Japan. I really liked the room interior, friendliness of staff at reception, who also speak Japanese and English. Hotel is very well located just 5 minutes walk from the main train station. Everything you need to dive into japanese lifestyle: ramen shop is just across the street, also very good Benkay restaurant in the hotel serves high class japanese cuisine as well as normal everyday japanese food such as tonkatsu, kushiyaki, tempura etc. It's a pity that I traveled on business and could not visit spa area and also enjoy shopping and dining at Immermanstrasse. Next time definitely come with my family to enjoy everything!

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor - otherwise you can hear trams if you open the window
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koneslon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#5 of 239 in Dusseldorf
957 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
me and all hotel duesseldorf
me and all hotel duesseldorf
#20 of 239 in Dusseldorf
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#6 of 239 in Dusseldorf
371 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#58 of 239 in Dusseldorf
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf

Address: Immermannstr. 41, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $109 - $641 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel nikko dusseldorf is located within easy reach of the city center, the main train station and within a 15 minutes drive from Duesseldorf airport. The parking garage adjacent to the hotel consists of 550 spaces. The hotel has a capacity of 386 guest rooms and suites furnished in comfortable and modern style. Non smoking rooms are available and also specially equipped rooms for disabled guests. In 2008 and 2009 the hotel nikko was expanded by a new hotel wing with 85 elegant designed executive rooms and suites. Guests, who book this category, will enjoy special service benefits as well: The SKY SPA is included in the hotel price and modern coffee machines will guarantee a perfect start of the day. The fully equipped SKY SPA on the 11th floor of the first class hotel nikko dusseldorf helps you to recover while you enjoy the view over Dusseldorf from our penthouse pool on the 11th floor. With products of SOTHYS Paris, the SKY SPA team provide a huge choice of body massages, therapies and facials. SOTHYS - Symbolic for a cherish, radiant goodliness. The culinary offer is as multicultural as the guests. Japanese cuisine with a fish corner, sushi bar and unique teppanyaki grills in the Benkay restaurant. International and Japanese breakfasts in Traveller's restaurant. Cakes, light snacks and salads or a diverse gourmet cuisine in the Torii Bar & Bistro. Enjoy first-class cocktails and more than 60 wines from around the world. Furthermore the hotel offers 2.000 Square meters of convention space with the most modern technical equipment, an experienced conference team and various room options. 12 Conference rooms provide everything you need for a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel düsseldorf
Dusseldorf Nikko Hotel
Nikko Dusseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing