We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was great, but is now average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
Ranked #52 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Was great, but is now average”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times in the past, once many years ago, when it was a Japanese Hotel and was absolutely fantastic, a really special location. However it seems tired now and is my choice for business as it it central and on the whole quite reasonable. I have to say the new business rooms (level 1 ) I think are much better, but overall it seems to have better days. Also the bar is very expensive and the bar staff are not particularly pro-acitve. Not a bad hotel, but not a great one either

Room Tip: Try and get a business room, don't drink at the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    493
    304
    127
    74
See reviews for
129
288
90
572
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Are necessary for the maintenance and renewal of the rooms. Thermostats old and not working, painting walls and curtains to replace. Bathroom accessories few.
Parking, wifi internet, gym only by payment.
At breakfast I found little in cleaning dishes, cups for tea, jams and poor choice of fruit, it was already sliced ​​a grapefruit failure, acid and ready for consumption.
The price is high for the level of quality offered

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Svizzero-1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dusseldorf hotels

Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is nice however you must pay additional fees is you want to go to the Gym, or to the indoor swimming pool. I beleive you can request that services in advace, however I was paying a price that in my personal opinion should include all the hotel facilities. I beleive when you pay in a 5 star hotels should include the use of all the facilities less spa (Massage).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuisCoelho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest, thanks for your overall positive review on our hotel. The Nikko Spa Club not only features a swimming pool with a view over the roofs of Düsseldorf, but also sauna, sanarium, wellness-area and gym. We need to secure both the high standards of a clean and hygienic area and a welcoming, professional and warm atmosphere, so that every guest can enjoy a perfectly relaxing wellness-day.
After all, the fee is already included by booking a higher room category (Executive Rooms). Kind regards from Düsseldorf, Ken Dittrich (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
840 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I last stayed at the Nikko Dusseldorf 8 years ago and, frankly, not a lot has changed. The style is Japanese, it is well-maintained throughout, clean and functional. I really do not understand some of the earlier reviews indicating various dissatisfactions with the Nikko - my stay was perfect from the furnishings to the decor to the cleanliness, to the penthouse swimming pool, gym and spa on the 9th floor (offering great views over the whole city), to the restaurants, to the food and to the staff (on arrival, on departure and during my stay). What are the expectations of some reviewers? I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to Dusseldorf.

Hotel is 6 minutes walk to the main railway station (Hauptbahnhof) and 20 minutes walk to the old town area (Altstadt) - a decent place to be.

The swimming pool, gym and spa (sauna, samarium, steam room, solarium) are excellent although there is now a charge of 15 euros per day (when I stayed here previously it had been free to guests)

The reception staff and the spa staff were very welcoming, helpful and pleasant on arrival and departure. I was checking-in at Dusseldorf airport within 20 minutes of asking for a taxi!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FairCityFrasie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotel_nikko_dus, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear guest, wow! Thanks a lot for your overwhelmingly positive review of our hotel. I am both happy and proud to receive such a positive feedback, which I immediately shared with the whole team. We hope to welcoming you again in the near future. Kind regards from Düsseldorf, Ken Dittrich (General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

upon arriving you will be greeted by a very friendly reception team and everything will be ready within minutes! When i entered my room, i realized it was a twin room and not a single king bed size as booked! I called them, they told me they are sorry but there are no available single rooms (not an excuse for me) and they offered me to push the 2 beds together and i agreed! It took them almost 2 hours for someone to come up and it was a lady.....so i couldnt let her do it on her own so i ended up pushing the beds with her. It takes quite some times for the receptionists or the room service to pick up the phone. I believe the team at the reception are overloaded: taking internal and external calls and managing arrivals and check-outs...usually 2 people per shift.
In brief:
Pros:
-very modern, clean rooms (i dont understand why there are so many negative reviews regarding the rooms): mine was on the 5th floor
- location: 10 mins walking to the center and old city, or alternatively 2 mins walking to the underground...1 stop (1 min) and u r there.....

Cons:
- service
-wifi is too expensive: i believe that every good hotel should have free wifi service by now....its basic!

All in all a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Second time staying at this hotel, another disappointment.
Location is great, walking distance from the Central Railways station, but room I was assigned this time (more or less the same last time too) was very old fashioned, tired room which requires extensive new lift!

Just few points:
Firstly, not so polite receptionist, who do not allow any early check in until 2pm (they even bothered to call house keeping to check if room is ready).
Secondly, coffee machine does not work (old Lavazza machine which take 1/3 space of table in the room), so as sink, water does not flow, so I called house keeping to fix it, but not done until my second shout!

Only good thing about this place is location, next to good japanese restaurant and shopping center, other than that, I would choose some other 4/5 star hotel next time I am in Dusseldorf.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WellWiseTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zadar, Croatia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Last year I wrote a review "Good as always", but things are changing.
Expansive internet price, very stupid internet access (you have to log in over and over again, as soon as you close your browser, and to log in you get a card with 10-12 numbers, ridiculous). Breakfast expansive, water in minibar 4,90 € (small bottle), come on??!! And I forgot, when you pay 20something euro per day for internet, if you want to use internet corner in lobby for printing or something else, you have to pay again???!! What's wrong with you people?
Worldwide TV channels 5 euro, and the list is just going on with spa....
Rooms are cold, when you turn on ventilator for heating, which by the way looks like it's coming from 1960', the noise is unbelievable. You can't sleep at the same time and heat the room.
The only good thing is position, but current management doesn't have to do anything with it.
After several years staying in this hotel, looks like I have to look for something else...

Room Tip: A good room is somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailon0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 237 in Dusseldorf
931 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 237 in Dusseldorf
333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
me and all hotel duesseldorf
me and all hotel duesseldorf
#22 of 237 in Dusseldorf
124 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#59 of 237 in Dusseldorf
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf

Property: Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf
Address: Immermannstr. 41, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#39 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf 5*
Number of rooms: 386
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel nikko dusseldorf is located within easy reach of the city center, the main train station and within a 15 minutes drive from Duesseldorf airport. The parking garage adjacent to the hotel consists of 550 spaces. The hotel has a capacity of 386 guest rooms and suites furnished in comfortable and modern style. Non smoking rooms are available and also specially equipped rooms for disabled guests. In 2008 and 2009 the hotel nikko was expanded by a new hotel wing with 85 elegant designed executive rooms and suites. Guests, who book this category, will enjoy special service benefits as well: The SKY SPA is included in the hotel price and modern coffee machines will guarantee a perfect start of the day. The fully equipped SKY SPA on the 11th floor of the first class hotel nikko dusseldorf helps you to recover while you enjoy the view over Dusseldorf from our penthouse pool on the 11th floor. With products of SOTHYS Paris, the SKY SPA team provide a huge choice of body massages, therapies and facials. SOTHYS - Symbolic for a cherish, radiant goodliness. The culinary offer is as multicultural as the guests. Japanese cuisine with a fish corner, sushi bar and unique teppanyaki grills in the Benkay restaurant. International and Japanese breakfasts in Traveller's restaurant. Cakes, light snacks and salads or a diverse gourmet cuisine in the Torii Bar & Bistro. Enjoy first-class cocktails and more than 60 wines from around the world. Furthermore the hotel offers 2.000 Square meters of convention space with the most modern technical equipment, an experienced conference team and various room options. 12 Conference rooms provide everything you need for a successful event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TravelClick, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Nikko Dusseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko Hotel düsseldorf
Dusseldorf Nikko Hotel
Nikko Dusseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing