We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #179 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with friends, in a good location, only 5 minutes walk from train station & only €5.50 in a cab to the Alstadt, breakfast nice & friendly staff, suited our needs perfectly, would definitely consider staying there again on a future trip

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 207 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed here for three nights over Easter.It was very comfortable and clean with a very good breakfast.

Also free tea and coffee at any time in the lobby.

Convenient for the main station and a 15-20 minute walk to the Altstadt with all its bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bazzLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

great budget hotel, excellent and lively but quite location, very well done rooms, superb staff, free wifi and healthy breakfast was a added benefit, free coffee / tea in the lobby was icing on the cake, bathroom is small for big people but manageable, tram & S stations close by, mall / supermarket within walking distance, eateries and beer bars within hop skip distance
small parking in back of the hotel (chargeable). The colors and decor is very welcoming. Over all a superb hotel for short stay

Room Tip: username and password for the free wifi is issued at the front desk which is valid for 12 hrs use. s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank santy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The title says it all really. This is a budget hotel so with bearing that in mind it is first class for what it is. The staff were superb, everybody we encountered was very helpful, pleasant and friendly - always a warm welcome. At check in we were given a nice hot mug of Gluhwein (it was December) and there were always some Christmas cookies out as well! The room was a good size, warm and quiet (despite facing onto the street) and most importantly clean. The housekeeping staff were excellent and even checked with us to ask if the room was ok. There is a lift to the rooms (which is very easy to find - and front desk point it out to you). The lift however is a little slow...is that a big deal....NO! We tended to use the stairs anyway. Great location. Near the train station and a short walk to the Kö and the Christmas markets. Breakfast is included in the rate - it is superb, afterall it is Germany! Everything you could possibly want. Absolutely loved the banana juice.

Free wifi in the rooms. Hair dryer in the bathroom. TV (yes it shows German channels...who knew such a thing would happen in GERMANY). Comfy beds. You can leave your luggage at reception when you check out. Tea and coffee always available at the front desk.

Looking for an affordable hotel that represents good value for money, then this is the one. We really enjoyed our stay here. The staff are really excellent - probably the best I have encountered at any hotel. Well done!

Also there are some great restaurants near by if you look around - we went to a really good Korean place around the corner.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank skygirl340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing value for money it was so convenient to everything Very close to shops which are fantastic.breakfast had something to suit anyone good selection of cereals yogurt and breads.Free tea /coffee /hot choc all day in lobby The staff at reception were extremely helpful and friendly.they printed airline tickets suggested best and cheapest way to airport 2€ by nearby bus (we had paid 20€by taxi on arrival ) We had a very enjoyable weekend in Dusseldorf great value for money hotel

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joyzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

However, really small rooms. We got a room in the first building (room numbering X01-X08 for each floor) with a Queen size bed squeezed in. Bed was ok, a little difficult to get into, a small bathroom, a small TV.
Location in Düsseldorf is good, close to the old town with a walk of approx 10 minutes and really close to U-bahn Oststrasse which for us was perfect when we went to the exhibition.
Breakfast really good for this hotel standard!
Staff was friendly and serviceminded. When we first came we wanted to make a couple of drinks, we had five glasses in the room - all with different size and shape. So we asked the reception for two glasses of the same kind. After a few minutes she came (I guess she was alone working there) up with two glasses - but different and different from the others.
Big fun. We made drinks anyway ;-)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was persuaded to make a reservation at the Monopol after reading some very positive TA reviews. My experience was very different. When my wife and I arrived after a long journey from Tyneside we were told our room was in the annex and on the third floor. As my suitcase was very heavy I looked for the lift- in vain. I had to drag my case up 57 steps of a very narrow staircase. At the age of 66 this was bad news. On eventually reaching our room we saw that the door was not rectangular, but triangular because the room was in the eaves of the building. I had to duck to enter and found within a tiny room two single beds, head to toe. The lighting consisted of of two wires strung across the room with four lightbulbs hanging from them. We had a wonderful view of the fire-escape from the window, which was at floor level. The safe did not work and there were no tea or coffee making facilities.The bathroom was small but servicable. The room on the other side of the miniscule landing was being gutted by a team of workmen, so we were serenaded by the dulcet strains of drills, hammers and sundry tools. The positives were that it was clean, the staff extremely pleasant and the buffet breakfast very good. The hotel is well situated, and if you have the good fortune to be housed in the main building you may well have a different experience from us.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Lindenhof Hotel
#66 of 240 in Dusseldorf
151 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Weidenhof
Hotel Weidenhof
#92 of 240 in Dusseldorf
43 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#58 of 240 in Dusseldorf
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stadt-Mitte
Batavia Hotel
Batavia Hotel
#65 of 240 in Dusseldorf
202 reviews
Unterbilk
Kastens Hotel
Kastens Hotel
#167 of 240 in Dusseldorf
165 reviews
Friedrichstadt
Best Western Ambassador Hotel
Best Western Ambassador Hotel
#132 of 240 in Dusseldorf
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Address: Oststr. 135, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 240 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $53 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monopol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern furnished rooms are equipped with flatscreen TV, free W-lan access, telephone, minibar, private bathroom with shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing