We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic hotel in great location”
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #181 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Basic hotel in great location”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Amazing value for money it was so convenient to everything Very close to shops which are fantastic.breakfast had something to suit anyone good selection of cereals yogurt and breads.Free tea /coffee /hot choc all day in lobby The staff at reception were extremely helpful and friendly.they printed airline tickets suggested best and cheapest way to airport 2€ by nearby bus (we had paid 20€by taxi on arrival ) We had a very enjoyable weekend in Dusseldorf great value for money hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joyzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    73
    56
    17
    25
See reviews for
30
45
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

However, really small rooms. We got a room in the first building (room numbering X01-X08 for each floor) with a Queen size bed squeezed in. Bed was ok, a little difficult to get into, a small bathroom, a small TV.
Location in Düsseldorf is good, close to the old town with a walk of approx 10 minutes and really close to U-bahn Oststrasse which for us was perfect when we went to the exhibition.
Breakfast really good for this hotel standard!
Staff was friendly and serviceminded. When we first came we wanted to make a couple of drinks, we had five glasses in the room - all with different size and shape. So we asked the reception for two glasses of the same kind. After a few minutes she came (I guess she was alone working there) up with two glasses - but different and different from the others.
Big fun. We made drinks anyway ;-)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

I was persuaded to make a reservation at the Monopol after reading some very positive TA reviews. My experience was very different. When my wife and I arrived after a long journey from Tyneside we were told our room was in the annex and on the third floor. As my suitcase was very heavy I looked for the lift- in vain. I had to drag my case up 57 steps of a very narrow staircase. At the age of 66 this was bad news. On eventually reaching our room we saw that the door was not rectangular, but triangular because the room was in the eaves of the building. I had to duck to enter and found within a tiny room two single beds, head to toe. The lighting consisted of of two wires strung across the room with four lightbulbs hanging from them. We had a wonderful view of the fire-escape from the window, which was at floor level. The safe did not work and there were no tea or coffee making facilities.The bathroom was small but servicable. The room on the other side of the miniscule landing was being gutted by a team of workmen, so we were serenaded by the dulcet strains of drills, hammers and sundry tools. The positives were that it was clean, the staff extremely pleasant and the buffet breakfast very good. The hotel is well situated, and if you have the good fortune to be housed in the main building you may well have a different experience from us.

Room Tip: Make sure you're not in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stated at the Monopol on our trip to Dusseldorf and were very pleased with every aspect of our stay, the hotel enjoys an excellent location to everything this city has to offer, the staff are very attentive, the rooms are very comfy and cleaned daily, i especially enjoyed the complementary coffee dock opposite reception where you could just have a warm cappuchino in the eve before braving the evening chill outside "well it was December" it was a lovely touch we thought, Dusseldorf is a lovely city and the people sooo friendly, will definetly return some day and when we do it will be to the Monopol.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsesireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a good value hotel for a stay in Düsseldorf. Bathrooms are a bit small but the room size is average for this category of hotel. The breakfast was very good with a variety of items. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is well-located with a short walk from the train station, downtown shopping and the Altstadt. If you've had enough walking for the day, the Oststrasse U-Bahn station is a short walk from the hotel and trains take you directly to the Altstadt. No complaints here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hämeenlinna
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for three nights in October 2012. The hotel was easy to find, closest underground station (Oststrasse) is only a few minutes walk away. Königsallee and the Old Town are also a short walk away if you like walking better than using the underground. The room size was reasonable, not too big, but there was enough space. The bathroom was really quite tiny but acceptable. The room was clean and the bed was fabulous! I have never before had such a good sleep in a hotel. The walls were quite thin though, you could hear the other customers in their rooms quite well.

The breakfast buffet was really nice! I especially liked the fact that it was served from 7 to 11 am, so we didn't have to wake up "too early" in the weekend. The staff were really friendly and helpful with fluent English. The only con was that the drain in the shower wasn't really working, and after a quick shower there was water up to my ankles!

All in all, nice budget hotel with good location, nice breakfast and great beds!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hetkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Monopol is in a very convienient location and extremely easy to get to from the airport. The inclusive breakfast was an added bonus and car parking was very easy. In fact outside on the street, so no charges there. Clean and comfortable. The shower/toilet was a little small and the room size reasonable. For the price I do not think it could be much bettered. Helpful reception. I wanted a budget hotel in a good area and I had no complaints and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the road if possible as light sleepers might be woken by traffic in early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Lindenhof Hotel
#63 of 237 in Dusseldorf
149 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#60 of 237 in Dusseldorf
480 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Batavia Hotel
Batavia Hotel
#65 of 237 in Dusseldorf
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#13 of 237 in Dusseldorf
571 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Weidenhof
Hotel Weidenhof
#106 of 237 in Dusseldorf
39 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Property: Monopol Hotel
Address: Oststr. 135, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monopol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern furnished rooms are equipped with flatscreen TV, free W-lan access, telephone, minibar, private bathroom with shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing