We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No complaints about this hotel whatsoever”
Review of Monopol Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Monopol Hotel
Ranked #181 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
ireland
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“No complaints about this hotel whatsoever”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stated at the Monopol on our trip to Dusseldorf and were very pleased with every aspect of our stay, the hotel enjoys an excellent location to everything this city has to offer, the staff are very attentive, the rooms are very comfy and cleaned daily, i especially enjoyed the complementary coffee dock opposite reception where you could just have a warm cappuchino in the eve before braving the evening chill outside "well it was December" it was a lovely touch we thought, Dusseldorf is a lovely city and the people sooo friendly, will definetly return some day and when we do it will be to the Monopol.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsesireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    73
    56
    17
    25
See reviews for
30
45
28
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
464 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is a good value hotel for a stay in Düsseldorf. Bathrooms are a bit small but the room size is average for this category of hotel. The breakfast was very good with a variety of items. Staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is well-located with a short walk from the train station, downtown shopping and the Altstadt. If you've had enough walking for the day, the Oststrasse U-Bahn station is a short walk from the hotel and trains take you directly to the Altstadt. No complaints here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hämeenlinna
2 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed for three nights in October 2012. The hotel was easy to find, closest underground station (Oststrasse) is only a few minutes walk away. Königsallee and the Old Town are also a short walk away if you like walking better than using the underground. The room size was reasonable, not too big, but there was enough space. The bathroom was really quite tiny but acceptable. The room was clean and the bed was fabulous! I have never before had such a good sleep in a hotel. The walls were quite thin though, you could hear the other customers in their rooms quite well.

The breakfast buffet was really nice! I especially liked the fact that it was served from 7 to 11 am, so we didn't have to wake up "too early" in the weekend. The staff were really friendly and helpful with fluent English. The only con was that the drain in the shower wasn't really working, and after a quick shower there was water up to my ankles!

All in all, nice budget hotel with good location, nice breakfast and great beds!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hetkinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Monopol is in a very convienient location and extremely easy to get to from the airport. The inclusive breakfast was an added bonus and car parking was very easy. In fact outside on the street, so no charges there. Clean and comfortable. The shower/toilet was a little small and the room size reasonable. For the price I do not think it could be much bettered. Helpful reception. I wanted a budget hotel in a good area and I had no complaints and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the road if possible as light sleepers might be woken by traffic in early m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salsa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in May 2012. Was in Dusseldorf for DRUPA and had heard that all Dusseldorf Hotels overcharge during trade shows but this really took the crown. Tiny room. Single Bed. Tiny bathroom. Towels that must have been bought during the 30's. Thin walls. I could hear the snoring of the guy above me! Smelly. No air con. Room was not cleaned one of the days.

And for this luxury - 300 EUROS a night.

Complete and utter rip off and the owners should be ashamed to charge this price for a substandard hotel. At least have the decency to pour some of the profits into modernising and improving the hotel!

The only plus points were the staff were quite helpful and friendly. Breakfast was acceptable. Dusseldorf Messe need to stop this blatant gouging otherwise people will stop coming to Drupa. What an embarassment!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tapinder C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2012

the Hotel have a Division which have high floors and no elevator. Rooms are very dusty and unclean.There was a gas leak from the minibar and there was no manager on duty to talk to him. The team does not give solutions to problems that the hotel is responsible. Bottom line, STAY AWAY !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ramb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makassar, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in March 2012. We were attending a trade fair, so we were business visitors but also a couple, but we wanted to be somewhere central so that we could go out in the evenings. This place fitted the bill. Very conveniently located close to subway station (5 minute walk at most), and within walking distance of many restaurants and shopping areas. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, with good English language skills and knowledge of the local area. Great breakfast everyday, and nice quirky decor in lobby and breakfast room areas. Facilities in the room were as expected for the price, and clean and well maintained. Only complaint was that the double bed was actually 2 single beds pushed together, with 2 single quilts. All in all a good choice for trade fair visitors to Dusseldorf. The Messe Dusseldorf can be reached by direct train in 20 mins, with regular departures from the subway station every 10 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheenyshiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Lindenhof Hotel
#62 of 237 in Dusseldorf
149 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Best Western Savoy Hotel
Best Western Savoy Hotel
#61 of 237 in Dusseldorf
481 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Batavia Hotel
Batavia Hotel
#65 of 237 in Dusseldorf
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Duesseldorf Mitte
#14 of 237 in Dusseldorf
573 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Weidenhof
Hotel Weidenhof
#104 of 237 in Dusseldorf
39 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
City Hotel Duesseldorf
City Hotel Duesseldorf
#134 of 237 in Dusseldorf
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monopol Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monopol Hotel

Property: Monopol Hotel
Address: Oststr. 135, 40210 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #181 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Monopol Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our modern furnished rooms are equipped with flatscreen TV, free W-lan access, telephone, minibar, private bathroom with shower ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Monopol Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monopol Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing