We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 nights back in time” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel
Ranked #51 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Bay Area, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“2 nights back in time”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in November of 2012. It was fairly close to public transportation but that's it. Walking into the hotel felt just like we stepped back in time. It seriously feels like the 1980's like other reviewers have said. The rooms are old with depressing furniture and a moldy smell in the bathroom. There wasn't even a flat screen TV in the room. Time to upgrade because you would expect much better from a Marriott hotel, especially a Renaissance.
The only other positive was the staff. They were very cordial and helpful. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjelahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    236
    115
    42
    10
See reviews for
85
114
37
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
303 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

If I had to pay cash for a room at this hotel I would not have stayed. Since I was using my points, I grin and bear it and later regret it. The hotel lobby is old and dated in to the mid 1980s. Looks like it still has the original decor when it was opened in 1985. The hotel room was roomy; the bathroom smelled like sewer; looks like the original TV from 1980s; and raggedy elevator - I actually got stuck in one of the elevators on the far left side for few minutes which to me seem like eternity. I am still traumatized from that. The Summertime Restaurant had good dinner and service. Took a long time for the dessert to arrive which caused me to miss going for a evening swim at the pool upstairs. The breakfast buffet was good. There is parking garage attached to hotel.

For those who are platinum members or have executive lounge privileges, you have free access to everything in the minibar in your room and breakfast included because there is no executive lounge at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank canyanyday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

stayed in this hotel in Jan. Very convenient access to Dusseldorf airport, about 10-12 minutes by taxi. But hotel does not offer shuttle. Restaurant has very limited choice for vegeterians. Rooms are clean & staff are efficient.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rostow2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, was impressed overall with the hotel and Breakfast our room was very large with 2 double beds, nice powerfull shower, also blackout curtains. Only a few let downs. Hotel should not charge guests to park there car, i think this should be included. We went to the pool, which was ok, again a little dissapointed that as a hotel guest they wanted extra again to use the steam / sauna. This again should be included for hotel guests. Had a big shock at the hotel bar also 0.5Ltr beer 4.20Euro fair enough not that over priced, but if you are driving or don't drink stay away from the bar 3.80Euro for a coke 0.2Ltr bottle.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room, the windows open
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
364 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is the first Renaissance I have stayed in in Germany and it wont be the last time I use it either. I have before used the airport Sheraton but I will in future take a little longer to arrive and go here. Very friendly staff and efficient. I was in my room with in 5 mins of walking in the door. it could have been shorter if I had not chatted. Clean and tidy rooms with plenty of space. I only had breakfast in the hotel but this was good. Plenty of choice and tasty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I am a Marriott Platinum Elite member and used to Renaissance being a higher ended brand. This is not a high end hotel and it is not in the best part of Dusseldorf. There is no concierge level nor a fitness center. The decor is very dated and there is a very strong cigarette odor in the hallways. It was so bad that I cancelled my reservations once I arrived that morning and booked at the Courtyard Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelPonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I've stayed in Marriott hotels 85 times in the last 12 months.
To paraphrase: "I know Marriott hotels. Marriott is a friend of mine. You, Renaissance Dusseldorf, are not a Marriott."
Horrible check in experience, substandard service, no recognition of Gold Marriott Rewards status, no room preference was honored, no upgrade, no executive lounge, no coffee in room, no manager to talk to... Slow check out as well - as all the front desk staff were busy checking in a large airline crew...
Front desk manager sent me a letter after my poor review of my stay in a Marriott survey - not even recognizing any of the complaints I had as valid, but asking me to stay there again and I could get a one time upgrade. I will not be taking them up on that.
Not returning and not recommending this property.

Room Tip: pick a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkehler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
NH Duesseldorf City Nord
#12 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Hilton Duesseldorf
#26 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel

Property: Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel
Address: Noerdlicher Zubringer 6, 40470 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the best of Duesseldorf, Germany when staying in the contemporary Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel. Our inviting guest rooms and suites provide leisure and business travelers with comfortable beds, flat screen televisions with premium channels, high speed Internet access and plenty of thoughtful amenities. Plan your next weekend getaway in North Rhine-Westphalia at the Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotel.de, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Renaissance Duesseldorf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Dusseldorf
düsseldorf Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing