We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
Ranked #16 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Pleased”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

We booked a weekend get away and this hotel was part of the package. Was a little nervous because we knew nothing about it. Loved how close it was to the S11, it was gorgeous inside, staff was super helpful giving directions and transit stop information. The breakfast buffet was impressive...lots of selections, variety and the again, the staff was amazing, They moved non-stop on refilling low/empty dishes and clearing plates. The bedroom was lovely, large bed and free movies. Checking in and out was utterly painless and fast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaAndrew508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    327
    88
    16
    8
See reviews for
59
260
44
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2011

I ended up staying here at their full price and was upgraded to one of the split level suites on the top floor. The room was very nice for one night with plenty of amenities (coffee maker, ironing board, free internet, movies on demand, refrigerator etc) although the logic of having just a bed and wide screen TV up a long flight of steps while your wardrobe and bathroom were downstairs escaped me. I suppose it would be OK if you wanted to have meetings in your room. The staff were OK. It's about 800m from the harbour in a maze of streets but is very convenient for the S11 train which goes to the airport and some other trams which run outside the front door.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaseyBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Dear CaseyBe



thank you for having taken the time to comment our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen which we highly appreciate. We were glad to read that you have been satisfied with our staff, services and location.

The suite in which you stayed , is indeed also used for small meetings, which in this case is very convenient to have the bedroom upstairs and more "hidden".

Sorry that you found this not so easy in your situation of being very tired after a long flight. If you would have spent more time with us, we would have of course been happy to change you into a more convenient accommodation.



Again, we are very much looking forward to have you as our guest again and show you also other roomtypes. And thank you again for your time



Very best regards

Ina Kaldenbach -General Manager-

An Accor franchise hotel under the management of Wolfgang vom Hagen Hotelbetriebs GmbH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

We paid extra to be in the split level aprtments on the top floor. Cannot fault the room, space and price. However, we should have been made aware that the extraction for the hotel's kitchen is located right outside the bedroom widow, making sleeping difficult. A plesant sleep is after all the primary purpose of a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Dear guest

first, we would like to sincerely thank you for having taken the time to comment our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen. We are pleased to read that you found the maisonette suite to be pleasant and large enough.

However, we would like to apologize for the unpleasant kitchen extraction. We fully understand your feeling about this. Please rest assured that we will thoroughly check this situation since it is the first time we have heard about this. It must have been a technical fault in the system and we will make sure that this does not happen again.

Please give us a chance to host you again and make sure to ask for a room or another maisonette suite in a different location of the hotel.

Thank you again for your stay and we do look forward to see you again

Ina Kaldenbach -General Manager-

an Accor Franchise Hotel managed by Wolfgang vom Hagen Hotelbetriebs gmbH
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
477 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Not sure why they call this Duesseldorf Hafen as it is not at or near the water at all. Anyway, this is not why I necessarily booked this hotel but I must say the location is not so impressive at all: on the contrary. I had a spacey room on the ground floor and when I checked out with some colleagues a understood that we had received a free upgrade which they didn't tell me when checking in. Anyway always good when this happens. The hotel itself is very basic and nothing special about it. We needed to print off a presentation but the "business center" consists of a computer and home printer at the reception, and it was out of toner. Breakfast was OK. The minibar only had some water in it which I always hate. Next time in Duesseldorf I will definitely try another hotel. Not fair to compare but other colleagues stayed at the Hyatt which is actually at the waterfront and that looked spectacular (and is substantially more expensive...).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeKokkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
dear sir
thank you very much for having taken the time to rate our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen.
As you noticed we are located about 10 minutes from the Media Harbour of Düsseldorf which we publish in all materials.
It is indeed not our policy to upgrade our guests in case of overbooking of a room category and not telling you. We have talked to the front office manager so that these type of things do not happen again.
Also your comment about the printer in the lobby is correct and we have taken measures that there will always be toner in it.
As you can see from many other comments from other guests our breakfast and the standard of the hotel get lots of compliments. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations in this respect.
We would be very pleased to have you as our guest in the future again and as you rightly mention: Your colleagues staying at the other hotel paid far more for this 5 star product.

Thank you very much again for your time
best regards

Ina Kaldenbach-General Manager-
a hotel operated by Wolfgang vom Hagen Hotelbetriebsgesellschaft mbh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
207 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I booked the hotel based on the reviews on Trip Advisor, and having stayed in other Mercure hotels. Unfortunately I was a quite disappointed though. When I arrived the room I had requested was unavailable due to renovations. When I complained that I wouldn't have booked if I had been notified, I was just brushed off. So I stood my ground and eventually got an equivalant room, but the receptionist was not happy. Very unprofessional I have to say.

The hotel is also not located in The Hafen (Harbour) as the name would imply. This is a little of a Ryanair trick, and not what one would expect from Mercure!! It's a good ten or 15 minute walk to the Harbour, and not straight forward.

The breakfast which should have been great, but was only OK. As is so often the case it's the small things. When I arrived there were no eggs. Along with several other guests, over the next 20 minutes we asked for more, and wwere told it was coming. Despite being the only food that was completely gone, the chefs insisted on restocking everything else first! So ended up after 30 minutes, none of us got our eggs. Not too sure what the logic was.....

The hotel itself is nice, though not 4 star. Definitely 3 star max. The outside is very industrial looking and not very welcoming. Inside is typically Germanic and a little cold. The rooms are reasonably sized, with a comfy bed and reasonable bathroom. Unusually the TV offered a very good range of international channels, covering everything from English to French, Russian etc.

Overall this isn't a bad hotel, but isd only average, and if being asked to pay any more than €70 a night would be very poor value. There are lots of other hotels in Dusseldorf which I would suggest ahead of this one.

Room Tip: I doubt any of the rooms have a good view, but I would imagine all are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irish_Traveller085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, September 15, 2011
Dear Irish Traveller

first, we would like to thank you for your very detailed review of our Mercure Hotel Düsseldorf Hafen.
Unfortunately, we are very sorry to read that your experience with our hotel has not been to your expectations.
Obviously, you arrived when we were inmidst our renovations which we did publish here several times to make sure as many customers as possible are informed but of course this can never be a 100% coverage and we do apologize for that.
We have reviewed every item you were quoting with our employees and wherever possible, we will make sure, that improvements will be implemented. We are glad to read that you found our rooms to be pleasant though.

Again, we would be pleased to host you again during your next stay in the Düsseldorf area to restore your faith in our Mercure Düsseldorf Hafen Hotel.
ina kaldenbach-general manager-
a hotel operated by wolfgang vom hagen hotelbetriebsgesellschaft mbh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2011

The 4 stars hotel means some extra service, some extra decor, well... Not just the basic things. The only 4* level feature there is breakfast. Be careful - they hide the standard room pictures - it is totally different. The walls are painted like in a cheap office, the overall impression is that everything is at an economy class level. I'm wondering - who was writing those very positive reviews? May be they have just paid 15 euros per night? Not 80 as I did.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lacopine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankfurtwolf, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
dear lacopine

we are very sorry to read that your experience at the mercure duesseldorf hafen hast not been a positive one. we do appreciate you took the time to rate our hotel even if it was not to our advantage. we would like to let you know that we take every comment very serious. of course not every room has the same standard and you obviously had one of the very few non renovated ones. if you scroll down the various other comments you will see that we get indeed the majority of positive comments and that we have posted an outlook of the upcoming final rooms renovations. from september on, you will experience all our rooms with the very high standard your are used to.

again, very sorry for this inconvenience and we are truly looking forward having you as our guest again so that you regain faith in our products and services.
ina kaldenbach-general manager-
a hotel operated by wolfgang vom hagen hotelbetriebsgesellschaft mbh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
889 reviews
NH Duesseldorf City
#27 of 236 in Dusseldorf
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 236 in Dusseldorf
1,145 reviews
Innside Duesseldorf Hafen
#9 of 236 in Dusseldorf
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen

Property: Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen
Address: Volmerswerther Strasse 35, 40221 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany (Formerly Mercure Düsseldorf Hafen)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#15 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#18 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#25 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen, situated in Unterbilk, near the media harbor and government district, offers 160 air-conditioned and modern equipped rooms. All rooms have free Wi-Fi access and offering comfortable bedding, Flat screen with over 60 channels and a fridge. The hotel offers parking garage as well as fitness room. The Holiday Inn Düsseldorf - Hafen has easy access to nearby motorways alike to public transport due to the nearby tram stop "Voelklinger Strasse". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Dusseldorf - Hafen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Duesseldorf Hafen Hotel
Mercure Hotel Duesseldorf Hafen
Mercure Hotel düsseldorf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing