We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trio of arrivals for brunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bastians Backer Dusseldorf

Bastians Backer Dusseldorf
Ranked #47 of 1,775 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Altstadt
Guildford, Surrey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Trio of arrivals for brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Decided to have a brunch break and had heard about Bastian's. The food looked good and the venue was very popular. Thanks to a trip review I asked to be seated and was told to sit anywhere and the waiting staff would serve me. I ordered my meal and a hot drink. First the basket if bread was plonked on the opposite side of the table as far away from me as it could get. About 5 minutes later the coffee arrived and then after another 10 minutes a plate was plonked on the opposite side of the table (?). 10 minutes later the brunch arrived. Yes you guessed - clearly not the waitresses day. The breads were delicious as were 2 of the 3 cheeses. The mozzarella was rubbery and rge fresh tomato had to coaxed onto the bread with a knife as a fork was not supplied.
I felt rushed into finishing and my tip reflected my displeasure. A lesson for staff who are dealing with foreigners. Customers will try to make themselves understood so please have a little patience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tonnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    82
    20
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai Region, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Busy place but worth trying to get a seat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

Went twice, well more often, but many times I was not able to find a seat, so I never made it for cake and coffee, but I had late breakfast and early dinner there. Both very good. Fresh and high quality ingredients and certainly great bread. Service is mixed as they seem to have problems to cope with the amount if orders and it is not the cleanest- at least outdoors. But once they get your orders right, one can accept a few flaws.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank traveleatsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious Cake!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have eaten breakfast & lunch here many times but this was my first time to specifically go in for cake in the afternoon. It was really busy when we arrived but cleared out significantly by the time we left. I ordered the lemon tart & it was so tasty. I find a lot of German cakes to be dry & flavorless. The service is always friendly & usually quick. If this is your first time for cake you need to find a table, order your beverage, go over to the cake counter & place the order. You then get a slip of paper to give the waitress, who will then bring the cake to the table. I suppose you could get your cake first...Can be confusing if you aren't paying attention!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToLunchBEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Best cakes and coffee and great portions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This place is fab. Lovely spot next to market. Coffee amazing. Busy busy with regulars. Cakes so tasty and big. Pastries and bread to die for. Not for those watching their weight. People next to us had soup in the bread bowl thing, looked so yummy.

Great atmosphere - highly recommend

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank j0j0expl0rer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very nice breakfast venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Bastians Backer is near the fresh market and offeres a wide array of bread to the customer. It is The Perfect Spot for breakfast, especially if you are in Dusseldorf on a Sunday (when none of the shops is open). As they say: their passion is in their bread and that is to be tasted. Take a Bastians Best selection of bread (enough for 2) and add some breakfast ingredients to it (jam, butter, egg, fish, whatever). Finnish it off with a coffee or a juice and you are done for a large part of the day. But make sure you check out their tarts and other desserts, or buy something for at home.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bastians Backer Dusseldorf also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Bastians Backer Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing