We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great collections and exhibitions”

Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen
Ranked #23 of 175 things to do in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The city's premier art museum features works by greats such as Picasso and Matisse, as well as works by local talent.
Lawrence, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Great collections and exhibitions”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This museum is very large and shows art from the 20th century to the present in galleries that seem to go on forever. Great modern masters in depth and breadth. Multiple works by Picasso and Mondrian for example. The spaces are beautifully proportioned and there's plenty of room to see things. It also has a nice little cafe.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank OutofKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    53
    18
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
179 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Something for everyone.”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I went to K20. Handily located to transport links. Good mix of artists too. Picasso,Dali etc. I particularly liked the Duchamp and Matisse pieces.

A must see in Dusseldorf, especially when the weather is wet.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Awesome museum”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Both museums were worth it, but I preferred k21.
The restaurant Pardo's bar was amazing (in the museum k21). The food was nicely served and was great to eat. The staff was very friendly and it was not all too expensive.
The different collections in k21 are so varried and so nice to see. There is for everybody something to see.

Helpful?
Thank HeidiLagneaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Amazing space filled with eclectic modern art collection”
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

First thing to mention here is that there are three separate buildings, and two separate addresses, for kunstsammlung. I visited K20 GRABBEPLATZ, which is a few minute's walk from Heinrich Heine Allee tram/ U bahn stop. Secondly, note that K20 is closed on Mondays, and they have one late night opening, till 10pm on the first Wednesday night of a month. Thirdly, note that most displays and guide books are in German, with only a small leaflet in English. This makes the late night Wednesday of the month more crucial, since only then do they offer guided tours in English.
Now to the collection, which has been enumerated well by other reviewers. I will add that I most certainly am not a fan of much modern art, and seeing the huge size of a Jackson Pollack canvas does little to change my impression of his work. That said, I was delighted to find several paintings that I could appreciate: Magritte was a revelation, works from Ernst Ludwig Kirchner, Franz Marc, Matisse and Max Ernst were memorable... I even found two Picassos that I really enjoyed.
Then there is the architectural space, which for me was as impressive as the art work. Vaulted ceilings, skylights and white walls ensured the vast spaces made excellent use of natural light.
Truly, truly spacious.
I enjoyed my trip, recommend this gallery for others, and will now look forward to planning a visit to K21 STÄNDEHAUS.

Helpful?
2 Thank LauraIngalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I went to the temporary exhibition, that was really good and very well mounted. I was not expecting that they had also an amazing permanent exhibiion, with a HUGE collection. I would say that the best collection for modern and expressionist art I've seen.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank dvieiralopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Kunstsammlung Nordrhein-Westfalen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing