We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant! Unexpected good food n nice service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schweine Janes

Schweine Janes
Ranked #8 of 1,774 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Altstadt
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Brilliant! Unexpected good food n nice service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

A very busy restaurant, dining server is busy and impatient but still with NICE PERFECT smile on face.
The food is decent. if according to the price the food it is brilliant. Food is fresh and nice, no overcook or messy look.
I love the atmosphere, friendly and joyful.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank yyfgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    284
    77
    20
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

Went here based on the reviews from tripadvisor. From the outside it looks like nothing great but the meat was delicious and very well priced. We managed to get one of the few tables inside and were delighted with the quantity and quality of the meat. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank spongejim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place for a quick lunch - cant really stay there to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

Pros:
- Food was great
- Good prices
- Great place for a quick takeaway
- English menus, if though not very descriptive

Cons
- Service can be a little slow
- Poor outdoor seating
- Bathrooms are not the best
- Not for vegetarians

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Highlight of any trip to Dusseldorf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

A fairly unprepossessing looking restaurant in a street of restaurants, the narrow frontage has some long wooden benches where you nearly always need to fight for space. What immediately catches the eye are the great array of pork joints on spits in front of a vertical flame grill facing the street. Order Schweinebrotchen, (on the menu board - I don't think it's on the printed menu - look out for "Fur den Kleinen Hunger" ) and for €3.60 you will get a great bun filled with slices of freshly sliced roast pork and a generous piece of crackling. Add in a glass of Schlosser Alt beer and it's sheer heaven. If the weather's not so good, there is a limited amount of seating inside - but it's bigger than it looks. For a larger meal the Schweinehaxe offers a great chunk of spit-roast pork on the bone, with fries and chunks - they're more than slices - of bread. It's not fine dining, but the Altstadt provides a great backdrop and (away from the handful of bars with noisy sound systems) a fabulous atmosphere - better as you get closer to the Rhein.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John_NE12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
139 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Made a Schweine Out Of Myself!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Located in the Aldstadt (close to the Rathaus) Schweine Janes is an unpretentious little eatery. There are picnic tables outside (a must if it's nice out) or a small dining are inside. Vegetarians need not apply, I mean, it's not Broccoli Janes...however, if you want to get your Schweine on, this is the place to do it.

There's a large man behind the counter, and behind him are huge rotisserie racks stuffed with meat. They specialize in pork hocks but I had the metzenteller (?) which I guess is some sort of mixed plate. I was delivered a heaping plate of pork products - kasser ripchen, tender delicious roasted pork and a grilled pork sausage. And of course, mash and kraut. All this at lunch - just €6.90!!!!

I mad a Schweine of myself and demolished my lunch because it was delicious! Everything was fresh, hot and well cooked. I'll be dreaming about that spectacular pork for a good while. Fortunately, I need to be back in Germany in a few months and I will definitely arrange to come back!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lovewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schweine Janes also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Schweine Janes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing