We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Famosa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Famosa Hotel
Ranked #114 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Friendly stuff, stylish interiors, clean and comfortable room, great breakfasts, convenient location not far away from the railroad station and good prices. Perfect place to stay with friends or family.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex_desmod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 129 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms are clean and breakfast is clean. However, the (three and four persons) rooms in front are extremely noisy. Even with the windows closed, it feels as if you are sleeping directly along the busy road in front!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back: the rooms in front are extremely noisy. Please note: we were told that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

The staff is great, and the price is great for your budget! You should not expect the "Ritz", but this is one of those hotels that I would seek out as young traveler back in the day! The area is about 10 minutes or less from the train station, and not in the best of areas heading toward the bahnhof (station) at night! It is loud at times, because Kolnerstrasse is very active!

I did not have breakfast, but a few guest mentioned it was great to me! In any case, I would stay their again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I stayed here solo for 3 nights, as a final European stop before flying back to the states. The room was clean and comfortable. Decent bed, with a large window, decent shower, and fridge included. Friendly staff as well. It's about a 15 minute to the "city center" area with nice bars, restaurants, and shopping. Kolner Street itself (where the hotel is located) is a bit shady (there is a Sex shop right next door), but I had no problems.

Overall, I'd recommend this hotel to a budget traveler. Note - while there is technically an elevator, be prepared to lug your bags up some flights of stairs, as the elevator doesn't visit all of the floors (including the ground floor).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyKlawz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

That was my 2nd stay in the hotel and I can once again say that I was quite happy with the place. I had a late arrival - around midnight - and I was worried how this would go but it was ok. I was expected by the person at the reception. The one thing that I find a little difficult to handle is the fact that English is not a popular language in this hotel. Despite that the staff tries really hard and anything I have asked for I have been provided without any trouble.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Hotel Famosa is a great hotel for the following reasons: Rooms are clean and moderately sized, bathrooms are newly refurbished, it is walking distance to the city centre, and is of good value for money. It is a basic hotel but this is offset by its advantages. A thing to note though, the street where it is located looks somewhat dodgy. Perhaps best to have a companion if you are a woman walking at night just for precaution. Also, if you are a light sleeper, bring some ear plugs as the walls are thin.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Azaleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Friedrichstadt
Hotel Bellevue
Hotel Bellevue
#56 of 241 in Dusseldorf
208 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Novum Hotel Plaza Dusseldorf Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Residenz
#143 of 241 in Dusseldorf
136 reviews
Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Schumacher Dusseldorf
Hotel Schumacher Dusseldorf
#102 of 241 in Dusseldorf
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Famosa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Famosa Hotel

Address: Kolnerstr. 30, 40211 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf > Stadt-Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 241 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Price Range: $51 - $515 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Famosa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Famosa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing