We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG - great”

Mongo’s Restaurant Dusseldorf
Ranked #40 of 1,845 Restaurants in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Asian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Reservations
Neighborhood: Unterbilk
Description: Mongo's is pure cross-culture and the most extraordinary catering experience for explorers and individualists. Create your dishes as you like. Always new, always different. In the Mongo's you are the head of the kitchen!! With our all-you-can-eat-classic "Mongo's Total" you can taste and combine endlessly! Combine to your heart's content the ingredients at our buffet, the Mongo's Food Market, for your individual meal as often as you want. Choose to each course one of our diversified home-made Mongo's marinades: from European mild to Asian fiery hot, pure vegan or vegetarian, always gluten-free or free of glutamate - it's your choice: there is something for everyone! Our chefs prepare your selection quick and gentle right in front of your eyes. And shortly after that your meal will be served at your table with a portion of rice. Alternatively to Mongo's Total you can also choose à la carte from our different Asian main dishes. And in many restaurants we also offer Mongo's Select for guests with less hunger endless tasting, but you only pay what you consume.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“OMG - great”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Thias place is amazing. I have never had anything like this before and I loved it. You can be ad adventurous or boring as you want to be by making up your meal with any combination of ingredients.
Fantastic - telling everyone about it

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    142
    74
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fun venue. Customize your selection. Good food.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Typical Mongolian stir fry. Select veggies, meat, seafood, etc to satisfy your own palate in a bowl. Custom blend the stir fry sauce (mild to spicy). Tip: Overfill the bowl, as it will cook down considerably. You will not go home hungry. Wait staff was attentive. Fun atmosphere. Moderate pricing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LAMMER13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Bucuresti, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fancy restaurant”
Reviewed May 15, 2014

something new: you choose how you mix the ingredients and how they are cooked; first time, you will probably not make the best choice when selecting the ingredients, but the good think is that you can try it for the second, third etc time on the same evening until you find the perfect receipt

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mihaela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all...”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

As it is very difficult to get a table here most of the time we reserved our table for Christmas Brunch well in advance and did expect the same food and service quality as in other Mongo's restaurants...However service was rather disorganised and waiters spent more time chatting to each other or with eyes looking downwards on the floor rather than looking after guests. We waited 20mins. For our initial drinks order which was quite easy to prepare (bottle of wine + bottle of water), however as we found out later the bartender wasn't quite up to his job. He later shouted to one of his colleagues that today was a crazy day and he asked himself whether people wouldn't get any food at home.
Wowo, that's exactly what I am prepared to pay 26€ for ??? Din't think so, mate !!!

Food was good, but vegetables have clearly been prepared well in advance as they were already brown and very dry *not impressed at all*!!! Guy at the soup station clearly had absolutely no clue how to prepare a soup with ingredients one put into one's bowl. Just pouring some vegetable stock onto raw veggies is NOT how it's done...just have a guess why the boiling water is there?

All in all food was just OK, service unfortunately not ok at all, so won't be coming back again!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank londonmatDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

I love the flavours and you can choose how much and what you want. Fantastic!

I visit this place all the time.

For desserts, you have to try the baked ice cream. It's fantastic.

Thumbs up for this place.

Helpful?
Thank Gugsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongo’s Restaurant Dusseldorf also viewed

Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia
 

Been to Mongo’s Restaurant Dusseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing