We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business trip to Melia, dusseldorf”
Review of Melia Duesseldorf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Melia Duesseldorf
Ranked #13 of 237 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Business trip to Melia, dusseldorf”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I arrived very late 11pm and was greeted with a warm friendly smile at reception. The hotel is modern, clean and in a good location. The buffet breakfast is superb, fresh fruit, meat and fresh juice. The waiters are friendly and professional. The room is large for a standard room and the deco is modern, fresh and new. An excellent hotel, with good facilities- nice gym. The service is very good and location is perfect for a gentle stroll into town. The best features are the modern, large rooms. If I must select the worst feature it would have to be the price, but then it was the holiday season so can be expected.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayooshayoosh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    353
    100
    27
    22
See reviews for
55
275
48
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Located near the rhine, the hotel is a good place for a relaxed stay - food options are good, park outside for long walks..but the downside is its distance from the airport and fro office areas..so for a business trip its not the most ideal..in terms of restaurants too - not many options outside the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Khosla_abhishek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
193 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed at the Melia for about 7 weeks over the summer. My stay was in two parts and the first went very smoothly. The second was a little disappointing in the fact that I didn't receive the upgrade to a better room (being a Platinum member of the Melia Rewards) and the hotel would not honour my fully flexible reservation when I needed to leave a week earlier than expected. Fully flexible meant exactly that and yet the hotel insisted I pay 90% of the days that I would not be there for. I refused and asked to speak to the manager. He/she never showed faced and at one point I was asked if I would like to speak to the chef! The whole episode left a very sour taste after a pleasant enough stay.

Positives: The rooms are very comfortable and quiet, offering a great nights rest. Small gym more than adequate for my needs. The staff in the restaurant/bar were all very good. Location, everything is within walking distance.

Negatives: The breakfast was a good buffet, but a bit of imagination would have been good to change some of the items.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Still nice but a few issues just in a one night stay. Breakfast table not clean and coffee took ages; had to chase them for an iron; taxi took ages. Will probably come back here next time, but will be on the look out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wimbledon04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel to enable me to attend the Trade fair in Essen. I perhaps could have stayed closer, but I found this hotel to be very well run and efficient. The rooms where clean and functional, with modern decor. Everything worked - always a bonus; even the wireless!
I ate dinner in the restaurant which I thought was very good quality and reasonably priced as was the wine.
In the evening I found the hotel to be quite quiet, which suits me, but the chef and restaurant deserve more custom because the food is nice.
I would recommend this hotel as a clean, efficient hotel with nice rooms and good food.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkHc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I went to Dusseldorf for a weekend trip. Stayed at Melia, lovely hotel infront of the Hofsted. Here are the things i liked/disliked.

Likes;
- Hotel spa - steam and sauna room
- Location - everything was walking distance and the lovely Hofsted made the stay even better
- Room - comfortable and good quality bed

Dislikes:
- Receptionist had really poor english - she didnt even understand 'tea'.
- front area where they have deck chairs, great idea but too many smokers.

Apart from the two issues, everything was great. I wouldnt really consider them as a major issue its only personal thought. Would definately recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pekingduck123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I only stayed here overnight..but I did not want to leave!! These rooms were so clean and comfortable, the staff was great, and the location was awesome!! Before staying here I was not familiar with Melia, but now I look for one every where I go :-) Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 237 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 237 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Duesseldorf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Duesseldorf

Property: Melia Duesseldorf
Address: Inselstr. 2, 40479 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#12 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
#20 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#21 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Duesseldorf 4.5*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Melia Duesseldorf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Duesseldorf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing