We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular New Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel
Ranked #2 of 236 Hotels in Dusseldorf
Certificate of Excellence
California
2 reviews
“Spectacular New Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2009

This famous Old Hotel was torn down and rebuilt by it's new owners, and is now a Capella Hotel, reopened in 2008, with every modern amenity. We had a beautiful large room with sitting area, Mirrored Mini Bar with French Press, Coffee & Tea. Most fabulous bathroom with HDTV in the bathroom mirror, heavy frosted glass doors for WC and Shower. Also, a large flat screen in the Bedroom, and a wired desk. All very luxurious, with beautiful furnishings, cabinetry and furnishings. Wonderful, helpful, Personal Assistant to make any arrangements you may need. On the corner of the Ko [shopping] and a short walk to the Alstadt [old town]. Private Hotel Guests only living room on the main floor, for tea, coffee, newspapers, reading, etc. Very good restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobalPlacesToSee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    56
    15
    4
    8
See reviews for
93
224
56
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2009

The newly and completely rebuilt hotel is beautiful in all respects. The staff meant to be pleasant yet lacks the grace that comes with a seasoned staff. I would expect this to improve over time.

The hotel offers a salon for casual mingling and refreshments. At times it seemed as if the hotel was more conscious of accommodating certain wealthy guests. These guests, most likely because of their Muslim background, disapproved of wine being present in the salon and patrons wishing to relax with a glass of wine were ushered away. In addition, these patrons very often left their children with passive caretakers and the children were often loud and a bit unruly. This resulted in an atmosphere more akin to day care that luxury relaxation.

That said, the hotel has many fine features and amenities and seems to care greatly about providing excellent service. With tweaks and time, it will likely get their.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JD #25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2009

My wife and I booked the Breidenbacher Hof online. We made use of a special 5-day package. The Hotel is excellent and truly "first class". The location in walking distance to the Old Town and the Koenigsallee made it very easy to get around. We loved the room (upgraded to a suite) with its spacious interior. The "living room" is a great idea - having a cup of tea or coffee, reading the latest paper, using your computer - all of this in a "living room" environment. The service was outstanding. As international travelers we spent a lot of time in hotels overseas. One measurement for us in a hotel is always a "good night sleep", in particular the first and second night arriving from the US. The Breidenbacher Hof has made an excellent choice of their beds/mattresses. It is one of the few hotels were we slept through, even the first night upon your arrival from the US. Our "jetlag" is gone after the first night! So far only the Four Seasons Hotel in Hawai had a comparable comfortable mattress. If we can get a similar price package as we did in September 2008 - we will be back. We both love Duesseldorf and the Hotel is outstanding.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA, USA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

I'm a little late posting a review of this fantastic hotel.
The Breidenbacher Hof featured the highest quality service and luxury of any hotel I've visited in a long time. The A+ experience started at the front door and continued the whole week until I was whisked into a taxi for the airport. I booked a deluxe category room and have never been so comfortable in a hotel. I am truly spoiled now when trying to select a hotel in any city.
Bed, tv, linens, bath, sofa, bed-side controls - all top notch. Each evening a member of staff arrived with a tray of cookies, fruit, etc. The rainforest shower was amazing. Another A+ point was the living room for guests with laptop service, coffee, food, drinks, etc. The staff remembered me by name. The breakfast staff remembered the smallest things (toast, which seat you like, extra milk for coffee etc.).
Service - A+
Quality of room - A+
Location - A+ (next to U-bahn, good shopping, food)
I cannot praise the hotel and staff enough. It is a destination in itself...and I will return as soon as possible.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hwcii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the Netherlands
Level Contributor
150 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2009

This used to be a somewhat dated hotel in the center of D-dorf. They just tore it down and rebuilt a spectacular hotel. Perfect staff, the most modern amenities. Lobby only for guests with complimentory drinks. Lots of electric features in the room. Take your time to have them explained. Restaurant looks somewhat clean. Breakfast should be included in the roomrate. Seperately just too expensive.
Private Parking and obviously the best location in D-dorf.
Glad to have the Breidenbacher back as my favourite hotel in D-dorf.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HPBKraaijeveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escaldes-Engordany, Andorra
Level Contributor
178 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2008

the taste of the interior is indeed tacky but the comfort and the services are close to perfection.
I apologize for some bad remarks regarding reservation based on my error!

  • Liked — the services
  • Disliked — the taste of the interiors
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2008

I lived in Dusseldorf for a couple of years and I had stayed in and always liked the faded grand hotel style of the old Breidenbacher Hof, that was torn down to build this new hotel. So, when my favorite Düsseldorf Hotel ("Intercontinental") was booked last week, I decided to give the new Breidenbacher Hof a try.

From the badly proportioned marble dungeon entrance hall, to the tasteless details in the hallways and the kitschfest that is the restaurant, I found most of the public spaces ugly beyond believe. With only the rooms being a lttle more subtle and actually quite smart and modern in the way up-to-date technology is used. Rarely if ever, have for example electronic control panels for lights and TV etc. worked quite as well as here. So, while I was really put off by the look of the hotel, I actually quite enjoyed my stay.

Particularly, because of the incredible job the management of the new Breidenbacher Hof has done in the area of staff and service. Every single employee I encountered, I found genuinely friendly, competent and service-oriented but never in an artificial or phony way.

All in all a very mixed bag. I probably will be back but only if some other hotels in the area are booked.

  • Liked — Location and service
  • Disliked — Design of the hotel
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank AndreasUndMatthias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dusseldorf hotels
InterContinental Dusseldorf
#6 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 873 reviews
Altstadt
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
Derag Livinghotel De Medici
#5 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Hyatt Regency Dusseldorf
#4 of 236 in Dusseldorf
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Achenbach
#1 of 236 in Dusseldorf
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Pempelfort
Hotel Indigo Duesseldorf - Victoriaplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel

Property: Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel
Address: Konigsallee 11 | 40212 Dusseldorf, 40212 Dusseldorf, North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > North Rhine-Westphalia > Dusseldorf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Spa Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Family Hotel in Dusseldorf
#1 Business Hotel in Dusseldorf
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dusseldorf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in city center right on the Konigsallee, Breidenbacher Hof salutes its past while focusing on its future, providing luxurious rooms with modern amenities and technological enhancements, superb service, and a focus on individualized experiences. Indulge at 1806 Restaurant, our fine dining restaurant, relax in the Capella Living Room, our exclusive guest lounge, browse elegant designer boutiques located around the hotel, or craft a unique Dusseldorf stay with the help of our Personal Assistant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Breidenbacher Hof, a Capella Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breidenbacher Hof Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing